Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Place, Lacking in Key Areas

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: It is really stunningly beautiful.
Cons: The mattresses and the overall responsiveness of the hotel staff.
The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are large, and it's in a perfect spot in Sacramento to walk to several top notch bars and restaurants. We were impressed and really happy to stay here, until we actually went to sleep. The bed was terrible. The middle was sunken in and no matter how I tried to move, I rolled to the middle of the bed- all night. I woke up several times and even considered sleeping on the floor. When I told the front desk about it, they just said "Sorry, we're remodeling and are getting new mattresses". Really helpful after I've already paid the full rate for a room with an old busted mattress. I would not spend this much to sleep that terribly again. If I had been offered something more than a shrug and offhand apology, I probably would have considered staying here again. As it stands, I feel ripped off and will not be staying at the Sterling Hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy Access to Downtown fun

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: I loved the decor and location.
Cons: I was very happy.
Location: Clean neighborhood with tons of local restaurants and bars within close walking distance. We Yelped all around on foot with good success.
We walked several places right out of the hotel or took a $5 Lyft to dinner and Downtown bars. The location seemed to be great. The Lobby and Room was clean and quiet with a very cute vintage theme. Bed was comfortable and the jaccuzzi tub was enormous. Breakfast was served downstairs each morning. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only drawback is the street parking, but we had no problem finding a very close spot. There is a parking structure at the end of the block as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Elegance

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Whenever we come to Sacramento we stay at this beautiful hotel. Calm, beautiful and great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern Victorian, amazing bathroom!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Slightly outdated hotel, missing some of the amenities (ice machine, microwave) that I typically expect and the parking was difficult to understand, but it was a very spacious room that was lovely for an overnight getaway
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockton CA

Hotel was within walking distance of everything we

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable atmosphere.
Cons: Could have had aa microwave and refrigerator in the room and better access to ice.
Location: Close to restaurants and night clubs live music and other.
Very nice hotel we wanted something different than the regular hotels we visited. very friendly helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic but needs a Renovation and a deep clean

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We chose this hotel due to its historic charm... The lobby was nice and clean and had a modern feel. However, when we went to our room it was dark, dated, and dirty. There was 2 inches of dust at the bottom of each of the window sills. The sink in the bathroom was chipped and was clogged. There were only 3 pillows on the bed and no extras in the closet. It was very dark in the room but we kept it that way as we did not want to deal with the dirty window sills. Although it was close in proximity to great restaurants we would not recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Sacramento Gem.

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Location is great for my needs. Nice update to Restaurants and things to do in Downtown Sacramento
Cons: Maybe in drought stricken California bath tubs that big are not necessary
Easy check-in and great big room. Comfortable bed, and I had a great sleep. I was only a guest for one night but the Hotel is a great addition to my list of places to stay in Sacramento
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on the Sterling Hotel. We invite you back anytime you are in Sacamento.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Chicago

A bit let down...

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for anniversary weekend. Wanted something charming, romantic, with modern amenities. Historic mansion turned hotel with "in room 2-person jacuzzi tub" sounded perfect. Sadly, website exaggerates a bit. No "floor-to-ceiling marble" in the bathroom, unless the marble tile in the tub/shower surround with cracked grout counts. Limited cable movie options on relatively small TV - especially located so far from bed. Not bad for charm factor, but overpriced for few amenities.
5 out of 5
by Dustin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and full of themselves, Rethink.

Posted May 25, 2016
Cons: Attitude to start.
Didn't happen, arrived to no parking, no help with luggage and an indifferent front desk. Told I could park at a garage about a block away and hope for on street parking. I told him I could find another hotel, again indifferent attitude for an "upscale" hotel. They would not refund first night, event though my wife and I could not mange luggage by ourselves and didn't want to fight parking every night. Went to Marriott Courtyard for 4 nights, loved it, even though we don't like "chain" hotels. The plus is we saved money even with the lost deposit and the Marriott people were very pleasant and helpful.