Ratings based on 3,933 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Danger, Cop drama morning wake up call, Danger!!!

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The location is nice for the bay view and the hotel staff is warm and friendly.
Cons: The room smelled bad and we had to open the doors to air it out befor we would stay inside. Cleaning the carpet would go a long way to improving that.
Location: Nice area about half mile away where you can go on rides, shop, and grab a simple bite to eat but no really good places to eat a nice meal.
Pros: The staff here is GREAT and the location is really nice with a wonderful view of the beach. The bathroom was clean and the towels were fresh. We requested additional pillows and they arrived right away. Cons: The room had to be aired out before we could go in. Maybe clean the carpet it smelled like it got wet repeatedly and never cleaned. Twice I heard someone trying to open my room door but I didn't see anyone when I looked out. Early in morning we were woken up by people yelling and banging around outside my room. It turned out to be two men being arrested that were breaking into rooms. When I spoke with a staff member he implied that it happens frequently. That worries me because my wife and I stay for business and not always together. Out of concern for my wife and our personal safety, I don't feel that I would stay there again or recommend it to anyone I care about. I know that crime is everywhere but it seems to be a regular occurrence here and that would make me afraid for my wife or daughter staying here alone so it won't happen. Maybe it's just the bungalow rooms that have the issue but that's where we stayed so it's all I know. I feel bad giving a poor review due to the excellent staff here but the safety of my family is too important to me as I'm sure yours is to you. If they were able to assure me that they had this issue curtailed I might consider staying there again but not in the bungalow rooms due to this incident.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Red Wing MN

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: location to beach area
Cons: Room is very dated. bathroom fixtures old and rusty
Location: went to mission beach. and seaport area of San Diego
quick night stay. hotel grounds very nice. Thought that the paddle wheel boat ride would be going out for rides. only goes out on Fridays and Saturdays during off season. we were there on a Thursday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

we stayed in end tower with marina view

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: could walk to the boardwalk, beach. Could also use Bahia beach or pool.
Cons: our room was good just a few spots that could have been cleaned to better detail (ceiling, wall hanging). beds and pilows were ok.
Location: Beach, Boardwalk with restaurant, bars gift shops, Starbucks. Fun to walk and look at rentals.
Front staff was very welcoming and helpful upon arrival! wish they offered free shuttle service to and from airport. Restaurant/bar staff were also very friendly. We left by 8:30 in morning and returned late afternoon so really never saw housekeeping but our room was always cleaned when we returned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, facilities mixed, fantastic staff

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Somehow our booking was for the wrong room type. The staff made a great effort to rectify this even though the hotel was full. The first room (two double beds) was dated and well worn. The second room (a king) was updated and very nice. I felt the staff was exceptional in resolving our problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, Tennessee

Close to the beach - and that's it

Posted Mar 19, 2017
I'm not sure how this place averages over 4 stars. Our room smelled of mildew, the door wouldn't lock and the "resort" looks like it's from the 1960s. The staff is very friendly - but even they can't make up for the appearance. Stay away from the hotel restaurants - everything is fried and overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Bahia Resort Hotel , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us. Providing comfortable and clean guest accommodations is our main priority and we are sorry to hear that we were unable to exceed your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as we continue to better our resort. Thank you again for your time, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back with an improved experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Great Location.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Very nice place, well kept. Beach and SeaWorld close by. We loved our stay and plan to stay here again on our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great family resort on the marina and near beach!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Everything was within walking distance and parking was directly outside of your room.
Cons: Mildew smell in the rooms, windows were foggy and damp due to weather conditions (cold)
This was a great resort for families, located within walking distance to the marina, the beach, and local restaurants. There were complimentary catamaran and boat rides at night, and by day you could rent a bicycle or play in the sand near the marina. We enjoyed the fitness center, heated pool and over-sized jacuzzi at night! The rooms were comfortable although there was a slight mildew smell. The air conditioning unit assisted to circulate air, and there was also a sliding door with private patio. We didn't get to try the hotel restaurant since we ventured outside daily, but we look forward to coming back in the summer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice San Diego Getaway

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We just returned from a 3 night stay and enjoyed ourselves quite a bit. 99% of the staff were super and very welcoming. We liked the location, the restaurant/bar on site. The kitchen crew is very good, food well prepared and ample portions. The grounds are a treat. Bit of a throwback to simpler times. Improvements? The WiFi hookup is daily and a little funky, at least on my Kindle. Worked out though. I'd like to see some sort if light fabric "privacy" curtain besides the heavy blackout ones. I like the breeze through the room, avoiding the air conditioning drone. Do wish the walls were a little thicker...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We had a nice stay at the Bahia. However, the room did smell a bit like mildew and the double beds are a little outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Another amazing stay at an amazing hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, amenities
Location: Walking distance to a Starbucks and a few restaurants, great promenade just on the other side of the bay for walking, private beach access.
We love the Bahia! The staff is great. the rooms have been remodeled and they have great one bedroom bay front rooms that are perfect for our family.