Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a night but keep moving

Posted May 23, 2017
Older property that needs a face lift. Rooms are tired and not well maintained. Staff said a remodel is planned but that won't keep the dirty vents clean. For a night, maybe. Otherwise wouldn't do it again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. You are absolutely correct to expect a clean, well-maintained property as your home away from home when traveling, and I apologize for failing to provide that for you. My staff and I are taking steps to ensure every detail from the first impression at check-in to the final at check-out and will focus on providing a better experience for every guest entering our doors. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Just don't do it

Posted May 17, 2017
This was not a great stay for me. Initially it looked like the hotel was just not in a fabulous area, which is fine. The room appeared to be clean when I first walked in. After driving 11 hours the first thing I did was get into bed. After waking up a few hours later in the middle of the night, I realized my face was directly on the mattress. Turns out, the sheets were too small for the bed and slipped halfway off, and the waterproof cover had not been zipped up, so it got pulled back with the sheets. So gross. Later that morning my son's matchbox car had gone under the chair, so I blindly reached under to grab it. Big mistake. First I grabbed a hoop earring. Weird, I thought. So I reach back under, and this time I pulled out a dirty pair of men's underwear. A DIRTY PAIR OF UNDERWEAR. We checked out immediately after that, to discover their "free breakfast" was a basket of granola bars and hot water for oatmeal packets to be mixed in a coffee cup. Don't book here. Just don't.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Anna, thank you for being our guest. We are sorry we failed to provide you the clean and comfortable room that you deserved. I have shared your concerns with my housekeeping team and steps are already underway to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you give us the opportunity in the future to prove that to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for the price

Posted May 16, 2017
Seemed safe and quiet even is some guest were outside their room hanging out pretty clean a bit slow to check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to know you had an overall nice stay and loved our affordable rates. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at the time of check-in. I will share your feedback with my front desk staff to prevent this from happening again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you return to the area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swanton, Ohio

Adequate location close to businesses

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Not much, pictures are available if viewing is necessary, none are attached, they are a bit alarming, housekeeping and maintenance were poor at best
Cons: Clean linens, vacuumed carpets, clean and functional appliances and cabinetry, kitchenette and bathrooms sanitary, functional plumbing,
Location: A gas station / pizza and fast food eatery were clean and convenient, within walking distance, as well as a Sports Bar and Grill,
Facility met basic needs for shelter, heated room, running water, refrigerator, cooking appliances, lighting, bed, chair and table, a television and an iron if needed. A coffee pot was available with coffee and a cup upon request. Being an extended stay facility, cookware and dinnerware should be provided. Plastic and paper picnic ware loosely placed in a dirty drawer, is not very appealing. Sadly, this facility does not quite make you feel comfortable or welcomed !
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept my apology for not living up to your expectations during your visit. We would like to inform you that, to ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, these items are available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the room, and our team gladly delivers them upon request. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future so we can provide you with a much better stay you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st.louis, mo

Nasty Hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Rooms really nasty dirty. Did not have my room I reserved. Instead of a queen bed we got twin beds. Door handle to bathroom did not have latch inside handle. Door wouldn't stay shut. Refrigerator was rusted. We found old macaroni shells and ear ring. Had to change sheets b/c they were dirty. Also heat end up not working. Lucky is wasn't very cold outside. Only reason we stayed is that it was late and didn't have time to drive from hotel to hotel trying to get a room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mark, we certainly apologize for the issues you encountered which led to a disappointing stay as it is never our intention to lose focus on providing you with the hospitality you deserve. We will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team and will use it as a training tool to improve our performance. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another opportunity to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice location but not clean

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Arrived at 1:00 am... I could enter in a room around 1:30 am after few ups & downs. I was first given key of a room already occupied by another guest. That was just .... On check-out there is no receipt because it is booked thru expedia. There must be a document stating i did stay @ ESA for 3 days. I did sign and checked in... There must be a check-out prove for me. This is not acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Roy, thanks for choosing to stay with us. Although you liked our location, we are sorry for the service and cleanliness issues you encountered while here. I have shared your concerns with the respective teams in an effort to improve our service and facilities. Regarding your concern about the receipt we would like to mention that while making the reservation through a third party website, a guest usually gets the receipt at the same time. If we could be of any further assistance, we would be happy to be of service. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope that you will choose us again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty & bad location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
My room I booked online wasn't available, ended up with 2 twin beds. Both beds sheets were dirty and stained-disgusting. I ended up using my own personal blankets to cover the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced. We obviously failed to provide our customary attention to detail in preparing your room before your arrival, and I sincerely apologize for the oversight. Please know we are committed to providing the highest level of service and quality for every guest, and I hope we have the future opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Packer Land Wi

Nice looking outside not real clean on the inside

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location and Price
Cons: Clean the rooms better.
We had 4 rooms for 4 nights for a guys golf trip and we were very disappointed in the cleanliness of the rooms. Yes, Even us guys thought it was gross. The outside of the hotel looks very presentable and clean. The inside was a different story. The rooms were freshened up very recently but they were not cleaned. The refrig is very old and dirty but seamed to keep our beer cold. Location is good as it is close to the Westport Plaza and many restaurants. I think we will be looking for a new hotel to stay at for future golf trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice hotel convenient location.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The hotel was 12 miles from the airport, which was great. An HVAC crew was cleaning all the units...very nice. Pillows are bad, room was clean. No problems during my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see you enjoyed our convenient location near the airport and the cleanliness of your room, but please accept our apologies that your pillows were not up to par with the rest of your stay. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Economical accommodations convenient location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Easy to book reservation, easy to find, clean standard accommodations, kitchen with fridge/freezer, microwave, stove working. Two light bulbs were out. Room, bathroom & kitchen were all clean. Towels were more than adequate. Non-smoking room smelled clean & fresh. TV was OK. Hanging space adequate. Hotel grounds were clean & well-maintained. Staff was friendly & helpful. GREAT VALUE, will stay there again.