Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Leonard from Somerset UK

Nowhere land!

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Arriving at the hotel the exterior appearance of the hotel was very good and I was very encouraged. However, inside the corridors and rooms were rather dark and austere although quite spacious. This said, the hotel staff were very good and helpful. Amenities such as swimming pools etc were excellent with a large adult pool and a smaller children's pool. The food in the restaurant was very good if a little excessively salty. Breakfast was continental style with some scrambled egg and bacon as the hot food option. Parking was excellent and free (brilliant in Italy) which was good as there wasn't anywhere to go so the car was parked for most of the time! The hotel is located in a nowhere land with no restaurants or night life for miles around.
5 out of 5
by Karim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east Sussex

A strange mix

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Stayed a night but arrived early pm to be greated by a very friendly and efficient man on the front desk who quickly sorted out our room. This hotel in an odd place. Not a town with anything really to do and in the middle of a housing estate. However, it is big and spacious if a little basic. The rooms are large but drab with a lovely large balcony which, in our case, looked out at the street, houses and all the locals and their kids going about their daily business. The Aircon in the room was terrible as was the wifi and, what i don't understand is, why would you put us (a middle aged couple) in a room that doesn't have a nice outlook next to a family with a baby when the hotel was 90% empty... very odd when there were so many nicer rooms not near anyone else. The pool area is lovely with a huge pool and loads of space and a bar with a very smiley man. Sadly non of the staff had checked the pool area and there was a dogs mess right by the pool which eventually a maintenance man decided he would kick across the paved area making the matter far worse and wondered off. I wouldn't return as it's just wrong sadly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Pastoral location, friendly staff

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Pros: Staff, breakfast, location
Cons: Bed, lighting
Location: Convenient to Piombino Elba ferry (30 minutes), near agriturismo activities.
The location is, as advertised, near an olive orchard in a small, quaint village well away from the industrial port of Piombino. Looking out into the courtyard into the olive trees and up into the hills was pleasant and relaxing. The hotel is huge, probably catering to the flux of Elba holiday-makers in the summer. I was the only guest in February, but the staff treated me like a king. Breakfast was standard continental fare. The corridors and rooms are large but somewhat outdated. Bed a bit hard (standard for European 3-star perhaps), room lighting of the harsh blue-white fluorescent variety I associate with hospitals.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay arriving from Piombino

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and well kept hotel with fairly good buffet breakfast and very kind and helpful personnel. It is rather far from the sea in a small village. Easy to reach by car from Piombino. The swimming pool is large and well kept. Air conditioning did not work so well in the room. Wifi ok.
4 out of 5
by Wayne from Levin, New Zealand

Pay to use your own kitchenette

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
It was a nice place to stay but even though we were there 3 nights and it was by no means full, we were given the room with the smallest balcony and no table and chairs which meant we could not sit outside unless we went to another part of the hotel. Also it is the first place we have ever found that you have a kitchenette but you have to pay to use it. €15 per day is not cheap when all you want to do is make a coffee!!!
4 out of 5
by Allan from Honolulu

Excellent value

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly. Location was fine for me but it may be a bit out of the way for some. Not much in the village. Good large rooms. Quiet. For the price it is excellent value and I would happily return.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Miam

Not where you think

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
I made the reservation with the idea that it was close to the ferry port to Elba, not wanting to extend past the 20 hours already spent in travel time to Elba. Turns out it is about 20 km from the port in Piombino. A long bus ride plus another short bus ride from the port. Or a 50 Euro cab ride. In spite of the location, the hotel was nice and the attached restaurant was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami fl

out in the boondocks

Posted Oct 4, 2010 on Hotels
Very far for Piombino
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland

Would recommend but would get better directions

Posted Jul 24, 2009
Hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful pools and grounds. Overall a great experience. However, the directions that the hotel provided prior to arrival were not clear. They put us at a train station that is very far away and required a significant bus trip which we were not told about. Also, the hotel isn't actually in Piombino (which was not told to us) which and is in Riotorto which made getting a bus challenging since it put us in the wrong town. Also, the beach is further than 2 km away and I would not recommend walking to the beach from the hotel as you have to walk along a busy highway that is not suitable for pedestrians. That said, the beach is beautiful and completely worth a visit but take a bus. The hotel restaurant was quite nice and the hotel is in a fairly residential area.