Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for price

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Visiting San Diego for the weekend and wanted a central location. The hotel was clean, easy check in, breakfast well stocked. The bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Great location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This hotel is in a great location. Close to everything you need. Staff is great! Rooms and beds comfortable and clean. Love the pillows!! Housekeeping always there to help with a smile along with the breakfast staff. There is a lil gem of a sushi place up the road called gami- call ahead for reservations to ensure your not waiting long. Tio Leo's is across the road for a quick bite and drink and the freeway is 1 minute away. Great location!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

nice clean hotel close to freeways

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: All of the above!
Location: Hotel is about 1 block from the freeway entrances and a main road runs in front of it. It's easy to reach beach communities and other attractions.
our double room was clean, spacious, had comfortable beds & pillows, good quality linens. The hotel offers covered free parking; is located by the freeway entrances. Breakfast offerings were good. The hotel is very nice. The staff members were professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, F

Enjoyable stay at the Hampton Inn Del Mar

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: We loved the location, the room, and the breakfast area.
Cons: It was a little difficult parking under the hotel due to the concrete columns, but the security was perfect. Also the gym is a bit small.
Location: The location was great right at Hwy 5, and close to all the attractions.
We totally enjoyed our suite this past week at the Hampton Inn Del Mar. I would definitely stay there again. It is close to our relatives, and in a perfect spot to get to San Diego, and cities to the north. The hotel was in great shape, and was very clean. The staff was friendly, and always helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DesMoines Washington

Served it's purpose

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Clean and kept up well, breakfast in house.
Cons: Have fresh coffee available in the evenings along with some ice water.
Location: It is an easy enough drive to get to Old Town, Sea World, Balboa Park, Sea Port Village, etc. Not a lot of shopping in walking distance.
The hotel was enjoyable to stay at and the breakfast was more than adequate to get our day started off right. The room was really clean and kept up. I stop into San Diego for vacation yearly and decided to stay a little farther out than Hotel Circle. This was a good choice, nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Great stay for a long weekend

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Stayed two notes nites very comfortable, friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice and close to the beach

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: location
could come and go to places. easily staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Az

This is the place to stay!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Fantastic experience from the moment we checked I until the moment we checked out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Hotel Freeway Close to Del Mar Fair Grounds

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Decent size modern rooms, complementary hot breakfast and an ideal location between San Diego and Del Mar.
Location: Hotel is freeway close to horse racing venue at Del Mar Fairgrounds, Solana Beach and San Diego proper.
Our club normally tries to book rooms closer to the Del Mar fairgrounds, but all of the reasonably priced rooms were already booked. We chose the Hampton Inn Del Mar because of previous good experiences with the Hampton Inn chain and a location two freeway exits south of the fairgrounds. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very helpful. Hotel is surrounded by several good restaurants. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to USD

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Apart from convenience and quality the hotel was walking distance to souplantation!
End point of a long trip from Canada. Hotel close to interstate. Easy access, quiet large room, ample parking.