Ratings based on 1,008 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Hotel Freeway Close to Del Mar Fair Grounds

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Decent size modern rooms, complementary hot breakfast and an ideal location between San Diego and Del Mar.
Location: Hotel is freeway close to horse racing venue at Del Mar Fairgrounds, Solana Beach and San Diego proper.
Our club normally tries to book rooms closer to the Del Mar fairgrounds, but all of the reasonably priced rooms were already booked. We chose the Hampton Inn Del Mar because of previous good experiences with the Hampton Inn chain and a location two freeway exits south of the fairgrounds. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. Hotel is surrounded by several good restaurants. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to USD

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Apart from convenience and quality the hotel was walking distance to souplantation!
End point of a long trip from Canada. Hotel close to interstate. Easy access, quiet large room, ample parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice Hotel, lousy staff

Posted Jan 17, 2017
I had an important FedEx package delivered to me at the hotel. The staff failed to notify me, even though it was received by them hours before I checked out. They made no attempt to contact me after I checked out even though they have my complete contact information. Beware of this hotel if you are a business traveler.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Don't Stay in Room 144

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This is your typical Hampton Inn. If you need wifi in your room then do not allow them to place you into room 144 as there was NO signal at the end of the hall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Great hotel, free parking and wonderful breakfast!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
It was ok. I was a little shocked at the lackluster front desk service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Great hotel at a great price

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: I was traveling alone and felt very safe at this hotel. I appreciate the free underground, gated parking garage.
Cons: The towels were more coarse than I expected.
Location: I was in town for a family emergency and did not take advantage of nearby attractions.
The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. I originally booked for two days and had to expand my stay because of a family emergency. Although the hotel was booked for the first part of the week, Jason was able to book me into the hotel for two extra days which was very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Overall nice but folks in room above us - well you could hear their foot stomps for two nights. Shower head was pathetic. Have to park in a downstairs garage and one gets an unsafe feeling. Breakfast just fine except they place the peeled grapefruit alongside the fresh pineapple so the pineapple tastes like grapefruit form it's juices. Nobody does anything about the foot stomping or grapefruit nor the dogs barking or growling at you in the hallway or by the elevators.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk could be more welcoming, give out more information about parking and WiFi when check-in instead of guest asking when having an issue.