Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

No car no stay. Money grabbing

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building and grounds The staff did move us without question but room not worth 300 euros a night!!!!
Cons: 1. The advert stated near Florence but the road up to the hotel so narrow could not walk down and the taxi 15 Euro. 2. Room had a squeaky heater and wires pulled out of the phone. Breakfast an extra 20 euros each which wasn't even good; no fresh coffee just a flask placed there at 7.30. You had to make your own fresh orange juice. 40 euros each morning!!!!!!
Location: Good views but impossible to walk from
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Florence

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: view, view, view
Cons: None
We stayed two night in this hotel. The hotel is an old castle converted to hotel sitting on a hill over the city center. The view is mesmerizing and the hotel is basically a semi museum with the friendliest staff I have ever seen. Our room was on the second floor with the view of the city on one side, and pool on the other. Breakfast was served on the balcony with another breathtaking view of Florence. Don't believe them when they say it is a 10 min walk to the city, it is more like 30 min but who cares the walk is in the old streets are part of the fun anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK Essex

Very Disappointing

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, Buildings history, gardens, views, peace & quiet.
Cons: All the rooms facilities, provide a few more services, tea/coffee etc. Drinks in the room in a working fridge etc. All now standared in hotels.
Location: Nothing near by, the building speaks for its self. The location and the gardens, the historic site & the haunted room 8.
First of all the staff were fantastic. They waited for us on our Extremly late flight!!! They served us a cold plater on arrival as we had to cancle dinner due to the late flight!! However!!. The first room was rooom 7. This was on 2 floors. Had a fab view and? Curtains dated did not fit. Let in so much light we could not sleep. No fridge working, no tea or coffe making. Memory foam beds are a norm in Italy but myself and other half have a reaction to the foam. It was over rated as a room shabby sheek & so green!! So we moved to room 8! Better room almost (neighbours tried to get through the ajoining door which we were told to keep locked. ). The bath/room was ok for a very small person or a child. ( Oh by the way No showere or wet rooms in either except over the bath taps). The bed was much better but! memorry foam, plugs were over my head under my pilllow so I had to remove them for the lamp . It had a piano the room (different)? Great views but! No tea/coffee etc. No fridge working. A lovely bowle of fresh fruite was waiting & botttle of warm water. It was all clean and I say it again the staff are all 5 Star! Its a wounderful historic building, fab views best ever of Florance. All be it up the top of a very winding hill which could pass as the M25 traffic wise on a bad day (take care driving) . The pool was fab, gardens amazing. No resturanunt food id brough from below to order at another resturaunt. Nothing much to do up there but rest and relax with nature. wifi fab!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Our 25th Wedding Aniv

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: More furnishing
Location: Excellent location. Nothing to do near by . . . and that is the wonderful thing about it.
This place is number one. We will be comparing other places we stay with Torre di for the rest of our lives. We are world travelers for many, many years. We plan a return trip to Florence next year (for a month) and not only plan to stay with these folks, but also to entertain friends who will be staying in the area. It is an understatement to say that it is a “step-back-in-time”. It is so unique an experience that your dreams are even different while staying here. I don’t require much sleep and was often awake in the early hours of the morning. One of my most enjoyable memories was to stroll the grounds, with a glass of house wine, at 3:00 in the morning. To see the city below and the rolling hills is better than anything that can be man created. You must put this on your list to enjoy before you use all your time up with lesser adventures. Kind personal regards to all, Bruce, exq
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Step back in time

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Only a short drive to Florence but were away from it all with beautiful views over Florence.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Quiet country retreat away from the bustle of Florence steeped in history quiet unique
Only spent one night there as we had picked up a car and wanted to be out of Florence for ease of parking. I loved the hotel it was so old and the gardens were lovely and the views over Florence spectacular. Our rooms were clean and grand in size. Being so old it did not have the advantages of modern hotel the bathroom was small but the water pressure was good which surprised me. My husband didn't like it as much he prefers the comforts of a modern hotel, although he liked the garden and view. Overall we both enjoyed our short stay our only criticism was the breakfast was very basic and ordinary . It was a wonderful experience but one my husband was pleased to have enjoyed for only one night while I could have happily stayed longer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful place

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Grand, fabulous architecture, superb location within Florence, exquisite politeness from staff.
Cons: A map of Florence upon arrival. Better breakfast. Staff knew we walked to and from the city x 6 but only we were told about the short cut as we left.
With amazing views, superb gardens and an extraordinarily stunning property, this is where your money is being spent. The breakfasts are not good value, the bacon is far too salty and the scrambled eggs are like rubber. Just add some milk! There should be a chef on site to cook in the evening as the meal we had ordered in for us in was rather luke warm and ridiculously expensive. The hotel should provide a map of Florence upon arrival for all guests, especially the ones who decide they are going to walk everywhere and not take the taxi up and down the steep hill. And in this knowledge that we were walking it was rather disappointing to find from the front desk (a different receptionist) as were leaving with our suitcases that there was a short cut to Florence through the gardens. Maybe this calibre of hotel should offer a car shuttle service as well as the previously mentioned kitchen. The garden should be lit at night time in order to make the most of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from London

Ancient torre with best view of Florence

Posted May 23, 2014
A historic building with magnificent ceilings and tasteful antique furnishings. Splendid views over the beautiful garden and Florence itself. Peace apart from the noise of the swifts flying overhead, after the tourist mayhem of the city. it felt as if one was in the country but it was a very doable walk down a steep track into town through the fields and vineyard. Our stay was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy and pricey Fawlty Towers

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Take a taxi into Florence 10€ each way .
Nightmare mis-routing by my GPS meant it took 30 mins to find after a 4 hr drive from Antibes. Not the hotel's fault as such but wholly inadequate info on their website to guide people to the 'easy' route up (via Piana - one of three) which we learnt on the way down in the taxi to town in the morning. Stunning views and absolutely amazing building and gardens. Huge rooms and frescoes and a live parrot in the 20ft high lobby but...... Room was freezing and air heating is centrally controlled from the lobby but very helpful night porter brought a little fan heater which made it ok-ish. Cold water was full of rust for the first 10 mins. Shower only had one temperature (v.hot) as the thermostat was knackered. No internet outside ground floor lobby. TV had about 300 channels - 150 'local' Toscana ones one French none in English (unless you count MTV!). No BBC, CNN, BLOOMBERG, CNBC or any sports channels but porn available if you are into that! Elderly owner clearly cares more for the building than to run a high class modern hotel....revels in the inadequacy of the telecoms. If he did it could be one of the great hotels. At 300€/night it's not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Best in the summer to take advantage of the pool and the views
Cons: Given the remote location it would be nice to have dining facilities
Location: Great view of Florence but not near anything
Had a very pleasant time. Did not spend enough time at the hotel as we should have but the focus was on Florence and its art
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location/building but totally rundown

Posted Aug 19, 2013
A nice villa in a great location on the hills facing Florence with a 5-10 minute taxi ride to mid town. There are a few issues though: * underinvestment - the place is visibly run down and needs a complete overhaul * no restaurants to have dinner or proper lounge or bar to sit down and relax or accept guests * the AC is not enough for the summer heat, no Overall this building has the potential to be a very special hotel but it needs a lot of work and before then I can't recommend it to you - definitely not at the ca. €300 a night rate