Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicki from Somerset, NJ

Very fine hotel near the beach and historic area

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Great location! Good breakfast!
Location: Walk to the Machado and dine outdoors there in the evening, especially Friday and Saturday when there are musicians and many street vendors.
The hotel is well located - across the street from the beach promenade. It is about 4 blocks from the Plaza Machado. I felt very safe walking in the area. I enjoyed the fine included breakfast while taking in the excellent view of the beach and the sea. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again if I have the opportunity.
3 out of 5
by Beth from Calgary, Alberta

Great Potential

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Staff. Location. View.
Cons: BEDS AND PILLOWS. Elevator. Bedroom furnishings (inappropriate size and scale).
Location: Across from the beach in Centro Historico. Coffee shops, restaurants, night life, walking the Malicon.
The hotel is very charming and has the MOST amazing roof top pool/patio with an outstanding view. Don't miss the sunsets. Staff at this hotel will do anything to make your visit memorable and simply lovely to be around. I can't say enough about the HORRIBLE beds - may of well just slept on a sheet of plywood with a giant block for a pillow. Couldn't sleep and when I did, I awoke in terrible pain. The rooms are awkwardly crowded with furniture. The ancient elevator is quite dangerous and positively GROANS whenever it's in use - quite disturbing the first night when attempting to sleep. It also frequently doesn't properly land at the floor, so watch your step when entering or exiting. I was excited to stay at this hotel, but due to the lack of comfort, I won't be back. In fact, Best Western will be hearing from me and that's NEVER happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marvelous view from the roof pool.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The staff are very helpful with a good response to any request. The roof pool has the best view of the city and the sea, the only problem is that the elevator goes to the ninth floor and you have to walk three floors up the staris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jack from quebec

Our first trip to Mazatlan ,after leaving the -30

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Great buffet breakfast
We spent three nights at this hotel prior to a condo at tiera sands , it is a very nice old hotel, beautifully maintained with a wonderful pool on the top and fantastic views of the city, the breakfast buffet was really great, the only complaint we had was that it was difficult to get a good nights sleep due to the noise outside and the elevator was noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved it; would stay again

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The staff were all very accommodating, breakfast was either buffet or a la carte and included in price of room.
Location: Walking was great, across the road from 15 km seaside walk as well as great streets and restaurants in restored buildings of Historic area.
Great hotel in old Mazatlan. Very well priced, handy to all amenities. Part of the National Heritage Site, this hotel has an excellent bar and swimming area on the roof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Victoria BC Canada

Great breakfast and staff

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Full buffet breakfast was very nice. Location cannot be surpassed, close to central market, square, beach and malecon view for lots of people-watching. The rooftop bar and pool are gorgeous. The room could have been less cramped if one of the beds were removed, but it was clean with lots of hot water and a lovely ocean view balcony. I really liked this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Someone from Denver

THIS HOTEL SUITED US

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: The hotel provides a splendid cooked breakfast from 7 a.m. till noon. This includes Mexican breakfast dishes as well as our kind of breakfast dishes
Cons: It is an old hotel and the fittings are old fashioned but that was no problem to me.
We spent four nights in a very pleasant room on the 8th floor overlooking the length of the Olhas Altas beach. We were in the old part of Mazatlan and a two minute walk brought us to the old town with its art galleries, gift shops restaurants and bars. At the top of the hotel is a very nice bar and above that a small swimming pool surrounded by a pleasant deck with views of the ocean, the distant Gold coast and the old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Carrie C. from Churchville NY

Best Western Posada Freeman - Mazatlan

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here one night before my timeshare started and it was lovely. The infinity pool on 13th floor overlooking the sea and city was spectacular. The receptionists, waiters and all of the employees could not have been nicer. The breakfast was superb. I will definitely be back for a longer time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ansley from Brooklyn, NY

Historic hotel in old Mazatlan with rooftop pool

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Pool Bar Views Close to ocean friendly staff convenient restaurant
Cons: Technology- problems running my credit card noisy
Location: Go to El Presidio restaurant. Just a few blocks away, world class food. Walk the Malecon, the 7 mile boardwalk.
Stayed here for one night on a business trip. If you are flying into Mazatlan and need to unwind, the rooftop pool and bar with amazing views are perfect to make you forget your worries. There is a full service restaurant with solid food, the staff is friendly and speak English. Biggest downside is the noise- from the street, the elevator and the bar. I was so tired I could have slept through anything anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tofino, BC V0R, Canada

Freeman Hotel Mazatlan Historico

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Everything about this hotel is fantstic! The staff are the best and you are treated like royalty!
Cons: There is nothing negative about the Freeman.
Location: Love being in the Historico District, close to centro, right on the Malecon.
The Freeman is our favorite hotel in Mazatlan. My husband and I have been going to Mazatlan since 1972, have stayed at many hotels and the Freeman is our favorite. The staff are all so friendly and are very helpful, couldn'd ask for anyone better. The location in Historico is very handy, bus stops pit in front making transportation to the Golden Zone and Cerritos easy. The malecon is a very busy street and great for people watching. We are already planning our next stay there. From the inroom coffee to the fantstic buffet breakfast, it just doesn't get any better,