Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly place

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The genuineness and sincerity of the owner. Treats you like a family member when you are there
Location: Good location a few minutes away from the old city as well as a few minutes from the Castillo San Felipe.
A nice friendly place located close to the historic center as well as next to the major plaza in Getsemani. The owner is really sweet and helpful and the staff is eager to please. The house is a bit old and overall the setup is not so professional but that might be part of its charm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlosfrom Philadelphia

Beatiful guest house, in a so-so area (getsemani)

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night at this B&B house. We had first arrived to Cartagena and then travelled to Barranquilla. We returned just to catch our flight the next day. When we arrived to this house, we were asked to show our reservation before they even opened the door; apparently they did not know guest will be arriving that day. The house is well kept and seems to have been upgraded over the years. We were assigned one of the two rooms available. It was beautifully decorated, and charming. The room had AC&fan, TV, small fridge, no security vault. We were pleased with the overall comfort. After accommodating, the owner came out, Marta, to greet us and help with the check in. The house counts with a small patio, surrounded by chairs, fans, TV, music, and a tinny swimming pool. The house is located in, Getsemani, a so-so area located 20 mins walk from Cartagena center. About 100ft from the house there is a church&plaza where people convene to drink and chat. In the morning, we were greeted with the news water had been cut out in the area. We were provided with a bucket of water to shower and clean ourselves. We only washed the body, since the water did not look clear, had some yellowish color. We were also provided with a delicious breakfast consisting of arepas, milk, coffee, water, and bread. The dining table was set beautifully. Our only complaint about our room was the bathroom. The shower had various spots with mold. Despite loving the house, we might not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by non spanish speakerfrom U S A

close to walled city and great neighborhood

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
my stay was excellent. We were next to Trinidad Square and lots going on in the plaza. Kids playing soccer, lots of carts selling great food and drinks, crowds of Colombians, international tourists, and neighbors all hanging out steps away from your hotel. But no noise level if you prefer to rest. Rooms clean, good breakfast, very friendly host Marta, great cook Miguel, and knowledgeable neice Anna Christine. wonderful "soaking tub" in communal area. Get a primer on air conditioner to make your stay complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by texybertfrom oregon

Decent value, interesting neighborhood

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
12 minute walk into the old city. On a dreary seeming street across from a police station. Small plaza 100 feet away looked bleak when we arrive but turned into a delightful area at 5:00 when the closed buildings turned into restaurants and the plaza filled with kids, locals and backpacker types (lots of hostels in the area).Our room was very large with two older but comfortable beds. great shower but tough to shave in the mirror. room was on the street but was very quite. You are staying in Marta's home and it is a nice experience but unless an English speaking relative is there you really need some Spanish to take advantage of her local knowledge. Very friendly and helpful. Small "pool" for sitting in and cooling off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeniferfrom Teaneck, NJ

Absolutely lovely!!!!

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staying at Casa Marta is like being at home. Everyone was lovely. It was like having a true experience of living in a Colombian home. They were extremely helpful and wonderful to our children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marc M.from Ottawa

Perfect for solo travellers with Spanish fluency

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This place is ideal if you're travelling alone, have a basic knowledge of Spanish and want to immerse yourself in Colombian culture. Marta and her staff (Miguel, José and Anita) are all lovely, and they will quickly become your friends. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but remember that this is not your traditional hotel operation. I loved my stay and will definitely miss my "Colombian family". The only thing I would suggest is a better shower head and set up - the water doesn't get very hot and the water pressure seems a little low. But all in all, I would highly recommend this place, as long as you know what you're getting into. Thanks Marta and family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katarinafrom Rotterdam

Real Colombian style

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have stayed a week in Casa Marta and it was one of the best hospitality. Senora Marta welcomes you to Cartagena and makes you feel like home as well her team. We recommend Casa Marta to anybody that wants to experience real colombian spirit and meet Colombians from Cartagena in a wonderful neighborhood.
2 out of 5
by Philzechampfrom Carthagène

Très très moyen et cher !

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Location: Getsemani : quartier en pleine évolution, qui est un peu le Brooklyn de Carthagène
Très décevant : les chambres n'ont pas de fenêtres (ou du moins on ne peut pas les ouvrir !) et il s'agit vraiment d'un hôtel de transition , pour passer une nuit "vite fait bien fait". Il est impossible de "traîner" dans l'hôtel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com