Ratings based on 2,364 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Conyers , ga

excellent location, staff !

Posted May 25, 2016
Ashley checked us in and out and was very nice helping us with refrigerators for medicine. She made recommendations for restaurants , favorite shopping places and tours! She even told us a ghost story. 😉 We will definitely be back again to stay at the River Street Inn! The Newton's
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Very historic, and close to the riverfront
Cons: This is an old hotel. If you are looking for comfort, this isn't your place, otherwise it was as good as could be,
Location: Very Convienient
We stayed overnight in Savannah. We weren't sure about the location of this hotel, but it was in a great spot. Everything was within walking distance, and the hotel staff was very accommodating. This is just not the hotel to stay at if you're looking comfort.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester Township, Jersey

Southern Comfort

Posted May 13, 2016
The beautifully scrubbed red brick facade is large with some window lintels slightly askew. They announce a proud river queen, renewed refreshed. We had a great time and an unexpectedly fine breakfast at Huey's café. Wayne was fun, a menu expert. But don't forget to try the pain perdu - unforgettable. Au revoir.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noise level at the hotel was high.

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Very historical, very close to everything.
On the first weekend of the month Savannah has street fair that runs from Friday to Sunday. Music playings well pasted 10:00. Them on Monday and Tuesday mornings at 5:00 they clean the park area. Both with a leave blower and power washer. as long as you understand that you are in a high noise area and are ok with that, the hotel was worth the money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

One night in Savannah

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Historic building, complimentary happy hour, convenience to shopping, dining, sightseeing, excellent hotel staff.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Riverfront location - shops, dining, strolling area. Sightseeing nearby. City market nearby.
We were staying for only one night at the end of a trip to Hilton Head Island. The front desk staff & bellmen at the River Street Inn were very friendly, professional and accommodating. They checked our luggage so we could explore the area before our room was ready for check-in and after check-out so we could take a trolley tour around Old Town Savannah. The bellman were super friendly and helpful with our luggage. The hotel offered a complimentary happy hour with wine and food in a beautiful area and adjoining room with pool table and tv - the bartender was ready nice too. Rockers on the porch and attached restaurant allowed us to enjoy the river views. Very convenient to shopping, dining and sightseeing. We would love to stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windham, Maine

Excellent location, friendly staff

Posted May 6, 2016
Cons: Beware of the ice machine!
Stayed here with a friend in May. The hotel's location is the best in the city! You can step out onto River St. with the boats and great shopping and eating or out the front with a scenic entrance to Bull St. or to the shops on either side of the hotel. We were given a River view room that we were happy with, very comfortable bed! Unfortunately, after 4 nights of hearing the ice machine fill and drop cubes (all night) we asked for a room change for our final night. They happily moved us to a 5th floor room that was much more spacious and very quiet. The afternoon wine and small buffet at no cost was a great bonus. The staff had great personalities and were very helpful and knowledgeable. Don't forget to grab a handful off buttermints at the front desk...mmmmm Great vacation stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Well located, character hotel

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The location, overlooking the river and on the edge of the historic district, and the well designed conversion from cotton warehouse to hotel.
Cons: The provision for breakfast.
Location: On the riverside and also on the edge of the historic district. Easy to walk to everything.
Very nice, very sympathetically converted from an old cotton warehouse. Some small touches lacking though - 2 of us staying in a room with a king size bed, but there was only a bedside table on ONE side of the bed (presumably because there was a very narrow gap between the bed and the wall, but they could have had a small table on either side instead of a large one on one side and nothing on the other). We had to ask for the robes which hadn't been put in the room and there was no safe in the room. Breakfast in the on site restaurant, Hueys, is best avoided! There was no fruit on the menu(!) but they did provide some when asked. However, it was well past its prime. Go instead to Goose Feathers which is about a 5 minutes walk away.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2016 by mgreer, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your opinion and will work to rectify the items you mentioned. We just received our new logo bathrobes and have been supplying the rooms with them this week. All of the restaurants in our buildings are our tenants, not owned or operated by the Inn. There are two other on site restaurants that serve breakfast, Tubby's and Cafe M, perhaps you'll try them on your next visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The character of being in the is torus district.
Cons: Shower heads needs updating. Balcony needs to be described and needs to be honest on the type.
Location: I loved Savannah and the many squares/parks in the city. Mrs. Wilkes boarding house a great visit and worth wait... Be their at least 1 hour before.
I think the hotel needs just to be more clear about a room with a balcony that is an additional fee. The balcony was very small, no chairs, and questionable if safe. Therefore, no one went onto this area. I think the advertisement was misleading and overrated by charging extra. Staff were excellent, pleasant, and very helpful. Bathroom shower heads need updating. Very noisy when one was taking a shower in our ro Coffee was served in the lobby, but we just happened to find this out. Needs to be in description.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Historic hotel and central to activities

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: I liked the ease to walk about and see the local shops and restaurants.
Cons: Parking is inconvenient (not on property); Balcony is scary as the supports are dated. Including breakfast would have been nice.
Location: It is central and within walking distance to many local attractions.
The hotel is dated but very pleasant. We had a room overlooking the river, but did not feel comfortable stepping out onto the small veranda. It is central for a tourist to enjoy their stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by WTL, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much to be desired

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Location: Right on the river.
Cleanliness and customer service left much to be desired! Hotel needs serious upgrading. Would be nice to be able to open the fridge without the bed in the way........could only open it about 6inches! No safe in room as advertised. Overall, would never stay there again.