Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Worst hotel stay I can remember. DO NOT stay here

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Cons: please read above, everything.
Location: It is not far from the beach and close to the zoo.
The hotel is off the beaten path yet walking distance to the beach, but does not deliver a an appropriate stay. I was there on business, and had zero internet access. I was told I could go sit at McDonalds several blocks aways. I was told it would be repaired, on the second day, I had to leave as I had to access for work. The place was also nasty, run down.. much more than other hotels on the same beach at the same price point. I checked out, lost over $700 as they would not refund my money, even with Expedia attempting to help, I had to stay somewhere else. Many other super nice places for the same price, do not stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tas

Walking distance to cafes , beaches

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Secure area with not a lot of traffic so very quiet & walking distance to the lovely esplanade .
Cons: Furniture and bedding needs to be replaced !!!!!!!!!
Location: Location excellent , the Mooloolaba wharf and entertainments all in walking distance .
Very friendly and helpful staff, unfortunately the apartment is in need of refurbishing , furniture very old stained and ripped ! Bed covers also stained blanket was covered in pet hair !!!!! Very dissatisfied !!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: all pleasing
we were there for a funeral so it is not the same as a holiday
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice apartment building close to the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Wotif
Great location quiet attractive and convenient for beach and restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

your having a laugh!

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: To be honest nothing really. The view from the balcony was okay but was right beside the main Brisbane road.
Cons: Don't advertise it as Excellsior apartments. Cleaned up. Replace the furnishings, crockery and cutlery.
Location: Only 10 - 15 minute walk to waterfront. 5 mins to Underwater World. Night Owl just round the corner for supplies.
Booking information is very misleading as you think you are booking Excellsior apartments where in fact if you miss the small print and are booking a two bed roomed apartment you are in another apartment building called Sailfish Cove. Excellsior advertises a lift ( I had my elderly mother with me) and ceiling fans. None of these are available in the two bedroom apartments next door. Stairwell was filthy and we were on the second floor. Apartment was old with dilapidated furniture ( old leather sofa which was peeling and filthy and had to wash it down as had blood on it) that was mismatched and dirty. Crockery and cutlery mismatched and again dirty. Sheets were clean but that was it, bed spreads dirty. Floor not vacuumed and lumps of fluff and dirt under the beds. Bathroom old and in need of a good clean. Also failed to mention that the bedrooms back onto Backpackers which makes it near impossible for the most tolerant person to sleep. You can't open the curtains as you are looking straight into their dorms. It was a last minute booking so I was not expecting it to be fantastic but it was probably the worst I've stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an average holiday apartment

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Lastminute
Just a kind of average apartment. Good things - Had view of river from balcony, close too everything and staff helpful on check-in. bad things - no additional roll of toilet paper, only 1 dishwashing detergent sachet, smelly reception level (? Rubbish shute or plumbing).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Great Stay, Excellent Position

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: All of the above
Location: Very close to the wharf, shops and cafe district, the beach and underwater world.
Comfortable spacious room, pleasant helpful owners, excellent quiet position would definately stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay again!

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location near the river and away from busy main street
Cons: Darker block out curtains
Second year we have stayed here, very nice and qui
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice quiet room with very pleasant outlook

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Wotif
Brett, the manager, was efficient, welcoming and friendly. Told us what we wanted to know with a minimum of fuss and offered assistance with his local knowledge of restaurants. He was courteous and appreciative of small courtesies shown. The room was very clean, airy and had a beautiful view overlooking a small park and the canals. We were only on the second floor but we still had a beautiful view. There was always a lovely breeze and it was very relaxing just lazing around soaking in the view, listening to the birds (especially in the early morning) and cooling in the lovely breeze. The Excelsior is located in a 'dead end' street so it is very quiet. Yet it is conveniently located close to the restaurants and cafes in the main street of Mooloolaba. Regretfully we only stayed 2 nights - but have plans for more next time. Thanks Brett.
4 out of 5
by Ki Kit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels