Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox, BC

Mountain Getaway

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location in mountain with beautiful views.
Cons: Somewhat expensive, but I guess everything is expensive in this region.
Location: N/A
Needed 2 nights to stay for an event in Canmore. Excellent views on all sides, clean and comfortable lodging. Did not use much of the facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Beautiful setting.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The cabin was very clean and well appointed. We enjoyed the fireplace and deck. The location was beautiful.
Cons: A deck umbrella for shade. Information re housekeeping. Repairs to walkways and entry stoops. Some flowers for colour.
Location: Close to all activities in the area, summer and winter, but removed from the busyness.
We were visiting family so this was a good location for us, between Lac des Arcs and Canmore. After busy days, we enjoyed the quiet and beautiful views at the resort. We did not use the pool and other lodge facilities, but could see that they were very popular with families.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Hi Judy, Thank you for your review. We love that we are like a hidden gem - close enough to town and other attractions in Banff that it's an easy day trip, yet far enough away that it can be completely quiet in the evenings to feel like you're almost in the middle of nowhere. We have tried deck umbrellas in the past, and due to the strong winds that are constantly coming through our valley, we ended up with a lot of broken umbrellas and broken patio tables. Our location isn't windy all the time, but when it is, it's pretty strong. Not sure when you stayed here, but at the start of summer we actually worked with a local greenhouse and have put many flowers all around the resort - mostly around the lodge. The pop of colour has actually been quite the topic of conversation with owners and guests alike - perhaps you were here before the flowers were delivered. Hopefully next time you're here, you can take advantage of our indoor pool and hot tub. We also have a dry sauna! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Mountain view

Posted Jun 27, 2017
It was good. It is not new, however, comfortable. Enjoyed the view
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Hi Jan, Thank you for your review. It's true, we are not the newest or fanciest hotel in the valley, but we are clean and comfortable. We have a rustic charm that keeps bringing families and guests back every year! Our unobstructed views are some of the best in the area - we are glad you were able to take advantage of the sights up here! We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by Gary

Old ski lodge

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Units are in need of some repair. Beds are clean but not comfortable. These are old cabins formally used as a ski resort and they look it. Nice location off a dirt road outside of Canmore. Lots of amenities including a nice indoor pool. No weekly housekeeping. Decks are large and include a lp gas bbq. Be aware that it appears most units have two bedrooms but only one shower. Some have a murphy bed and although in the mud room make a nice addition for extra guests. Nice mountain views.
5 out of 5
by Sara

Cozy and great price resort

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Jets in the tub didn't work but overall experience was wonderful. Enjoyed usage of the barbecue and fireplace.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Great time. Would recommend or go back. Great play room for the kids or adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocky Mountain House

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Great time. Wished the pool was working. Staff was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel surrounded by mountains.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Mountains for me are a way of escaping stress Location is awesome. Very quiet place. Enjoyed my staying!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Robbi, Hotel Management
Hi Florina, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Banff Gate Mountain Resort. We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels