Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

'Can hardly wait to return!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Wonderful & attentive staff, good beds & clean rooms, and reasonable rate for ocean-view room with hot breakfast. Noise was a concern as noted by other travellers, but we didn't have a problem (...a little toleration & a room on the 8th floor) Centrally located for easy walking in the Historic Zone, close to Archeological Museum, the market, several plazas & the Immaculate Conception Cathedral. Inexpensive pulmonias took us everywhere else. We stayed 10 days in late March/early April, and will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location was perfect.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The location
It was so easy to access the historic part of the city. And many other attractions were easy to get to as well. We spent more days in Mazatlan than we had intended and we appreciated that the staff at the hotel was able to accommodate us in spite of it being Easter Week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicki from Somerset, NJ

Very fine hotel near the beach and historic area

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Great location! Good breakfast!
Location: Walk to the Machado and dine outdoors there in the evening, especially Friday and Saturday when there are musicians and many street vendors.
The hotel is well located - across the street from the beach promenade. It is about 4 blocks from the Plaza Machado. I felt very safe walking in the area. I enjoyed the fine included breakfast while taking in the excellent view of the beach and the sea. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again if I have the opportunity.
3 out of 5
by Beth from Calgary, Alberta

Great Potential

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Staff. Location. View.
Cons: BEDS AND PILLOWS. Elevator. Bedroom furnishings (inappropriate size and scale).
Location: Across from the beach in Centro Historico. Coffee shops, restaurants, night life, walking the Malicon.
The hotel is very charming and has the MOST amazing roof top pool/patio with an outstanding view. Don't miss the sunsets. Staff at this hotel will do anything to make your visit memorable and simply lovely to be around. I can't say enough about the HORRIBLE beds - may of well just slept on a sheet of plywood with a giant block for a pillow. Couldn't sleep and when I did, I awoke in terrible pain. The rooms are awkwardly crowded with furniture. The ancient elevator is quite dangerous and positively GROANS whenever it's in use - quite disturbing the first night when attempting to sleep. It also frequently doesn't properly land at the floor, so watch your step when entering or exiting. I was excited to stay at this hotel, but due to the lack of comfort, I won't be back. In fact, Best Western will be hearing from me and that's NEVER happened.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Marvelous view from the roof pool.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
The staff are very helpful with a good response to any request. The roof pool has the best view of the city and the sea, the only problem is that the elevator goes to the ninth floor and you have to walk three floors up the staris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jack from quebec

Our first trip to Mazatlan ,after leaving the -30

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Great buffet breakfast
We spent three nights at this hotel prior to a condo at tiera sands , it is a very nice old hotel, beautifully maintained with a wonderful pool on the top and fantastic views of the city, the breakfast buffet was really great, the only complaint we had was that it was difficult to get a good nights sleep due to the noise outside and the elevator was noisy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved it; would stay again

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The staff were all very accommodating, breakfast was either buffet or a la carte and included in price of room.
Location: Walking was great, across the road from 15 km seaside walk as well as great streets and restaurants in restored buildings of Historic area.
Great hotel in old Mazatlan. Very well priced, handy to all amenities. Part of the National Heritage Site, this hotel has an excellent bar and swimming area on the roof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Victoria BC Canada

Great breakfast and staff

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Full buffet breakfast was very nice. Location cannot be surpassed, close to central market, square, beach and malecon view for lots of people-watching. The rooftop bar and pool are gorgeous. The room could have been less cramped if one of the beds were removed, but it was clean with lots of hot water and a lovely ocean view balcony. I really liked this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Someone from Denver

THIS HOTEL SUITED US

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: The hotel provides a splendid cooked breakfast from 7 a.m. till noon. This includes Mexican breakfast dishes as well as our kind of breakfast dishes
Cons: It is an old hotel and the fittings are old fashioned but that was no problem to me.
We spent four nights in a very pleasant room on the 8th floor overlooking the length of the Olhas Altas beach. We were in the old part of Mazatlan and a two minute walk brought us to the old town with its art galleries, gift shops restaurants and bars. At the top of the hotel is a very nice bar and above that a small swimming pool surrounded by a pleasant deck with views of the ocean, the distant Gold coast and the old town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com