Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey bc

Close to downtown Victoria

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Location: Empress hotel, parliament building, dinner at harbor restaurant
Beds are very comfortable. No elevator for handicapped people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location , clean.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
My stay here was 4/5. I had a room next to the pub with a live band which was a bit noisy but to be expected on a Friday night. I missed being able to have fresh air as the window doesn't open. Also understandable as the general walkway goes past the windows on all three floors. Other than that , the staff was courteous and room clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon, B.C.

Nice hotel, Close to downtown

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown. Front desk clerk gave us some hints on where to visit.
We were only there for 1 night. Clean hotel and it was close to downtown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it wasn't the hotel we thought we were booking

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: staff were great and helpful
Cons: the building is older and feels like it would not do well in an earth quake
Location: on a good bus route- easy to catch into town
bed sheets were off gassing causing both my self and husband breathing discomfort- too much laundry soap residue -or too strong soap? also we though we had made it clear to expedia that we wanted a hotel within the city centre-ended up 2.5 km outside of town centre.When we tried to change booking the expedia had very long wait times for call backs - most likely due to the mexico earth quake and the Irma hurricane...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL

On business

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Central
Cons: Expedia website says there's a shuttle to/from the airport, at this hotel. When you call, they claim there's no such service and you're on your own.
Location: Just worked
Great having a kitchenette, made life easier. Was quite a nice set up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Moderate hotel in Uptown Victoria

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Had a pleasant stay recently. The hotel is dated and pricey as a result. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and we had the basic amenities. Hotel staff was very pleasant to deal with. Overall it was a good experience and we would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii, USA

Gave us an upgrade

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Nice hotel. We called before to let them know we would be arriving past midnight and they gave us a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom. Clean rooms. Bit musty. Our room was right next door to the bar but it wasn't a problem at all. Air conditioner rather loud but we all slept OK. Close to a beautiful little walk by the gorge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice clean hotel at a reasonable price. Staff were friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Helpful staff at front desk. Quiet room. The bathroom was a little small and could use an update/renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clackamas Oregon

Small old but clean and no elevator

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff good , location also good Have hard time on dtsir case