Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

buena ubicacion

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: la vista al mar.
Cons: si, remodelando
Location: buena comida, actividades acuaticas divertidas, buena musica de banda.
mal. habitacion sucia, ropa de cama sucia, baños malolientes, elevador descompuesto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel frente a la playa.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Estuve una noche muy agradable. El desayuno esta muy variado y sabroso.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the ocean-front (but not beach-front

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The breakfasts are good, the overall facilities are good(in spite of 70 yrs old
Cons: The whole operation seems to use an obsolete customer-service model, in which the customer has to accommodate and made the effort instead of the rever
Location: The location is nice, w/ cultural, nightlife, food, etc very close. The beach is not close.
Overall good but a few things: Expedia's description listed "direct access to private beach". NOT. The hotel has not direct access to any beach since it is across the street from the coast, and it's all a rocky coastline there. The closest "OK" beach is about 200 yards away, and the nice beaches are a 15 minute ride away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colima

muy bueno por la ubicacion y trato amable con exc

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: si
Cons: si, pero que se mantenga en este nivel es muy bueno.
Location: plaza machado buen sitio de interes.
excelente trato del personal del hotel.y muy buena buena la posicion ya que te queda todo cerca en la parte vieja del mazatlan antiguo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice classic hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Location, no crowds, helpful staff.
Cons: Amenities are very basic and the hotel is austere overall. Cheaper, fancier hotels can be found.
Location: Hotel is located in the beautiful old town. The main square, plaza Machado is only a few blocks, and it is full of great bars. A must visit.
This is perhaps the first hotel in Mazatlan, and it was indeed its first skyscraper in the early 40s. Thus, the building feels a bit antiquated, but renovations have left it contemporary. Elevators are TINY and very noisy, typical of their time, I guess. Front desk personnel is friendly, very accommodative. Restaurant waiters are ok. Breakfast there is usually included in your booking: buffet style but don't expect wide selection nor great taste. Remember this is a far from the prime tourist area hotel, so there are no crowds usually. The hotel is part of the old town itself, so it is a very convenient location if you wish to explore this part of town (which I highly recommend) instead of the tourist hot spots. Beach in front must be avoided, as sewage pipes (or what looks like one) ends up there for some reason. Try instead the rooftop pool (be early and secure a spot, as it is also VERY SMALL), it has gorgeous views, and I really mean it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ADRIAN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Ok place to stay.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient for spending time in the old part of town. Good AC. Friendly staff. Sub-par breakfast.
Cons: The shower and breakfast.
Location: Walk to the Machado, Topolo's is a must, Angelina's is good. Not far from the lighthouse. Culturally stimulating with colors and architecture.
Had a weak shower head and the drain backed up in seconds. The AC worked well. If you stay here or anywhere near it be sure to eat at Angelina's right behind this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice Hotel Old Mazatlan

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location, balcony to see sunset, rooms are clean, nice to have breakfast included
Cons: Service and attitude of bar staff. Bar Service all afternoon at the pool
Location: Old Mazatlan is the best place to be. Walking distance to the Market. There are many restaurants and bars in the area and the Angela Peralta Theatre
We stayed here for 7 nights. The room was great. We chose a room on the front overlooking the water. Nice to sit on the balcony. We were on the 7th floor and it was very noisy with the window open. The noise came from the street below but seemed like it was from the balcony. No problem with window and door closed, but then you have to use the air conditioning. The rooftop pool is only a wading pool and there is no bar service up there until around sunset. Great place for sunset if you don't have an ocean facing room. Only had one drink from the bar because the drink was not good. The service in the hotel is very inconsistent, in the bar and in the restaurant. The staff in the restaurant were nice and friendly but again the service was inconsistent. Most of the time there were no towels at the pool
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

stay away if you want comfy beds and quiet rooms!

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Hard beds, like concrete. Other rooms equally miserable. If we hadn’t already prepaid via hotels.com, we would have checked out! Rooms very small. No counter space, 1 dim bulb and world’s smallest fan in bathroom. No space around sink for various ‘stuff. ‘ Noisy elevator! Vibration and bang, bang, BANG as elevators stopped at EACH floor made us feel like we were under the weight room of a gym. Only quiet time was 2am when nobody was using it. The air conditioner had to be off to sleep. Rooms overlooked street, so you could hear every car, motorcycle and bus. On weekends when town doubles, it’s especially noisy. Avoid hotel if you have problems with stairs. Front steps at entrance are high, we never saw a bellboy. The loading ramp at the back where taxis and buses don’t go. Elevators stop 2 floors shy of the bar. Pool is above the bar. People climbed stairs for the view…worth the effort. Drinks are the most expensive in the city. Daily towel issues; After breakfast all towels except 1 hand towel were removed. When time to shower before dinner, we still had only 1 hand towel. Took forever to get more. Pool towels are only available after 1pm. We ran out of TP several times. We finally took to grabbing some off the maid cart whenever we could. Get to the very nice free breakfast early since things got cold by 8:30. All waiters were attentive and happy to get French toast or eggs anyway ya want ‘em. The waiters were the best part of our stay.