Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Needs a little TLC and some sound proofing

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: rooms need better heating and there needs to be hot water. Shower area needs to be cleaned better, especially the tiles. Bathroom needs to be painted.
Location: excellent--shopping, history, eating, the warf. Also not far from grocery store.
I had planned to stay the week but I checked out after about 8 hours. Perfect location, right in the center of Lahaina and within walking distance to everything. There were no staff in the hotel over the night. The security guard who let me in, the cleaning guy who helped me check out, and the person I spoke with initially on the phone were lovely--pleasant and hospitable. My room was a discount and so I expected it might be sparce or alternatively charming. I had two twin beds as advertised. There was no desk. I could not get warm in spite of increasing the thermostat to 75. The bathroom needed some care--sink and toilet were fine, but paint was peeling about the shower head, the tiles needed repairing, and I had to wait a long while for luke warm water and a very brief period of warmer water to shower quickly, ending in a cold shower. I decided it just wasn't for me and checked out. Shortly afterwards I received a call from Annette from the Royal Lahaina resort, the parent company. She kindly listened to my complaint and then offered me a week at the RLR instead. I was very pleasantly surprised with the Resort and had an incredible room with a view of the ocean. And the bonus we listening to the Luau, wind, and ocean through louvered shutters each night. So, Lahaina Inn was not what I wanted. It could be so cute with a little TLC, and the location is perfect for exploring the town. But the Hawaiian hospitality did not disappopint and I am grateful to Annette from the RLR
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Excellent location! Beach, pool, restaurants, shopping are all within waking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Great hotel!!! Right by the maintown of lahaina ... perfect place!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hawaii

Good location, no frills, but some perks

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: We could walk to everything, and the big Foodland supermarket was just around the corner. It was quiet at night despite the proximity to Front Street
Cons: The staff could have been more available, and somewhere to hand your clothes.
Location: Maui Ocean Centre is worth a visit , Molokini atol- turtle town trip, Haleakala sun rise & bike, Historic walk around Lahaina, U'lulena show - a must.
Lahaina Inn is a basic hotel in a great location. The rooms are quite small, and have nowhere to hang anything apart from one coat hook on the wall. There is, however, a dresser with three large drawers which easily took all our things. The little balcony overlooked the car park across the street, but the rocking chairs were very comfortable & a good place to sit, have a drink and plan your activities. We took the car parking option, so it was easy to go anywhere and not have to worry about where to park the car because the Rangers were very diligent at checking the three hour free limit, & you still had to find somewhere to park the car overnight. The front desk staff were almost never there. You had a door code to get back in after 7:00pm. There were local bus timetables to get around which would be very helpful if you don't have a car. The bus to Black Rock took about half an hour, and cost $2:50. As parking is both expensive and hard to find, the bus is perfect. We a.so used the pool privileges at the Royal Lahaina resort- the upmarket version, which was very nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Old hotel without the charm

Posted Jan 10, 2015
The best part or maybe the only good part of this hotel is the location. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was the size of a normal hotel room. The only furnishings was a very old, creaky, heavy wood bed, although the mattress was comfortable, and a desk. The room was dirty with hair in the bathroom and bits of hard plastic stuck to the rug. While the water pressure was good, the hot water only lasted a few minutes and the sink was clogged. The only reason to stay in this hotel is the location but even that is a stretch since for the price there are many great options available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oroville, .CA

Quaint little inn.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
We stayed here for two days before our flight home. The room is small but is fine for a couple days. Rooms have a balcony with 2 wooden rocking chairs and a table and have an ocean view. Perfect for sitting at in the late afternoon to watch the sunset over the ocean. The location is perfect .. right in the middle of shops and restaurants. Altho it can be noisy in the morning because of trash trucks. The best part of the Lahaina Inn is the staff. We got there early and the room wasn't ready so the desk clerk, Brandy, helped us bring our bags in and said she'd watch them while we walked around. When we came back she had carried all our bags up the one flight to our room (there is no elevator), brought us ice, and had everything situated for us. I am partially handicapped so this was a tremendous help. The inn isn't staffed until 11am so no one was there to help us bring our bags down, but that days desk clerk, don't know her name but she was blonde, came in early and helped us load our luggage in our car. All in all, this is a nice, quaint, little place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annefrom DeKalb 1 hour west of my hometown of Chicago

I miss you Lahaina Inn!

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived around 10 pm had to go to Safeway for some items after the airport like POKE! Arrived to a locked lobby. Nice guys working at Lahaina Grill pointed at the Royal Lahaina Resort number I had to call and let me borrow the phone, waited 10 minutes and Charles helped us check in, so nice he was it made the transition a bit better because when I had to wait I was about to give this hotel a 1 star for not having staff on site but I guess that's how they keep the cost low. Charles thank you so much for being so positive, pleasant and perfectly helpful! My hubby was surprised I loved it so much but I did! I cannot wait to come back to you. After that checked out and went to Napili Bay Resort for our 1st year anniversary and the hotel was meh in my eyes after Lahaina Inn. Maybe because it made me feel like I was in a real Thai or Hawaiian home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by KAZUOfrom Japan

ラハイナの中心地にあるレトロ感満載のホテル。

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
木造2階建てのレトロ感満載のホテルですがきれいな建物です。車は東側に60mくらい離れた公共駐車場0おの指定区画(看板あり)に泊めます。ドアや室内金庫は鍵式です。部屋は狭いですが、よく手入れがされています。エアコンは集中式(部屋には送風口と温調のみ)なのでうるさくないです。冷蔵庫が無いので、隣にあるカフェ(無料WiFiがある)を頻繁に利用しました。フロントは昼間でも誰もいないこともありますが、2階にスタッフがいます。建物はラハイナの中心地にあり、散歩や買い物に至極便利でした。「大ホテルより小旅館が好き」な人にお勧めです。
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu

Not A Good Night

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: This hotel is properly maintained considering the age of the structure. An antique hotel built in the early 1900.
Cons: The hotel could use some remodeling to accommodate at least two "twin size" beds per room. The bathroom could use some face lifting.
Location: The hotel is situated in a Tourist area. It is very convenience to get to everything that a tourist want to do.
We checked in at around 8:30 p.m. and found that our rooms have only ONE "full size" bed. When we booked our reservation, the hotel web site offers two "single (twin size)" beds per room. Contacted the front desk clerk about the discrepancy, only to be told that the hotel has only two rooms with two "single" beds and that they are sold out. No flexibility in adding a roll away bed because the rooms are too small. Needless to say that we had a rough night in sharing one bed. Secondly, the hotel charges $15 for over night parking where you can pay $6 for the same service at the adjacent parking lot using the self drop box. In fact, the hotel charged me the $15 regardless that I did not use their parking lot service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tessafrom apple valley, ca

Lahaina, Halloween 2014

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was very small with a double bed and no way around both sides of it and because of the footboard no way to get on from the end either. No mini fridge-needed to use little cooler and was provided ice from the adjacent restaurant...nice balcony to see the water/harbor and the halloween parade-the living space was really the balcony. All the rooms are different sizes so be sure to ask for one of the bigger ones. Nice staff, great location in downtown Lahaina. Worth the price