Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Bed/breakfast
Cons: Major update of everything.
Location: plenty to do nearby
Bed was o.k and breakfast was fine that was about it for good points- there is a Bar attached to hotel - be warned. Everything is out dated, game room - half of games out of order, pool very small, furniture in room very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Nice motel

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Quite and comfortable. Hot shower and clean. Good deal for price. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to !35

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Accessability.
Advertised food and bar. No food. The motel smells old. Parking lot needs repair. Breakfast was satisfactory.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom iowa.

Nasty

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Room was not clean.. Smoke alarm was not even hooked up. Bed was hard and sagged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Clean inexpensive room

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We chose this motel because of its rates and proximity to our needs. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was good. We were disappointed that we could not turn just the fan on in the window unit. We were close to the back parking lot and it was rather noisy. We ended up buying knew for our second night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of this hotel, no complaints.
Cons: The exterior could be updated.
Location: Perfect location, close to events, mall, and interstate.
We were in town to work, so didn't need anything too fancy. The inside of the hotel was very clean. Our kids loved the pool at the end of a busy day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2015
The breakfast was terrible. Left and went to McDonald's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by amy, Hotel Management
Sorry, that you were disappointed in our breakfast choice, but we did have all the DAYS INN requirements and some extras like biscuits and gravy and hot waffles.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Davidfrom Geneva

Nice economy hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
The staff was quick to reassign my room when I had a problem. The first room they assigned smelled smokey and stagnant. I asked to change and the new room was much better. I have stayed at some of the other economy hotels in the vicinity and while this one had a lesser rating, I found the room to be in better condition. I did not try the WiFi. There was a drive-through restaurant right outside my room window, but it caused no issues for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by Maggie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful remarks and feedback on our hotel and services. We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and glad that we were able to provide you with such a comfortable stay at the Days Inn Des Moines - Merle Hay, IA. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Des Moines, IA soon and we hope you’ll stay with us at the Days Inn Des Moines - Merle Hay, IA. again! With best regards, Alka Amin General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Columbia, Mo

disappointing

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: the breakfast
Cons: cleanliness of the pool
took my granddaughter to stay there for her 5th birthday because she wanted to go swimming. the pool was very dirty. she was disappointed because I wouldn't let her stay in it long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fall brawl basketball

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Overall experience was good. Breakfast was good, enjoyed the arcade. House keeping for over night guests could have been better. But it was a language barrier.