Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Convenient location

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Good value, staff were lovely. Room was comfortable and the location is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shotts

Fabulous staff

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Is already being worked on so not worth mentioning.
Location: Country, quiet, good dog walking within seconds of leaving the hotel.
The hotel is currently a little tired but is starting to be refurbished....watch this space. What amazing staff-delightful! Excellent value for money even prior to refurbish.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Not what we were expecting at all.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: There was nothing to do near by. The hotel had the only restaurant and bar and there was one village shop. There wasn't even a cash machine.
We were looking forward to our trip after reading the reviews. But upon arriving there was no-one on reception to book us in and the hotel parking facilities were poor. I was on holiday with my daughter and disabled husband. My daughter and I were left to struggle up the stairs with our suitcases. Once in the room we found that there were no radiators, only heaters in the bedroom and no heating at all in the en-suite. The TV was the size of a tablet and did not have a remote. We couldn't connect to the wifi anywhere in the hotel. Previous comments noted that the food at the hotel was great so we were looking forward to dinner. We were seated in the dining room at a dirty table. My daughter and I chose the soup and my husband ordered venison. When the soup arrived it was bright green with little bits of packet ham cut up in it and my husband couldn't cut through the venison it was so tough. After waiting over half an hr for someone to check on us we told them we couldn't eat the food to which the waitress said that she had questioned it when she had given it to us! We went back to our room to find a huge bug crawling across our bed, I went to reception and told them I would not be staying the second night. After a very long night we got up in the morning to get ready to check out to find that the shower did not work and there was no hot water so we couldn't have a wash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pauleenfrom Falkirk

Greatvwee get away break

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a good night we had to check out early but not because of hotel conditions because we couldnt fault the hotel it was lovely and stafff very friendly would highly recommend and will defo be back thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A little tired.....

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed overnight in a family room. Room looked in need of a make-over as did the bathroom. Room was clean though. The staff were really friendly and only too pleased to help if needed. We had dinner there also, which I enjoyed, but my wife and daughter we unimpressed with their choice of dinner (Butternut and Parmesan Risotto). We all though that pudding rice was used instead of risotto. Shame that the overall appearance of the hotel gave the impression of being tired and unloved. I think this hotel has great potential and the staff were really good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Åsafrom Stora Höga

Bra hotellför en natt.

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Anlände sent och for direkt efter frukost.Ok rum, rent. Mkt trevlig personal vid frukosten, bra utbud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Janellefrom County Durham

Country Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely Victorian hotel in country location central for lots of sports and sightseeing. Staff friendly and smashing cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JRJfrom SC

Good Ryder Cup Location

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient to Ryder Cup Park & Ride. Good food. Room was suitable for an older hotel. Nice to have dinner available at this location. Very small village location, but very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Håkanfrom Sweden

Kul och härligt Hotell

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Vi gillade detta hotellet. Det var lite knasigt på ett sätt men gav en sådan känsla som vi sökte på vår resa. Huset är ju galet skönt. Personalen gillades. När vi kom sent dit hade de fixat mackor åt oss. Inte de bästa mackorna men det var ialf snällt av dem. Vi satt sedan någon timma i baren och drack god whisky och öl. Käkade våra mackor och fyllde på med nötter. Kockens hund som sprang omkring där kom å hälsade på oss och höll oss sällskap en stund. Det var ett fint, lite spartanskt rum, men med härlig känsla och frukosten dagen efter var väl helt ok. Vi trivdes helt enkelt och är ni i området tycker jag mycket väl att ni kan besöka detta hotellet för en natt eller två. Vi stannade en natt innan vi fortsatte vår resa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dalefrom Canada

Definitely worth the price

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading a lot of reviews about Glenfarg we weren't too sure what to expect, but we were looking for something cheap for one of our last nights in Scotland. It is a bit 'run down' but it's an old building and I think of it as just character. Someone in the reviews complained about the 'weeds' on the outside wall.... I think some Americans don't know what ivy is and it only adds character to the building. :-P Overall, it was very comfortable and the staff are nice. It has a restaurant and the bar seems like the local bar for the town and the food was good. I just don't recommend the breakfast. We ordered the continental breakfast, but it was only cereal (maybe because we ate later). So, we asked to get a cooked breakfast instead and it was by far the worst one of our trip. Just buy something at a local bakery.Finally, the only other odd thing was the fully carpeted bathroom with no fan, but I think they might be taking care of that soon. It's certainly worth the price in my opinion.