Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richard and Clare Michell from England

Lovely place

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Right on the sea; we looked out over the bay and walked down the steps to swim. The setting was not only beautiful, but well placed for Ravello and Amalfi, and for Pompei and Herculaneum. Ideal and the dinners were excellent as was the wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Laura and Gary from Madison, WI

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a fantastic location and the owners make sure everything runs smoothly. Our stay will always be a wonderful memory and I hope we will have a change to return some day, especially during warmer weather when we could make better use out of their "move-set" outdoor sitting areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mom & Daughter from Maryland, USA

Spectacular views!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Large room with great views.
Cons: They could provide a kettle for hot water since there is no food close by. The restaurant at this hotel was not scheduled to open until April 10.
Location: The location is away from shops and restaurants. The bus is in the front street close to hotel, convenient.
This hotel was clean, large room with amazing views and the sound of the water crashing on the walls and caves. The location is not close to shops and restaurants but walking distance on narrow windy roads (seaside) to the nearest Pizzaria at Atrani. Breakfast was simple, would have been nice to have a kettle in the room or hot water available for tea. The staff was very helpful. There are many steps to climb to get everywhere (including the hotel room). The bus ride from Salerno to Ravello is about 1 hour. The entire area is hilly and steps are common, wear good shoes. Ravello is lovely and Amalfi is very nice also. There are lemon trees everywhere (limoncello is popular in the Gulf of Naples). We took a bus from Amalfi to Positano and Sorrento, this is very scenic but uncomfortable ride on the windy narrow roads (bad nausea). Overall, great experience. Thak you to the staff at Villa San Michele for making our stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Intimate, family-run hotel in fabulous position

Posted Nov 8, 2013
We had a wonderful week in fabulous autumn sunshine at Villa San Michele: we loved our large, airy room with a great private terrace directly over the sea. The hotel is built into the cliff below the coast road (no traffic noise), with stupendous views from every room and in every direction, but is not one for people with poor mobility - there are about 350 steps (no lift) from the entrance, down through pretty gardens past the 12 bedrooms, to a super bathing platform with steps into the sea. Owner family and their staff all warm, friendly and helpful - great home-cooked food in the restaurant. You are about 5 minutes walk along quite a busy road from Atrani, nice little village, and another 10 minutes to Amalfi, touristy but very attractive, and starting point for lovely boat trips. Glorious Ravello is a tough but beautiful climb uphill, or buses stop directly outside the hotel. Highly recommended - hope to return one day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

stunning and homely

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful home cooked Italian seafood, friendly hosts, incredible scenery. Swimming platform is amazing. Perfect base on the amalfi coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for honeymoon

Posted Apr 19, 2013
An incredible experience all around. I went for my honeymoon and it was romantic and perfect. The hotel is also ideally located in between a number of great towns within walking distance, including Almalfi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from UK

A great place to stay

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: Location & the food
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom
Location: Five star location, lovely views from the balcony.
Fantastic location , delicious food with friendly staff. Cleanliness of bathroom could be better, particularly shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2011 on Hotels.com