Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel quick walk to town, restaurants, ferry

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Cons: The beach was not as sandy as we would have liked.
Location: everything was an easy walk
Very entertaining watching the peacocks and iguanas walk by. The rooms were comfortable well stocked and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great place. Perfect location.

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Location. Pool. Hot tub. Beautiful grounds.Snorkeling steps from the property.Rooms are beautiful and clean.Best WiFi I've ever had at a hotel!
Cons: Better prices at the little convenience store. And, given how expensive it is, maybe include more complimentary snacks/drinks in room.
Location: Top of a little hill just 5 minute walk from tons of restaurants, bars, and shops. Cruz Bay isn't overly beautiful. But it had everything we needed.
Wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Gallows Point on St. John. Truly a wonderful experience! We did a lot of research. We chose St. John because of the beaches. We chose Gallows Point because of all the wonderful reviews. Well, both the island and the resort lived up to the hype. Would definitely recommend to anyone interested in a trip to the USVI. Location is fantastic. Rooms are incredible. Check out the pictures online. They really are that fantastic! And come with a FULL kitchen. Cruz Bay is a great little town that is the central nervous system of St. John. And Gallows is located at the top of a hill overlooking the bay. It's just a short walk into the center of town where there are tons of restaurants, bars, and shops. Heard from others that staying at a "harbor view" room would mean being bothered by noise from the harbor and sounds from bars/restaurants. NEVER had any trouble with noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location - low key carefree condos

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Love the location - walking distance to town and restaurants. Very friendly staff. Eat at de Coal Pot if you enjoy excellent Carribean food!
Cons: As above, the sofa bed mattress in our unit REALLY needs to be replaced!
Location: We didn't rent a car, but many other people did. Take day trips to different parts of the island and explore the various beaches.
Spacious one bedroom right on Cruz Bay; we snorkeled right outside the pool area and saw many colorful fish. The pool is small, but with the beautiful ocean just steps away we quickly figured out that's the best place to swim! Cruz Bay is a nice small town; we took daily trips to a different local beach each day. Our favorite was Honeymoon Beach, but they are all beautiful. I miss the crystal blue water already. My two sons and I shared some great times snorkeling in the ocean together. St. John is about 80% national preserve, so all fish and wildlife are protected, and there is very little developed land. The condos are well appointed, we were in a lower ocean un, and had an AMAZING view of the bay right outside our door. We opened the doors in front and back to let the breezes come through. Our "lawn decorations" were peacocks and iguanas. There was one bird who would fly in when the doors were open to steal whatever food was in our place. The condo is a nice size, a spacious one bedroom, with a range, a microwave, full size refrigerator, and (best of all) coffee with all the fixings provided. It was a very comfortable setup and a great layout. These condos are individually owned, so I'm sure that the furnishing vary greatly. Our unit (15B) is a bit outdated and definitely in need of a new sleeper sofa mattress - the springs were coming through and it was VERY uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Nothing to say except fabulous and convenient. Clean,friendly staff. Beautiful grounds and relaxing pool. Beautiful views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location , great facility

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Fantastic easy to walk to all activities island taxis , restraints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha

Perfect in every way

Posted Jul 18, 2015
We had a perfect time at Gallows. First time in 13 years without any kids for a week for my wife and I. I had them have flowers and wine waiting. Food was great at restaurant. Are there two times. Food is a little pricey there but that just seems to be the general rule and your on vacation. Staff helped us get a car for only a day even though most places wanted 3 day minimum. Great snorkeling right off the dock. Awesome views every day! Highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away and relax! Do not know why anyone stays in St. Thomas? St. John's is so beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great resort with special swimming spot

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: It was very close to town so we did not need a car. The store has everything one might need.
Location: A five minute walk to town --taxis easy to get to other beaches.
Our room was very comfortable--I loved the big doors and windows. We had a view of the water and were near the pool. The hotel was quiet and clean. There is a floating dock that was one of the best parts of our stay. Peacocks, lizards, and a friendly cat made it special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Paradise!

Posted Jul 15, 2015
This was our second visit to Gallows Point and we absolutely love it! The views are incredible and the grounds are immaculate. The proximity to Cruz Bay cannot be beat! We walked everywhere! We stayed in Unit 15A which was fantastic! It was updated and clean. The only very minor thing was it needs a new mattress. The one there is okay but not great. Would definitely request this unit again though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

loud beyond beleif

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Stayed here during carnival , the music was so loud the sky light vibrated and the windows rattled. This went on until 4am each night, did not sleep at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Room was very nice and had an awesome view

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The staff was unbelievably nice. This has been one of the best vacations we've been on.