Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by George Brian from Ontario, Canada.

Living within the historic beauty of old Siena.

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
When you've adjusted to living in a cosy flat that is in a building perhaps built in the 15th century, you start to really love this location. It's homey, quiet and very picturesque. The beautiful Horticultural Garden of the University of Sienna is just around the corner. It's an easy 5 to 10 minute walk to the Piazza del Campo, the Duomo, and most museums and attractions in this timeless city. One stipulation, don't expect a 21st century, ultra-modern, sleek hotel, this is living within history, therefore there are lots of stairs and few elevators. However, the atmosphere is incomparable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute place in the town center

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: The family the runs the place was so welcoming and helpful
Cons: Add wi-fi access in the room, remove the motion-sensing lights that turn off when you stand still for 10 seconds in the bathroom or hallway
Location: The major sights are nearby, such as the Duomo and the Piazza del Campo. There is also shopping and many restaurants. Right where you want to be.
We had a brief overnight stay here and enjoyed our time. The location was perfect, the price was reasonable, and the Italian family who owns it is so pleasant and charming. My mom happened to be sick at the time and they brought us a hot water bottle for her. I also had a work emergency and needed to print something and they let me print in their office, which was beyond my expectations. Our apartment/room was quaint, though our bathroom and hallway had motion-sensing lights that were terrible and did not function well. We were also under the impression that the place had wi-fi, but the wi-fi access was actually only in the office, which was in the building adjacent to our room and not convenient. The fact that they offer breakfast is really nice, though it was nothing special (yogurt, packaged croissants, coffee). However, the place is perfectly located for all the major sights in Siena and the charm of the family (who have apparently been running this business for over 60 years) made it worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just try to Sleep

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
There is no A/C so the window was open. The wine bar across the street was too noisy into the morning hours
4 out of 5
by Trbojevic from Belgrade

The pleasant surprise

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in very centre of the old city, between Duomo and Piazza del Campo. The room was very nice and clean, with private bathroom ( I was in a room named Conte). The breakfast was almost basic. Very pleasant experience!
3 out of 5
by Debra from Houston, TX

know these things before you book

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms spread across various buildings in heart of old Siena so NO access by car. GPS can't get you close without taking you on restricted roads which we did, but staff contacted police to request that the fines be waived. First room right off the Main Street and no AC so we were awoken at 3 AM by garbage trucks, delivery trucks, etc. which didn't g stop. Fortunately they were able to move us to a location several blocks away that was quieter for subsequent nights. Second room was very large and very quiet. Beds and pillows hard in both rooms and furniture worn but spotlessly clean. Showers tiny but water pressure good. Breakfast: coffee and fresh cake good, but rest were packaged items. Considering the options a few seconds down the street we passed on eating hotel breakfast each day. Location excellent for sightseeing.
3 out of 5
by Anthony from London

Central to Sienna

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
It's a B & B what do you expect - it's a room not a suite. Very central location particularly handy for the Dome, but by Sienna's standards a major throughfare so noisy and with a bar right opposite that does not seem to curtail its customers from shouting at each other until 2:00 AM so not good if that disturbs your sleep. Shutting the window was not an option, it was very close and humid and there is no air conditioning or fan. There was a room safe. A good choice of local restaurants very handy. Very welcoming staff and very friendly. Breakfast is basic continential.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Dunedin

Great location, I would recommend to friends

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
We found the office to check in easily, were then escorted to our B n B. The room was large and although the shower was small, it was standard for Italy. Great central location. The lady who prepared breakfast was charming and helpful. Intimate breakfast space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near bus terminal and town centre, convenient.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Breakfast disappointing Should inform us to leave the luggage at the hotel first, instead of lugging them to the reception then back to the hotel again on the same route. (applicable to those come from bus terminal)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not a great experience

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Inside the old city, nothing else.
Cons: Everything. To start with they should provide an accurate address of the rented apartment (not the office). They should also learn some manners
This is not a hotel, but a family that runs a few apartments all over the old city. The address they give is the office. After we parked the car (with great difficulty in old city), we came to the address provided only to find that this is an office and our room is on another side of the city. It took us an hour to drive around to get to the other side. They did not want to help with getting a permission to enter the ZTL (zona where all traffic without permit is prohibited). In all places we visited in Italy, owners always got us a permit to drive to the place to unload. But not in this case. The room was tiny and dingy with old furniture and miniscule bathroom. Breakfast is non-existent. Coffee, a roll from supermarket, dry cake and butter and jam. That's it. When we were leaving it was raining really hard, so we asked the owner again to either get us a permit to come to the apartment to load our luggage or maybe drive us to the car park with our luggage, so it doesn't get soaked. This was also refused. You can find a better place in Siena
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Good location , poor breakfast for B&B, roll and yogurt