Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice amenities

Posted May 13, 2017
Very nice location. We enjoyed our stay. The warm cookies at checkin were wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attractive and Roomy Suite

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Overall good. Had to remind staff to replace room coffee and glasses. One elevator out of commission one evening caused minor inconvenience. Biggest complaint: inconsistent strange and very loud noise coming after flushing toilet. Loud enough to startle and could wake partner if happpened at night. Front desk very helpful and always pleasant. Odd that lobby coffee not available-sure Starbucks is right there, but doesn't accept the SB gift cards. Also no HBO. For the quality of the hotel, it should be available. I was there for several days and wanted to relax and see some favorite shows. Again, minor things. Hilton beds are the best for comfort! Overall very good.
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

Very nice but not perfect.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
The Strathallan is an upscale hotel. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Scheduling the hotel shuttle was easy and the restaurant has great food. However, I was put in a handicapped room and I am not handicapped and the hotel was not at full capacity. It seems I was put in a handicapped room because I booked through hotels.com. This was a problem because the shower had no boundary for shower splash under the curtain. The floor is always covered with water when you get out of the shower, the mat gets soaked. Not very safe. I had left over food from a dinner and I wanted to have it for breakfast the next morning. For some reason the refrigerator cold setting was set to the lowest temperature, my food was frozen in the morning. It ruined my breakfast and I had to go out again for a meal with not much time in my schedule before getting to my workshop.
2 out of 5
by Christina

Normally a 10 but this time barely a 5.

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We were on the second floor, directly above the restaurant. Starting at about 5 am it sounded and felt (yes, the bed and walls shook), like there was construction going on below us. All of this happened several hours happened after a police presence and fight right outside the front door. I have stayed there before so I was very disappointed this time. Comfort wise they are awesome, food and drink wise they are delectable, however I will never accept a 2nd floor front of the hotel room again due to the noise and result of a lack of sleep it caused. We also requested conjoined rooms via the reservation and when I called to confirm the reservation. Upon arrival, no such room was available to us.
5 out of 5
by cole

Great place too stay

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are beautiful and very cozy. Whole hotels is nicely remodeled
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Wind storm 2017

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived st the hotel after having confirmed our reservation through hotels.com. There were NO empty rooms and a call to hotels.com was not helpful. Thousands in our area were without power and all area hotels were at full capacity. The team on the front desk that night were very helpful - they found an apartment down the street to put us in, secured us a room for the next day at a reduced rate and we were checked in early the following day. Excellent service in every area of the hotel, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff! Thank you!
4 out of 5
by Nicholas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by vernon

Nice stay in a classic hotel.

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The Stathallan is a Rochester classic hotel. We were warmly greeted with a smile and warm chocolate chip cookies. The rooms was clean and comfortable.The restaurant was okay. I didn't get to use the fitness facilities - the gym was basic, I'm a swimmer so the pool length was very short for me to get n adequate work out. Alas we did not have time to use the spa as well. It was a good meeting point for my wife and I to meet our daughter and her husband. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, avoid room above hotel laundry.

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice, extremely clean and in a great location in the Rochester area. The hotel restaurant/bar and upstairs bar are great. The only negative feedback that I have is that our room (suite) (#223) was apparently right above the hotel laundromat. There was a constant noise below us that sounded like a commercial style dryer and ran all night and all morning. So loud that I actually felt the wall vibrate. I would absolutely recommend this hotel but stay aware from room #223.