Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inclusions not included

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Having stayed at this hotel previously which was booked via my travel agent and directly with the hotel, my recent stay at the Ovolo ended in frustration and disappointment as the happy hour drinks and breakfast are not included when you book via Expedia, I could accept this if the rate was lower, but it was exactly the same as the hotel website WHY?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel, close to everything you need

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We loved our 4 nights at the Ovolo! A lovely, large comfortable room with a great view. Book online and receive a lovely breakfast and drinks and canapés each day for free, lots of nice little touches and outstanding attention to detail, but the best part are the happy, helpful and fun staff. Well Done Ovolo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great little getaway

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The comfort and the inclusions
Fantastic hotel, facilities are incredible and so much included - you literally just need to pack some clothes and Ovolo think of the rest for you. We would def recommend and would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Room had nice view of navy yards. Room was quiet and peaceful. Had a slight problem with a leak in the bathroom but the staff were on it the moment they were informed and cleared it up quickly. The staff did everything they could to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in in any hotel. I would recommend this hotel on the comfort of the bed alone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice but clueless staff

Posted Mar 17, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel a number of time, it's a great location and the rooms/environment are a nice change from the usual corporate hotels. However this time on arrival the WiFi didn't work in my room, I could connect in the lobby etc. Most hotels would just reboot the router in the room but no, they want to play around with my phone and devices which I have an issue with (I'm not stupid I can connect to hotel WiFi, I did it in YOUR lobby!!). It took them 6 hours to reboot the router. They said they'd left a note in my room explaining the issue and confirming it had been rectified - there was no note. I was woken at 3am and 3.30am one night by dance music from the next room, unusual as I'm a heavy sleeper. The night manager sorted it out on both occasions however when I went to reception the following morning for an assurance it wouldn't happen again the next night the staff had no record of the complaint and seem confused as to why it wasn't logged. They said they'd look into it and get back to me - they never did. The staff are nice/smiley but have no idea of the basic standards guest expect in a mid price hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. Cheers, David
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Point Loma, California USA

Modern hotel on the wharf.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Great location within walking distance to Central Quay. I found everything I needed & wanted to see easily accessible from this hotel. A 15-20 minute walk through the Botanic Garden landed me right at the hub of ferry/ bus transportation to most of Sydney. And the walk to the Central Quay is just beautiful! Great cafes attached to hotel & grocery store close by. I walked everywhere easily & safely. Loved the complimentary treats hotel provided!! Hooked on gummy bananas! Thanks for a great experience visiting Sydney for the first time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. Cheers, David
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Queensland Australia

Best Hotel in Sydney!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Free mini bar. Staff friendliness.
Cons: Free cocktails??!! Haha
Location: Location is amazing - accessible to everything and the Sydney Explorer bus passes the front door!
Quirky, cute and comfy rooms with fantastic bar, pool table, breakfast and casual dining area on ground floor. Love their in-room gifts and inclusions like the free mini-bar!! Yes totally free!! Fantastic location: walk out of hotel, turn left, cross the road and climb the McElhone Stairs to funky eateries in the exclusive suburb of Potts Point (there's a woolies up there too and only 10 mins away) or walk out of hotel and turn right and either follow the waters edge to the Sydney Opera House via the Botanical Gardens (15mins max) via the best views of Sydney Harbour ever, or climb the stairs to the Art Gallery and all of the wonderful shopping Sydney has to offer. Or you can walk along the Finger Wharf (on which this gorgeous hotel is located) and enjoy the views, ambiance AND the amazing restaurants (China Doll is the BEST). Staff could not have been nicer and I will definitely return to this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. Cheers, David
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: front desk
Cons: bar service really bad
Location: lots of restaurants
fantastic...very helpful staff although bar service was appalling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by David, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you for the feedback. Cheers, David
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Nice hotel close to the CBD and the opera house. Fantastic location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Its unique, it has its flavor. I enjoyed that its tucked away from hustle and bustle. The room is huge in comparison to regular hotels, I had the loft, love it and enjoyed the tub, nowdays its common just walk in shower. And its so close to everything by a short stroll through most gourgeous park.