Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location is the best attribute

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: staff can be more gracious and attentive. They just do their job. No joy in it.
Location: Attractions are all walking distance. Great amount of restaurants nearby.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. Breakfast is ok, not wow, but ok. Did not have the evening meal, so cannot comment on that; but I have to say it is convenient. Free WiFi is a plus :) We booked two rooms and stayed for 4 nights, both rooms had a parking lot view and our window happened to be over a dumpster. Not the best. Tried to move, unfortunately they were not very accommodating. Would not come back to the same hotel if visiting again. Would not recommend it either. There is plenty of hotels. Can imagine there are better choices in such a touristic city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Can't beat location - right in heart of city yet quiet. Hotel staff very helpful as travel guides
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Location is great. This hotel is within walking distance of almost everything Bryggen and Bergen have to offer. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

One night before boarding a cruise

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location and dinner included.
Cons: Housekeeping!
Location: Harbourside - really great location.
The hotel is well located and an easy walk to where Viking Ocean Cruises depart. Our room was tiny, no air conditioning, and the housekeeping below par. The real plus was that they include a light dinner for all guests and given costs in Norway this is a real bonus!
5 out of 5
by Scott

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous food wonderful people and perfect location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with character and afternoon waffles!

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, interesting history, stylish decor, plentiful food.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel is next to the historic Bryggen area. The Hanseatic Museum is nearby, and the Fisheries Museum is a 20 min walk or bus ride away.
This is a lovely hotel with character - make sure you go up or down the staircase at the back of the building and look at all the old pictures of the ships. The receptionist was very friendly and told us about the tower at the top of the hotel - you can get a key from reception and go up on your own. It's a fantastic view over the harbour. The room was very comfortable. There was tea and coffee available downstairs, and afternoon waffles (make your own) and a buffet dinner, even though we had only booked B&B. This was excellent value given how expensive eating out is in Norway.
5 out of 5
by TONI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Everything you need

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Friendly welcoming staff throughout the hotel. Great breakfast to set you up for the day. Great location for exploring Bergen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Best value for money in all of Norway

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The hotel was amazing from start to finish. Especially the fact we got free breakfast, waffles and dinner (which is a blessing in an expensive country!) The staff were incredibly friendly, they recommended lots of places. Even giving us good advice on places to eat out for a special evening etc. At breakfast the chef was always smiling, one day he even gave everyone a yogurt dessert he made that morning. The beds were comfortable. Our view wasn't too great as it looked out onto a bunch of offices but then again we chose the cheapest room, and apart from the view it was pretty much perfect. The shower was nice and hot and the tv was enormous and HD! Overall an amazing stay and I cant thank the whole staff enough for making us feel so at home.
5 out of 5
by Dibble

Highly recommend

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing staff in perfect location. We booked there for the night we returned from a cruise since our flight home was the next day. They kindly stored our bags the day we arrived in Bergen since we couldn't embark for several hours. The airport shuttle bus stops 1/2 a block from hotel. The hotel provides afternoon snack, full dinner and breakfast included in price! All delicious. Very nice sauna and steam rooms which we enjoyed after dinner. We then went up in the tower for a 360 degree view of Bergen. Room was comfortable and quiet.