Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Dated and tired

Posted Sep 15, 2016
It started with the $15 per day 'resort fee' charged at chech in. Laughable, considering the amenities. The chalet was peppered with notes advising not to use the upstairs bathtub (leaking), or to use the fireplace for more than 1 hour every 3 hours (chimney problems). Maintenance is obviously an issue. Then there were the services, or more accurately the lack of services. No maid service unless you pay extra. The smallest, thinnest towels I have ever seen. At check out you are required to strip the beds and place all linens and towels in the bath tub, or expect to be charged a 'cleaning fee'. The numerous rules are just designed to give an excuse for extra charges. A rip-off from start to finish.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Huge cabins. Comfortable for 6 people. Nice pool. Amenities in common areas could be better (e.g. small gym, not much to do...)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice get away location.

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Location: East 15 minutes of closest town-Canmore. Banff is another 15 minutes west of that. Location isn't centrally located, but price was worth it.
Cabin's were clean and roomy - loved the quiet location. Interiors are showing some age and need to be refreshed- all things worked though. Nice views from most cabins. Coin operated washer/dryer on site, but not in cabin (this wasn't clear in the description).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Nice Mountain Escape

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: The coziness of the chalet and the location.
Cons: Mow the grass around the chalets.
Location: Situated right in the mountains in Dead Man's Flats just east of Canmore. Golf,Hiking, X Country skiing, caving, rafting.
We stayed here 3 days mid week and enjoyed our time there. The chalets are roomy and cozy with amazing views of the surrounding mountain. Main bedroom was comfy and a good bed. We used the kitchen and BBq'd every night. Would love to come and stay here again just because the location and views are excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Great location, spacious cabins and looking forward to another stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

A little 'ole gem

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Close to the forest - like 50 feet :) Great hiking trails and walks right at the end of the drive. - Take Bear Spray :)
Cons: keyed entry to all units - too much emphasis on "lost keys" and the cost of replacement. Maybe start replacing the locks on all units with "smartkey"
Location: Lots of walks and trails. Not much to do in Dead Man's Flats - 6 kms on up to Canmore - shopping, walking, eats - all you need and no Park Fees.
Just off the beaten track - a little 'ole gem. this was a fall visit and consequently most amenities were either under maintenance or closed off (pool, etc) Not that it was an issue for us, but booking on Expedia - NO mention of "No Pets" so be careful pet lovers before completing the booking. Most of the units are a little older and maybe approaching an upgrade time, but considering this is a 'rustic' getaway it was still a very quiet and enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton, ab

Great cabins!

Posted Jan 30, 2015
For less than the cost of renting a basic hotel room in Banff, we rented a 2 bed 2 bath cabin with fully stocked kitchen. The ad states that it sleeps 6 people but our cabin had an extra murphy bed which made our cabin sleep 8 people! Makes for a cheap stay with all of your friends! I will definitely be going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good getaway place

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The chalet feel, the gas fireplace
Cons: maybe update decor, better signage from dead man's flat's turn off
Location: cross-country skiing, down-hill skiing
The hotel is a little hard to find, and not really near anything, but as we had rented it for a birthday party weekend that didn't matter to us. There was plenty of room, the view from the balcony was great, and the front desk staff were helpful when we requested a late check out (for a fee). We appreciated the privacy of the chalet house and the fact that we could be a bit louder. Yes the rooms are a bit dated, but we didn't mind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 山形

別荘ライフ!!

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: 快適な別荘ライフを味わえるホテルでした。チョット観光には中途半端な場所にあり、分かりにくいですが、レンタカーでの旅行には、とても良いかと?
Cons: リビングの明かりが、チョット暗すぎると感じました。朝8時に、チェックアウトしようとしましたら、フロントがチェックアウトの時のしまっていて、デポジットとして預けたお金、チェックアウトの時返金との事でしたが、返金してもらえませんでした。どうすればよいのでしょうか?
Location: キャンベルメド―のトレッキング。サルファー山ゴンドラ。 ヨーホ―国立公園周辺。
チョットバンフからは遠く、名前にバンフリゾートと付いているので、間違えやすいホテルです。 場所が分かりにくく、レンタカーのナビにも住所が入らず、こまりました。 たまたまお聞きした方が、知っていて、地図を書いて下さり、無事見つける事が出来ました。 本当に運が良かった!!という感じです。 チェックインの時、デポジットを預けなくてはいけなくて、チェックアウトの時に、返金との事でしたが、 朝8時にチェックアウトしようとした所、フロントが締まっていて、返金してもらえませんでした。 レンタカーの返車、飛行機の時間等があり、待っている事も出来なかったので、仕方なく、お部屋にキーを置いて帰ってきました。反金はどうなるのでしょうか? お部屋は、コテージ形式で、キッチン付、ゆっくり出来、他人を気にせず過ごせ、最高でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kincardine, Ontario

Fit our Needs

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The views of the mountains were spectacular! Pricing was reasonable and location to the quaint village of Canmore was convenient.
Cons: Landscaping could use some attention. The gardens have so much potential. It would be nice to see the pond active with bubbling water of some sort.
Location: Not too far from the Calgary airport. Canmore has many activities. Banff National Park is a comfortable drive, with many other points of interest.
We quite enjoyed our stay at Banff Gate Resort, Dead Man's Flats. The chalets were indeed rustic. I would call them charming.