Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An old hotel ready for demolition

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: For over 15 years I trusted Expedia. Now I see Expedia serves poor quality hotels to scam us. Last 3 bookings I made hotels were bad and overpriced.
Expedia letting us down For over 15 years I trusted Expedia. Now I see Expedia serves poor quality hotels to scam us. Last 3 bookings I made hotels were bad and overpriced. There are 1 or 2 star hotels now being offered to us as 3 or 4 * at prices over 200$. Last 3 hotels I booked (and this is one of them) were touted as 3 or 4 * and I found them v poor. this hotel is in a building that is ready to be torn down. The permission for rebuilding is shown at the door. The floor is gritty and grimy. The facility shows its age. The maid service was less than optimal. The cutlery had the impression of old and well used and probably hastily put together.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

It was okey. No major complaints.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The night front desk staff was not accomodating. He needs to be reminded that his job requires to at least smile at the guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by gm@rivieravancouver.com, Hotel Management
Dear Clarissa, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a Level 3 rating. I do apologize for any miscommunication with our front desk staff who are well trained and have been with the company for quite a while. We address all issues and revisit all training and coaching methods when brought to our attention. Sincerely Mark Mansfield General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine night on Robson Street

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Location, price, lovely suite and very efficient staff.
Cons: No comment.
Location: On Vancouver's lively Robson Street, but didn't do anything but work.
A brief stay while in Vancouver on business, but thoroughly pleased with the room, location and staff reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by gm@rivieravancouver.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and giving us a Level 5 rating we appreciate it. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you stay with us again. Regards, Mark Mansfield General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Basic but good location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Good value hotel. Good location downtown, close to coal harbour and Stanley pk. Not luxurious but has all you need. Only complaint is the floors in our room needed a clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Mark Mansfield, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a Level 3 rating. In regards to the floors we were trying a new eco-friendly cleaning product on our floors which unfortunately we have just discovered does not have the deep cleaning effect we expected and therefore have gone back to our supplier for a new product. We hope on your next visit to Vancouver you will stay with us again and have an even more positive experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Great central location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The location was good.
Cons: The furniture, stove and price.
Location: The location was great as it was close to Stanley Park and BC Place.
The hotel was great with a full kitchen and nice tv and beds. The furniture and flooring was a little dated as was the oven. It was a great location but honestly for $500.00 a night it would be nice to have some updated furniture and perhaps a pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Mark Mansfield, GM, Hotel Management
Dear Darcie, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a Level 4 rating. We at the Riviera offer a competitive rate and comfortable environment taking into consideration it is the peak season where the demand is high and availability is low. As the property was a condo building converted many years ago to a hotel, a pool was never part of the design and unfortunately there is no room for one, however we are working on some great additions which all of our guest will be please with. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit Vancouver.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from abbotsford, bc

Great hotel for the price. Very central location.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The hotel is a little out dated, but he rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Quick and easy to book and check in. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. The 2 queen suite accomodated our group of 6 nicely, with 2 cots. All beds, including the cots were comfortable. The suite was clean and nicely furnished. The cost was very affordable compared with other places downtown. The limited paid parking was the only aspect we didn't love. Overall a pretty decent place to stay downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freiburg

Ganz schöne Zimmer, aber nicht nochmal

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Das Zimmer war sehr groß und hell. Sehr sauber, hier und da etwas Renovierungsbedürftig. Das Personal war auch sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Für zwei Nächte und ohne ein Frühstück oder ein Abendessen, Küche ist im Zimmer, man kann sich ja selbst was kochen, ist der Preis einfach zu hoch. Das Selbstversorgen kostet schließlich auch noch Geld. Für das Parken hinter dem Hotel nochmal zusätzlich abzukassieren und eine Kaution für das Zimmer zu hinterlegen, ist doch alles in allem bissle heftig.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Good location terrible parking AC only in bedroom.staff at desk helpful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Futon and bed in separate room let me and my friend have our "own rooms" to sleep in, which was convenient. Fridge+microwave was nice.
Location: Tons of food nearby on Robson. Stanley Park and the Aquarium within walking distance--great for a jog.
Staff was nice and accommodating. Room was reasonable, clean, comfy bed, etc. Only oddity was the hotel's layout--very vertical with one tiny elevator and like 4 rooms per floor, but that wasn't a problem. There's basically no common space (e.g. lobby is tiny), which was fine by me.