Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but HOT ROOM!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, pool, hot tub
Cons: The heat in the rooms!
Location: Super close to all amenities - easy walk down Banff Avenue.
The hotel was decent enough - great staff, pool and hot tubs were good (with the exception of a couple of tiles that fell off while my kids were swimming), but we had probably the worst sleep we have ever had in a hotel. The room was excrutiatingly hot. The heat was turned off and we had the patio door open right until we went to bed, but the room was just so hot. Not warm, but HOT. Other than that, the hotel was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Nice hotel just a few blocks from shopping

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, clean hot tub and sizable swimming pool.
Cons: It was difficult to regulate the temperature in the room.
Location: Close to restaurants and shopping.
Had a wonderful girls weekend with my daughters. The hotel was nothing fancy but was clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and newly renovated. The bathroom was a tad bit small but the heated tiles were nice. Walking distance to the center of town. The underground parking was a welcome amenity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary

Excellent

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Super for that price and breakfast included! A++++++++++*++++
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, WA

Perfect for our family trip!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Location, price, spacious room, comfortable beds, pool/hot tubs, free breakfast/parking/wifi.
Cons: Bathroom is a little small, a few more hot options at breakfast would be nice, but I'm not complaining! :-)
Location: Primarily exploring the spectacular setting, viewing stunning scenery and wildlife. Also Banff Hot Springs, Cave & Basin, and shopping.
Stayed at the High Country Inn Nov 8-11th. While the hotel may not be extremely fancy or full-service, it was perfect for our family of 4. Our room was spacious and clean and the hotel is a short 5 min walk to the town center (grocery store, shops, restaurants). The beds were extremely comfortable! My only complaint was the small bathroom - anytime you opened the door, it was an obstacle to get to the sink. Also, our room overlooked Banff Ave, so we occasionally heard the bar crowds returning home in the wee morning hours. Breakfast was simple but met our needs so we could grab a quick bite before exploring the spectacular national park. Food options included cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, toast, toaster-waffles and toaster-French toast, coffee, tea and juice. The kids enjoyed the pool which is partly why we chose this hotel since not all Banff hotels have pools. They have two hot tubs, one at 38C/100F and the other at 40C/104F. The pool was also a relatively warm temp. Front desk staff was very courteous and helpful. Free parking and wi-fi. Basically, it had everything we needed, excellent location at a great price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Medicine Hat, AB

Quick Service - Nice warm pool area

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly, accommodating staff. No surprises at check out time. Underground parking + Pool + Breakfast Area = :)
Cons: The room was a warmer than the thermostat suggested so had to leave a window open. A microwave would be useful too.
Location: So many dining and shopping options nearby.
We had a couple of requests after we checked in and they were both dealt with in less than 10 minutes! Close enough to walk downtown even in snowy weather, underground parking a plus although the corners are tight and the clearance is very tight. You will want to secure your parking spot underground and leave it there by late afternoon. Large breakfast area with lots of options. The staff spoke English very well. The pool area was a very comfortable temp and 2 hot tubs at 2 different temps are a great idea! Cozy mountain décor. No problem adding a cot to the room either!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Red Deer, AB

Convenient location to downtown activities

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: It was clean and provided a nice breakfast.
Cons: Some of the trim and finishing is worn but that was minor. Overall, it was more than adequate and most importantly...clean. Renovations are ongoing.
Location: Shopping, dining, galleries, art centre, museum, skiing, hiking, sightseeing
Spent the weekend in Banff and this was a good location to access activities such as shopping and dining. It was also close to the shuttle service that took us to the Banff Art Centre on Tunnel Mountain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lacombe

Excellent Hotel.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: .
Location: Right in town. Can walk to stores and restaurants.
The hotel was clean. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

観光要所に近い

Posted Oct 19, 2014
大通りに面しておりわかりやすい。午前中からのチェックインが可能であった。シャワー、空調に問題なく快適であった。
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rome

Hotel close to downtown a little dated.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Overall the room was adequate.
Cons: The hotel needs a good rehab.
The hotel is so '80s, and real needs a good refresh. The room overall was ok. What disapointed me was the breakfast, that was done with no care, in a room that demands modernization. The overall was OK, but at the same price I would go in nicer hotels close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Great location in Banff Ave,

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The location was great...just walking distance to stores and restaurants..underground parking was also very handy
Cons: some renovation is required...carpet need to be changed as well as upgrading the elevatore
Location: just walk to Shopping cafe and restaurants.
The building is very old...the elevator super old and smells. Rooms had clean towel and bedding but the carpet and other furniture were kind of old and dirty..specially the carpet