Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dc

Very close to station

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: Updated furniture in rooms and a
Location: Near station
A little dated in rooms, but very comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Grand Hotel not so Grand

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: breakfast room
Cons: safe in the room for a start.
Location: Next to the Tivoli gardens amusement park, and a beautiful sculpture museum which we really liked. Also had dinner at the hard Rock Cafe just down the
A very nice buffet breakfast was included in our stay, which was the best part of the hotel. Lobby small but in good condition. free wifi worked well and there is also a computer in the lobby. The room was very small with a very small , soft, double bed. No safe in the room is a big minus ( who wants to go to the front desk to leave their cash/passports/etc) The furniture looked old, a few burnt out bulbs in the fixtures, and NO AIRCONDITIONING in the room. Although it was cool in Copenhagen , it was stuffy in the room. Our room faced the street on the 2nd floor, and there was a lot of noise outside. even thought I kept the windows closed, there was a lot of noise with people laughing and screaming outside till 4 am. We did not sleep well at all there. we had stayed here an extra night after our cruise and left tired on our journey home to Canada. Pre cruise we stayed at the Phoenix, also rated 4 stars. It was much better, similar in price ( although no breakfast included) and was in a much quieter are of the city, closer to the canals in a more upscale section of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely not a 4* hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, very close to central station and city centre
Cons: No aircon, so we had to keep windows open but was noisey from the street below. No mirror except for in the bathroom. No tea/coffee facilities in room
Location: Great location
The hotel is definitely not 4* and doesn't have the facilities a 4* should have. It is conveniently located, and would recommend it as it was a reasonable price in comparison to other hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel close to the center of town.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were very helpful, we were able to get email train directions from hotel staff before our trip. Nice Italian restaurant in the hotel.
Cons: Furnishings are showing signs of wear and tear as it is an old hotel.
Location: Hotel is only one block from Central Station, the Tourist Information office and the hop-on hop-off bus. Tivoli Gardens is nearby.
We had an enjoyable stay at this conveniently located hotel. We had a quiet room facing the inside courtyard, the breakfast buffet has a nice variety to start our day. Many attractions are within walking distance from the hotel, such as the Tivoli Gardens, the National Museum and the meat packing district. The pros are the friendly hotel staff, the great location and a good restaurant in the hotel; the cons are the old furnishings and the poor ventilation due to the age of the building. They also had free wi-fi in the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raju Hyderabad from India

Centrally located......and very nice hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Very conveniently located from Railway station, bus tour starting points, close to Tivoli gardens.......Allowed to check-in before scheduled time...Rooms are maintained well.....very nice hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shirley from LA

Great location

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: It was very clean; staff was friendly.
Cons: The beds were a little on the soft side; the room was small.
Location: Tivoli is within a 5-10 minute walk away. Central terminal is a 3 minute walk. You can get anywhere in the city very easily.
This hotel was a pleasant stay. It was clean and comfortable and, most importantly, close to central terminal. While I would not classify this as a 4 star hotel, it is definitely a solid place to stay to see the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Location is excellent, close to everything. Tivoli Garden, shopping, restaurant all within short walking distance. The breakfast is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful breakfast buffet and a queen-sized bed!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The hotel is historic, nicely decorated, comfortable. The room was very nice with a comfortable queen-sized bed. The breakfast was truly excellent.
Location: The location is very central - near the train station, Tivoli Gardens and right across the street from the Hop-On Bus.
We took a cab to the hotel from the airport expecting to leave our bags in storage - lucky for us, our room was ready for early occupancy. The staff were very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by flor from vancouver, canada

Old hotel - has musty smell. Too noisy.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Centrally located, buffet breakfast cost is reasonable, restaurant meal portion very good. Their Italian food is great!
Cons: Hotel needs to be repainted and rugs replaced, windows need to be opened on a daily basis to air the rooms; better yet, renovate hotel's interior.
Location: Centrally located, Tivoli Gardens and train stations as well as hop on/hop off tour bus stop is just 2-3 blocks away. Money changers abound.
Lady receptionist was nice and let us store our luggage because we were too early from our cruise. We took hop on/hop off tour for the whole day and went back to hotel after 2 pm. Due to its proximity to most tourist attractions, we were able to walk around, e.g, Tivoli Gardens. Musty smell prevalent in the hallway leading to our room, so as soon as we entered, the first thing we did was to open the windows and aired the room and we had our windows opened during the duration of our stay. Area was too noisy - fireworks from Tivoli Gardens, our room was adjacent to hotel's kitchen so noise from pots and pans and staff talking loud and from hotel patrons' partying. I was sleep-deprived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jennabellesmom from Houston TX

Small but surprising

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location, Old World Charm
Location: perfect location to walk to Tivoli Gardens, Central Station, new Harbor, Palaces, and restaurants
The room was small but charming as expected. The bathroom was larger and updated which was a nice surprise. The hotel was conveniently located was was the reason for selecting it. The staff could have been more helpful (example when asked about breakfast locations nearby that opened early Sunday we were told "there are none" and only option was hotel restaurant or 7-11. We found Anderson Bakery within a block that opened at 630 which was amazing.