Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Overall experience was pleasant and relaxing. Staff welcoming upon entering the property- felt like home away from home. Live band was a good addition to the 'ambiance':-).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GreensEggs&Sam from Winterpeg, MB

You get precisely what you pay for!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Not too massive unlike some of the hotels you pass on the bus.
Cons: It needs a bit more than a lick of paint. And fair warning that an influx of locals is coming so that we can prepare to be ignored for 1.5 days.
Location: The hotel is about an hour from the airport. Visit Ocho Rios and Dunn's River Falls.
This was a last minute booking because I was hoping prices at other resorts would go down (they didn't. Meh). What they don't tell you in big enough letters on here is that you need to arrange a taxi with the hotel - call the hotel and tell them what time you are arriving. When you do land, you'll need to go the Tourwise desk (#12). Anyway, back to the hotel.This was a pleasant hotel, a bit dark in some areas but I'm sure there was a reason for that. Check in was super fast but we were over 2.5 hours in getting from the airport to the resort. The room was nice, with a super view of the pool. Very quiet that end. All the entertainment takes place around the Coconut Bar where they have a dedicated building. Another thing you need to note, when they say they're on Jamaica time, they aren't kidding! Breakfast is 7.30ish til 10am, the Grill near the bar opens eventually (usually when you ask when it's opening), Lunch is 12ish, Dinner is 7ish. Previous reviews have mentioned that the food is repetitive and it is but you get what you pay for! If you go here expecting 5 star for 2 star pricing, you are clearly not taking the right medicines! It was very quiet for the first couple of days with only 4 or 5 couples but that wasn't bad, we like it quiet. Bit disappointed that the entertainment staff during the day weren't pushy enough, great at night though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from FL

Excellent Staff, Great Personal Beach

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The staff and entertainment.
Cons: The rooms could use a little renovation.
Location: There were several things to do nearby and the staff had great recommendations.
The staff is EXCELLENT. They definitely make sure you are having a great time.The entertainment was fun, as well. The hotel rooms and facilities could use a facelift, though. Other than that, it was a great place for a short vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from Bethlehem, PA

Happy overall based on the price

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: I like the live shows they had at night and the staff was great. I like the beach views and relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: They did not have much as far as entertainment goes during the day. Its best to go outside the hotel for that.
Location: The location was nice, right of the private beach and overlooking the sea. Its best to go outside the hotel for any entertainment.
Stayed at this hotel and my wife and I had a great time. The price was much cheaper than other places so were not expecting a grand hotel. However, it was nice. The staff to us top class. They made our stay feel as if I should be paying more. The rooms were ok, the grounds nice as well. Look, it was'nt the MGM grand, it was just nice quiet place. Food was outstanding. The alcohol; well I cant remember, but that was great too. That all I can say. You ask for a drink, you will get a drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from London

Excellent hotel everything in proximity

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I enjoyed my time totally. Staff were very friendly and kind. Not to mention the entertainment nights, it totally was the highlight of my trip. The convenience of the beach was next to my room and was ideal for you know what. Will be going back, definitely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014
In side the room was out dated and our bathroom flooded which made it difficult to use.
1 out of 5
by Shannon from Raleigh

Not what we expected

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The staff was, for the most part, very good (although there were a few bad apples that seemed miserable every day).
Cons: Food, recreation, conditions, marketing...pretty much everything.
We knew it was a lower budget place, but we were not expecting it to be that rough. The food was horrible...overcooked and dry...and often seemed like it was reheated leftovers. There was about 12 guests on the resort total, so nothing was really going on...activities didn't really take place, etc. The grill opened a couple hours late each day and the pool bar never opened...so if you were in the pool and wanted a drink, you have to get out and go to the other side of the resort. A few staff members were wonderful...Lisa at the omelette station, Richard and Phillip the bartenders were funny, and sunshine and one other EC (can't remember his name) did their best given the situation. Shane from the grill also offered and cooked us a cook to order dinner of steamed fish and veggies one night that was to die for. The resort itself is in need of serious overhaul. The beach was very small and the overall layout was not great. The rooms were run down as were the outdoor chairs and equipment.
2 out of 5
by Gabby from New York

Much to be desired

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Everything
Location: Runaway Bay, St Ann
Stayed at this hotel weekend trip after reading a few bad reviews. I thought, how bad could it be? It is only the weekend trip. It was Baaaadddd. The hotel is dire need of upgrading. They could start with a fresh coat of paint and brighter lighting. OK...., so the hotel is not the most attractive, I was sure the food would be good considering how the place looked. It was the worst hotel food I have ever eaten. Even the coffee was bad. This is a small hotel!!!! The food is suppose to be excellent. How could they miss that concept? We ended up purchasing our meals from outside restaurants even though this was an all inclusive stay. Upgrades are needed in all aspects of the facility. The mattress and pillows were uncomfortable. The television had only 5 stations available for viewing. I should have opted to stay at pricer hotel. This was a total loss, no sleep and awful food. Who would have guessed? Oh yeah, on a positive note, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A nightmare run from new jersey

Dirty filthy nasty wort experience of my life

Posted May 3, 2014
The room was dirty the beach was nasty the food the worst food I ever eat it was disgusting never again the only good thing was their drink $540 was a waste half a star and I get bite in the bed by bee I had to go to the hospital April 31!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Jamaica

Hotel close to golf course

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Location ideal for my visit
Cons: Room and general state of maintenance needs serious refurbishment. Cracked walls were evident in corridors. Some of beach equipment looked old & tired
Location: Just 5 minutes from Runaway Bay golf course.
Room was comfortable. Food was quite nice. Noise from adjacent property was a problem into the early hours of the morning (it was Easter weekend :-)) Staff were helpful and friend and tried to keep guests content.