Ratings based on 3,758 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatham, ON

great location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Great location, within walking distance of everything we planned to do. Sure and safe. Had to pay for parking but was close with in/out privileges.
Location: Distillery District with walking tours, shops and restaurants, Eaton Center and downtown for shopping, Ripley's Aquarium, Air Canada Center for sports
We were in Toronto for a basketball game, hockey game and to visit the Distillery District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel in residential neighborhood.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Dining room staff service. Anne Marie was very helpful and kind. Breakfast buffet is good and varied with delicious breads selection
Cons: Free Hi speed Internet! Refrigerator not cooler in the room. Comfortable arm chairs in room away from air vent draft. Menu does not change at all.
Location: Very Central within walking distance of most downtown. Lots of small bars serving average food nearby. Some good restaurants within walking distance.
French owned hotel chain. Great dining room service. Expensive hi speed Internet. Free service is very slow and weak. Only channels listed in TV search. No info on programs. Cooler that looks like a fridge in room. No microwave. Room maids are excellent. Plenty of nearby bars and restaurants. Within walking distance of CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, waterfront attractions, Eaton Center Mall on Yonge St etc. Hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood. Hotel furnishings are super modern and super uncomfortable. Beds OK though. Our room was quiet except for corridor noise. We were on the street side of the 6th floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cobourg, ontario

Very convenient location for my needs.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Came to Toronto for a weeknight getaway with my family. Very convenient location was easy to get to from the highway and easy to discover highlights of the city on foot. Nearby transit also was available and the safe clean hotel was very comfortable. Wish we stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Location: Theater, great restaurants, transit, and all as above,
Professional, friendly staff. Breakfast cafe with excellent food and accommodating staff. Bed with duvet cover large and very comfy. Gave us early check in as we came off red eye at Pearson and were exhausted. Very good location to ACC, theater district and a keg and old spaghetti factor right across the street. Easy access to transit and. Good parking at hotel. Highly recommend this hotel. Ann Marie Hume
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price, convinient location, room needs update

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The lobby seems to be renovated but the rest of the hotel seems outdated, the price is very attractive and the location is excellent, I would work a loton renovating the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Joe. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We have shared your comments regarding the guest room with our hotel team for review. Thank you for taking the time to bring it to our attention. Come back and visit us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peterborough

Good value

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Nice stay...vending machine horrible ... do not purchase from it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your comment regarding the vending machines with our hotel team for review. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Hotel needs major renovations Tiles cracking, carpets old and dirty,furniture is cheap modern and unclean
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for your review, Andre. We wish we had known you were disappointed in your guest room as we happily would have check our availability for another room. On future stays please call guest services for any request you may have. We have shared you comments regarding the state of your room with our hotel team and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, convenient location

Posted Jan 26, 2017
One night stay after a concert. Certainly met our needs, good location made for an easy walk to St. Lawrence Market the next morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town for a concert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lindsay, Ontario

Beautiful, affordable hotel in Downtown Toronto

Posted Jan 24, 2017
This was our second stay at The Novotel on The Esplanade and we will be back again next year! The hotel is wonderful, staff are great and you can walk from here to anywhere you want to go in Toronto. We went to The Saint Lawrence market...one block away. Had dinner Saturday night at The Keg...directly across the street. Walked to the Eaton's Centre Sunday, took in a Raptors game at the ACC Sunday night and then had supper at Scotland Yard...also across the street from the hotel on Sunday night. We stayed 2 nights both times in January.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5-star review and welcome back, Cathy! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our staff great. We are delighted you liked our convenient downtown location and made time for the many local attractions and dining options. Come back and visit us soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Clean and great location but needs a renovation.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Room was clean but furniture, carpet, and walls need renovation. Great location except parking is a challenge if there is an event downtown, such as a hockey game. Restaurant breakfast, à la carte, was good - Nice you were not forced to use buffet although price was the same.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Kathy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We are delighted you had a great a la carte breakfast experience. Your comment regarding the state of your guest room has been shared with our hotel team. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.