Ratings based on 2,127 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Amazing staff!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The staff went above and beyond the whole time. The real kicker was when we checked out and had left some really important things in the room. First thing was my engagement ring on the bathroom counter. They actually had a limo service drop it off at the airport for me, amazing!!!! Second, when we landed we could not find the car key. Yes we left it in the room!!! They overnighted us the key for no charge. I can't say enough nice things about this place. Additionally the stay was very comfortable and close to everything. Added bonus they were super kid friendly and so nice to our toddler. He loved the music in the lounge and us parents loved the free happy hour in the lounge :) 5 star service!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel but no city view

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Hotel is in a good walking location for most things, which made the stay enjoyable. Was advertised as a city view room, however the only view was of other rooms in the hotel. Staff was incredibly friendly. There was an additional hidden $90 charge on top of the Expedia prepaid booking, when I checked out, which is for access to the "free" amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hospitality and accommodation!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel staff was always eager to help and very pleasant. The hotel decor was beautiful as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silicon Valley, CA

Great hotel just off Union Square

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We had a wonderful experience at The Marker. It was just off Union Square and close to everything. It was quiet and clean. The staff was helpful and considerate. We arrived early and thought we'd just store our bags but they had a room ready for us and gave us an upgrade when we told them it was our anniversary. They even sent a special gift to our room! The desk clerk gave us a city map and showed us how to get to our destinations. She also gave us great restaurant suggestions. There was a cocktail hour that we didn't take advantage of - but we will next time! We had to check out early and they held our bags for us all day! We got excellent value for our money and would recommend The Marker to anyone interested in staying in downtown SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Excellent service & lovely room. Hotel has a wine happy hour every night 5 - 6 & coffee/tea facilities in morning. Tratto restaurant excellent for breakfast/dinner. Friendly staff & top marks for cleanliness & facilities. Good gym facilities by hotel standards. Central location to get around the city. The only caveat is that the Tenderloin is the sketchy part of town - a large amount of people living on the streets etc - you need to have your wits about you on Jones St & O'Farrell etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Location: Perfect for downtown.
Comfortable, reasonable price, excellent attitude of staff, convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by NB , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that our staff left such a good impression you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Gem of a hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Friendliness, especially Henry the barman with his extensive knowledge of the city.
Cons: Nothing, it's first rate
Location: Central, within easy access of Alcatraz, Angel Island, Haight Street, Pier 39, Cable cars, bars, restaurants, China Town and more!
One of the best hotels we have stayed in, superb and helpful staff, we stayed for 11 nights and had NO complaints whatsoever!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by NB , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Henry left such a great impression on you. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to him and the rest of the team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Sep 9, 2017
This was a new hotel for us as we usually stay closer to the wharf. The woman who checked us in was very nice and gave us an upgrade due to it being our 10th anniversary. I was a little worried when we got to our room and found it was right next to the elevator due to another review, but we never heard the elevator and I'm a light sleeper. The room was very clean, the bed was amazingly comfortable, and all the staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by NB , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing you stay at The Marker! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff left such a great impression on you. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you find yourself in San Francisco!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Quick access to union square and trams

Posted Sep 7, 2017
San Francisco was a fantastic city to visit. The hotel was well located and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel and this city. Best city I have visited in the U.S.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by NB , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria Canada

Great hotel, location!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Friendly and welcoming staff, clean comfortable room. Would definitely stay here again my next time in town. Very impressed. The morning coffee was a very nice touch as well!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by NB , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff left such a great impression on you!