Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Hotel con mucho caracter, super ubicacion

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: todo
Ubicado al princip del malecon, un classico de la arquitectura de los 1940s, acerca del otro hotel clasico de Mazatlan, Belmar. Camina de su habitacion a la playa en 2 minutos. Centro Historico con plazas y buen restaurantes.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Alberta

3 star hotel for a 5 star price

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The location. The rooftop pool and bar and the views of the ocean. The bar tenders and service on the roof top was very good.
Cons: They could have quieter air conditioners, more comfortable beds and better service from the hotel staff.
Location: Fabulous restaurant located right behind the hotel called Angelina's. Great coffee a half block away on the Malecon called the Looney Bean.
The hotel could do much better in terms of service. The beds were very uncomfortable and the air conditioners are old and loud. However, the hotel is in a fabulous location- great views of the ocean and Malacon. Located in the old part of Mazatlan, and beautiful old historical buildings. Loved the proximity to many fabulous restaurants and art galleries. The rooftop pool and bar area has the best view of Mazatlan. We saw many beautiful sunsets from the rooftop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

7th floor junior suite spacious with a great view!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Employees all very helpful. Junior suite very spacious. View from seventh floor balcony was amazing! Rooftop view is 360 degrees of amazing!
Cons: The original room booked as basic with no view for four people should not be rented to four people, was too small. Bad window view into other rooms.
Location: Love the location! Can walk to many places. Lots of restaurants, bars, shops near by. Right on male on that goes for miles.
Started in a basic room with no view, too small for a family of four. Moved to a junior suite on 7th floor, great view and bigger than needed! Will stay here again sometime. Great places to go eat and drink in the area. Walked to both the plaza Machado and the market and the cathedral and the ship docking. Enjoyed the art crawl, all within walking distance. Will review eateries separately. Ate at porta vejos, Hectors, Pedro and Lola's. Walked the male on for miles. Lots of people in the area, was great to see! Bike rentals right next door too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Great location! Very walkable.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The best things were the staff and the location
Cons: Towels seemed to be in short supply. They were removed when the room was cleaned. However, many times they were not replaced and the search was on!
Location: Excellent location. Shops, art galleries, restaurants. Go to Stone Island for the day--eat, drink and lay on the beach. Bus to the Golden Zone. Relax
Great location--restaurants and coffee shops galore. Close to a beautiful town square (Plaza Machado) with many more restaurants, vendors and entertainment. Wonderful staff. Great (included) breakfast buffet but they also offer any anything else not provided in the buffet (any style eggs, French toast, pancakes etc). Beautiful pool area on the top floor which offers a 360 degree panoramic view of the ocean and city. The 70 year old elevator is a "treat" to ride on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of my favorite hotels, but HARD mattresses!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and the views are outstanding!
Cons: The MATTRESSES! As I stated above, they are the hardest mattresses in the world. My wife did correct me, they are at least better than the tile floor.
Location: Great Location for walking the historic center of Mazatlan. Great restaurants, plazas and markets all very close. Ocean view and on the Malecon.
The Best Western is one of my favorite hotels in Mazatlan. It is in the historic district and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants and the largest market. It is close to the theatre and the cultural center. This is an excellent location if you love to walk a historic city. Do not expect to walk the beaches for miles at this end of Mazatlan. The beaches are small and much more rocky, similar to the US west coast. You can walk the Malecon though for miles and it runs along the waters edge. The hotel has a roof top pool and the best views of the city. There is a bar one level below the pool which also has excellent views. The bar staff takes care of you while at the pool. Expect to pay twice as much for your cervezas though! The breakfast buffet is a real treat! You eat on a terrace overlooking the Malecon, facing the ocean. The staff are very attentive and polite. I do wish they had better coffee though. There are excellent coffee shops all around you. I highly recommend the Looney Bean and Allegro. I cannot say enough about how nice all of the staff are! The room was also very clean. So you may ask, WHY ONLY A 3 RATING? The MATTRESSES are the hardest of anywhere I have ever stayed. They are similar to what we call the box springs in the states. I have stayed here multiple times but cannot take it more than a couple of nights. I am hoping the hotel owners read this. PLEASE upgrade the mattresses!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Historic hotel across the street from the beach!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel is in the historic part of Mazatlan. We love the location.
Cons: This hotel has the very firmest matress's you could imagine. They are so hard, the floor and a blanket may be more comfortable.
Location: You are located only a few blocks from the sqaure. Friday and Saturday evening are the best time to visit the sqaure for entertainment, and vendors.
The bellboys, and breakfast wait staff were awesome! The maid, and desk service were okay. The rooftop pool is an awesome spot to hang-out and watch the beautiful sunsets. Rooftop access does close at 11pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Friendly staff (mostly), especially if you speak some Spanish!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, Alaska

Great location, pretty nice place, some issues

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Great staff. Clean. Easy check in and check out.
Cons: Make sure the AC units work. A least provide ice buckets in the rooms. Improve internet stability.
Location: On the malecon, very near Machada Square/El Centro, great restaurants really close, great hiking (i.e. - out to the light house, etc.).
The location is phenomenal and provides quick access to El Centro / Machado. Staff was superior and very, very helpful. Internet was in and out; when it was in, it worked well. The place is pretty old but recently renovated; the lobby is beautiful and the breakfasts were just fine. When you step into the elevators, you'll note that they are pretty small; you'll need to prepare for Mr. Toad's Wild Ride! The room would probably be fine for just a couple, but it was pretty small with our 11-year-old with us. Most disappointing were three things: 1. The beds are has hard as rocks. 2. The A/C unit in the room was VERY loud, and actually gave out the day before we left. 3. No refrigerator in the room and no easy access to ice (the staff would happily get ice for us from the freezer across the parking lot and bring it to you in a pitcher; however, there is no "ice bucket" provided. If you want to maintain cold beverages in your room I'd recommend purchasing an inexpensive foam cooler from one of the stores near the hotel and fill it with ice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cln

excelente lugar, personal muy amable

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Alberca en el 12vo. piso =)
Cons: El buffet-desayuno de cortesía:esperamos de 15-20 min. para tomar mesa ya que estaban reservando para un evento privado. Personal muy atento.
Location: Cerca de plazuela Machado: lugar perfecto para noche romántica.
Nos encantó la alberca en la azotea. Pequeña pero cumple su función. La vista desde ella es inigualable. Los cuartos están agradables y cuentan con sus amenidades. Volvería a hospedarme en él.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Doegp

Disabled need not apply

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The ocean views from thedining room
Cons: Make it a youth hostel
Location: Bay front is wonderful, nothing within walkingdistance
The hotel is at the end of the waterfront, away from the maddening crowd. But if you are disabled as I am once you are in the hotel you find that you cannot enjoy a walk along the seafront. Side walks require mountain climbing ability We are talking of 14 or more inches in height. The hotel has only one ramp out of the hotel, the car ramp!! The rooms are not that bad but the bathroom requires 2 steps, for some one who is limited, walking this can be a challenge. I personally do not pay these rate to be challenged.