Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Nice hotel however noisy

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location and unique building. Staff was very pleasant.
Location: Great shopping, good restaurants, bars and very close to museums.
This clean hotel is in a great location. It's excellently located for touring The Hague on foot. The only negative draw back with this hotel if you want any early night is the noise level. Our room was directly across the lane from a bar and restaurant. As a result groups of patrons would exit the bar and smoke and continue on with their conversation. The patrons were not rowdy they were just loud. This continued well after 11:00 PM. In the early morning street cleaning and deliveries wake you up. I would recommend this hotel as long as you you can get by on 7 hours sleep or can sleep with complimentary ear plugs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice boutique hotel in centre of old town.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location, efficient friendly staff.
Location: Centre of the old town so very near to lots of great restaurants, the museums and shops.
Great location for museums, shops and restaurants. Very clean with a good breakfast. The in-room tea/coffee is basic so take your own supplies/kettle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

too 'vintage' and greedy

Posted Oct 17, 2016
an advantageously located, small vintage hotel with spacious rooms and comfy beds.... however , some things about it are too vintage to my taste - like worn off or fallen out water tap caps, a water stopper in the basin that wouldn't completely open, nicely painted but old stile window frames that can't hold the morning noise away. No minibar, but an old tiny (unconnected) fridge inside the wardrobe (isn't that a strange place to put the fridge in) that I mistook for a vintage safe box. While most of the 4-star hotels these days proudly avail Nespresso machinettes in the guest rooms, this hotel offers you cheap Twinings tea bags and Nesscafe instant packets - all complimented by an old stile water boiler. Furthermore, unlike other, even lower rated hotels, at Paleis they don't offer you even a single bottle of free water . But if you agree to pay EUR9,95 you can have a mini-bottle of white wine - at room temperature, as the hotel didn't care to cool it in the fridge . Not too smart ... And finally, a long female hair found in the bath tub didn't add positively to the hotel entourage either....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires, Argentina

un placer!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Además de lo ya señalado, me encantó la atención. muy personalizada.
Cons: Quizá el hall de entrada se podría mejorar.
Location: La ubicación es perfecta. Queda a 100 metros de la zona comercial más linda y tiene abajo todo tipo de restaurantes.
Cuando llegamos, como es un hotel chico, no me imaginé lo lindas que son las habitaciones. Muy pero muy lindas. El baño también. Las habitaciones no son tan grandes pero tienen tantas comodidades para que uno lo pase bien, que nos sentimos muy mimados. Camas confortables, buenísimas almohadas, batas, jabones de todo tipo, en fin, un mimo. El perfecto hotel boutique.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mainz

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Wir haben unser Zimmer reklamiert und sofort ein anderes bekommen.
Cons: Ein Zimmer mit einem 1,20 m breiten Bett nicht als Doppelzimmer anbieten.
Location: Mitten in Den Haag. Die Stadt kann man von da aus sehr gut zu Fuß anschauen und mit einem Tagesticket der Bahn herumfahren.
Ein sehr gut gelegenes Hotel um Den Haag anzuschauen. Ein Hunde-freundliches Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel con encanto

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
hotel coqueto
5 out of 5
by Lies from Gelderland

Geweldige service en midden in de stad!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Geweldige service. We hadden aangegeven een tweepersoonsbed te willen, maar we kregen twee eenpersoonsbedden. Van tevoren werden we hier al over gebeld en we kregen de kans het kosteloos te annuleren. Dit hebben we niet gedaan, waardoor we bonbons kregen als excuses en dank voor medewerking. Het hotel ligt midden in de stad en zeer vriendelijk personeel.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Oslo, Norway

Room for improvement and better/smarter service!

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
I was extremely disappointed in this hotel. The main reason I booked this hotel was due to the fact that the other room I wanted to book in Den Haag, at another hotel, only had twin beds. As a solo adult traveller I dislike single beds. And I dislike that assumption that we will just settle for one if all else fails. Let´s face it, I´m not a kid anymore. When a double room at the Palais Hotel was advertised as available with a `double bed´, I booked it. But upon arrival at the hotel I was informed that only a twin room was available (which did not feature air conditioning that my original room would have had). I was then told another room was available. But that it was more expensive and that I would have to pay the difference. And there lays the problem. It was clear that they DID have a room that had a large bed. And the hotel should have offered it to me (due to their own mistake) at no extra cost. I use to work at a travel agency. We fixed mistakes like that for clients and wore the cost. I accepted the room as it was getting on in the day and I had paid already. The hotel staff need to learn the proper art of turning a negative into a positive. Save face! Not even a free breakfast was offered. Just a lousy postcard saying thank you for your stay. Very disappointed. The room itself needed some love and attention. Lots of scuffed walls. And very dated décor. And way too much clutter on the main desk. I should have taken the other hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in old part of Den Haag.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Nice cafes near by. Great ambiance. Owner and staff very accommodating . Would go there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel and location

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
My general feeling about the hotel is very positive, very large room, windows you can open in the room, my only concern was about the mattress a bit to soft for me. Otherwise the personal was very nice and attentive. The hotel is located in a street full of bars and restaurant perfect for a week-end.