Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of my favorite hotels, but HARD mattresses!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and the views are outstanding!
Cons: The MATTRESSES! As I stated above, they are the hardest mattresses in the world. My wife did correct me, they are at least better than the tile floor.
Location: Great Location for walking the historic center of Mazatlan. Great restaurants, plazas and markets all very close. Ocean view and on the Malecon.
The Best Western is one of my favorite hotels in Mazatlan. It is in the historic district and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants and the largest market. It is close to the theatre and the cultural center. This is an excellent location if you love to walk a historic city. Do not expect to walk the beaches for miles at this end of Mazatlan. The beaches are small and much more rocky, similar to the US west coast. You can walk the Malecon though for miles and it runs along the waters edge. The hotel has a roof top pool and the best views of the city. There is a bar one level below the pool which also has excellent views. The bar staff takes care of you while at the pool. Expect to pay twice as much for your cervezas though! The breakfast buffet is a real treat! You eat on a terrace overlooking the Malecon, facing the ocean. The staff are very attentive and polite. I do wish they had better coffee though. There are excellent coffee shops all around you. I highly recommend the Looney Bean and Allegro. I cannot say enough about how nice all of the staff are! The room was also very clean. So you may ask, WHY ONLY A 3 RATING? The MATTRESSES are the hardest of anywhere I have ever stayed. They are similar to what we call the box springs in the states. I have stayed here multiple times but cannot take it more than a couple of nights. I am hoping the hotel owners read this. PLEASE upgrade the mattresses!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Historic hotel across the street from the beach!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: This hotel is in the historic part of Mazatlan. We love the location.
Cons: This hotel has the very firmest matress's you could imagine. They are so hard, the floor and a blanket may be more comfortable.
Location: You are located only a few blocks from the sqaure. Friday and Saturday evening are the best time to visit the sqaure for entertainment, and vendors.
The bellboys, and breakfast wait staff were awesome! The maid, and desk service were okay. The rooftop pool is an awesome spot to hang-out and watch the beautiful sunsets. Rooftop access does close at 11pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Friendly staff (mostly), especially if you speak some Spanish!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, Alaska

Great location, pretty nice place, some issues

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Great staff. Clean. Easy check in and check out.
Cons: Make sure the AC units work. A least provide ice buckets in the rooms. Improve internet stability.
Location: On the malecon, very near Machada Square/El Centro, great restaurants really close, great hiking (i.e. - out to the light house, etc.).
The location is phenomenal and provides quick access to El Centro / Machado. Staff was superior and very, very helpful. Internet was in and out; when it was in, it worked well. The place is pretty old but recently renovated; the lobby is beautiful and the breakfasts were just fine. When you step into the elevators, you'll note that they are pretty small; you'll need to prepare for Mr. Toad's Wild Ride! The room would probably be fine for just a couple, but it was pretty small with our 11-year-old with us. Most disappointing were three things: 1. The beds are has hard as rocks. 2. The A/C unit in the room was VERY loud, and actually gave out the day before we left. 3. No refrigerator in the room and no easy access to ice (the staff would happily get ice for us from the freezer across the parking lot and bring it to you in a pitcher; however, there is no "ice bucket" provided. If you want to maintain cold beverages in your room I'd recommend purchasing an inexpensive foam cooler from one of the stores near the hotel and fill it with ice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cln

excelente lugar, personal muy amable

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Alberca en el 12vo. piso =)
Cons: El buffet-desayuno de cortesía:esperamos de 15-20 min. para tomar mesa ya que estaban reservando para un evento privado. Personal muy atento.
Location: Cerca de plazuela Machado: lugar perfecto para noche romántica.
Nos encantó la alberca en la azotea. Pequeña pero cumple su función. La vista desde ella es inigualable. Los cuartos están agradables y cuentan con sus amenidades. Volvería a hospedarme en él.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Doegp

Disabled need not apply

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The ocean views from thedining room
Cons: Make it a youth hostel
Location: Bay front is wonderful, nothing within walkingdistance
The hotel is at the end of the waterfront, away from the maddening crowd. But if you are disabled as I am once you are in the hotel you find that you cannot enjoy a walk along the seafront. Side walks require mountain climbing ability We are talking of 14 or more inches in height. The hotel has only one ramp out of the hotel, the car ramp!! The rooms are not that bad but the bathroom requires 2 steps, for some one who is limited, walking this can be a challenge. I personally do not pay these rate to be challenged.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rosendo romanfrom Puerto rico

Surprisingly nice.

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Older hotel smaller room yet TV and AC worked well. Historic location with good view of ocean and male con. Friendly environment. Good service. Wi fi in inconsistent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Francisco Olivafrom Las Vegas NV.

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Too of the line hotel, the best view and service in Mazatlan, we are coming back soon!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel far from attractions/nightlife in Maza

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: not much, but it was the only thing we found due to several events made occupation in mazatlan to rocket high.
Cons: Bar lady server seems did not want to serve food just drinks
Location: Location is far from the night life in Mazatlan. Just a few restaurants nearby.
The front desk staff was nice to getting us a room available before check in time, we had been on the road for a some hours and had just done a recognition swim for a triathlon. The room was nice but seems like housekeeping forgot to clean the sand in the shower. The breakfast buffet was good and it was included, the server made our breakfast pleasant. On the other hand the dinner was quite bad. That night started all wrong since we wanted to have dinner on the bar but every time we asked for the menu the server kept telling us it would take long because food is prepared at lobby level. It took us 3 times asking for the menu, to finally decide to go down to the lobby. It took about 15min to prepare a lemonade and a diet coke.For food, I had the pasta alfredo and it was awful. It was blend, and they use plain cream and the cheapest ham which made it taste really bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TORREON

UN POCO RETIRADO DE LA PLAYA,

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: LA ATENCION BUENA, LA HABITACION COMODA LES GUSTO A MI FAMILIA QUE ES LO IMPORTANTE
Cons: EL RUIDO DEL ELEVADOR EN EL OCTAVO PISO SE ESCUCHA FUERTE EN LA HABITACION
Location: CREO QUE ES UNA PARTE TRANQUILA DE MAZATLAN, SE ENCUENTRA CON MUCHAS FAMILIAS SALIMOS A CAMINAR AL PASEO DE LA ISLA DE LA PIEDRA.
BIEN FALTO DISFRUTARLO MAS, SOLAMENTE QUE NO FUNCIONABA LA ALBERCA