Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from north carolina

convient hotel for my stay

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Cons: breakfast
very disappointed in "breakfast" the write up on the hotel said breakfast included. a few granola bars and some fruit is NOT breakfast. not even a continental type breakfast. that was a morning snack
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
John, thank you for your review. It's nice to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that our location was perfect for your needs. However, we are sorry the breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We will make note of your feedback as we plan any changes to our breakfast offerings. We're pleased you chose our hotel for your visit to our area, and we hope you will stay with us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton

Another pleasant stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Good stay. Breakfast is always crowded with other travelers disregarding those in line. Staff consistently deals with problems and remains courteous when challenged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
John, thank you for returning to the Extended Stay America. It’s nice to know you enjoyed your time with us and were impressed with our helpful associates. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Room was perfect for my needs with adequate free internet. Clean, efficeint and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America and for your kind review. We are glad to read your well-appointed room and the facilities we offer met all of your expectations for a great stay. Thanks once more for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd policies

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Service
No housekeeping if you do stay less than a week. Breakfast: what I would expect camping in the woods.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to evaluate your stay. We are happy you liked our location, but we are sorry that you were unhappy with our hotel policies. We hope the positive aspects of your visit will encourage you to choose us again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south florida

Allergies

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Since this hotel is dog friendly, I unfortunately had allergies and had to check out after first nights stay. However staff was very accommodating. Let me find another hotel and move my stuff out and refunded the rest of the week. Kitchen was very small (2 burners and one was rusted and burned). Didn't expect to cook.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to our pet-friendly feature. On a positive note, we are pleased you liked our courteous associates. We appreciate you being our guest. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
No customer service around at front desk no one to check us out no one around
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We certainly apologize for the issues you encountered which led to a disappointing stay as it is never our intention to lose focus on providing you with the hospitality you deserve. We will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team and will use it as a training tool to improve our performance. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another opportunity to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice surprise.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
After being evacuated from Florida the staff made extra accommodations for some folks that we elderly and always asked if they could help. Tom was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you loved the service provided by our courteous associates, especially by Tom and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here. Your compliments will be shared. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your return visit soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Musty smell throughout-sink leaked and had to wait for it to be fixed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for the service and cleanliness issues you encountered during your visit. We have room inspection processes in place, and we are working with our Head of Housekeeping to see where we dropped the ball. It's our goal to provide an excellent customer experience and we hope you will give us another opportunity to prove this to you on your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Descent

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Big enough room. The bathroon smelled like cigarettes. The carpet smelled musty. I bought lysol, no biggie
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you liked the spaciousness of your room, but I am sorry for the cleanliness issues you encountered. I have shared your feedback with my housekeeping team to be more diligent in their service delivery. We hope to have another opportunity in the future so that we can make this up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Shore, NY

Nice Place

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: did not like the cheap shower head in my room, made it very hard to shower. another toaster would help, since the one you have takes forever.
Location: We enjoyed all the restaurants in beautiful landscape in the area. shops and antique stores.
It was a good experience and the family had a good time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Angela, thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America. We are glad to know you liked our courteous associates and were impressed with the convenience of our location. We appreciate your observation and have made a note of the same. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager