Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Old vessel experience

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location and the idea of turning this vessel into a hotel - it is a gorgeous and classic ocean liner
Cons: The rooms need spraying against flies. General maintenance is required for upkeep. WIFI - the signal in my room did not work.
Location: Downtown Rotterdam close to public transportation. A complimentary shuttle is available which is needed as nothing is closeby within walking distance.
The location of the ss Rotterdam is excellent, very close to the heart of the city. Staff goes well out of their way and are top notch, very pleasant and professional. The rooms are disappointing and 2 to 3 star equivalents. Our room was infested with little black flies, was able to knock 6 of them out but not able to get them all. The rooms were nice and spacious which was a very nice bonus.The carpet in the hallways had several " pothole " like areas under the carpet which created a tripping hazard. The Lido back deck had a worn and dirty look to it, can do with some serious maintenance to bring it up to standard. WIFI needs to be improved : this did not work in my room during my entire stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique experience

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Not a fancy hotel but unique being on the water and good value. We had a false fire alarm during the night and were compensated with free drinks and buffet breakfast. Beware, rooms on a cruise ship are small and no view means no windows or port holes so it can feel a little more closed in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great novelty, suitable for all ages.

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Lots of fun and plenty to do. Clean and comfy and makes for an interesting holiday
5 out of 5
by cfb

Fantastic history and service

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
We went as my husband was a merchant mariner many years ago. The service once we got there was very pleasant and the options of things to do plenty. They do have a shuttle from the Rijnland tram station if you call them, and the 77 bus guides there as well, just not as nice. The way to travel back and forth to the centre is by water taxi. It costs 4.50 Euro per person, per ride but quick and a fun way to travel.
5 out of 5
by Lesley

2 night stay.

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
We love this hotel as we met on-board the ship when it was sailing but Housekeeping lets it down a bit as we always find things no quite right. It would not stop us staying there though. Many memories there.
5 out of 5
by raymond

Classic Stay before Cruise

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Traveled to Rotterdam to take a cruise on Holland America's ship "Rotterdam" what better way than to stay on the old Rotterdam. Took a taxi from the main train station, didn't want to deal with subway or bus with the luggage for the cruise. Check in good, room ready, nice old fashioned cruise ship, classic decor. Took their shuttle to the metro & back. Hotel is in a "Nowhere" land. Dinner at their restuarant was very good, but a bit costly. Breakfast was extra, not bad but not great. There is a comp shuttle service to the cruise ships on day of departure. Overall a good stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing liner

Posted Jul 31, 2017
A fantastic hotel. Gorgeous original interior. Takes you right back to the age of ocean liners at the dawn of the jet age. Take the tour it is essential. Great rooms great staff. Water taxis to and from ship are super fun.
3 out of 5
by Jan-Olav

Oceanliner with ambience, w. extra fee if you see.

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The ship is very well maintained and has great ocean-liner ambience. The room was big, clean and comfortable. On arrival day, we wanted to walk around the hotelship but a seriously rough (as in rude) lady told us that even as hotel-guests, you could ONLY stay in your room or go ashore. I checked with the reception later in the afternoon, and she stated that hotel guests can only visit three of the ship-decks for free, otherwise they will have to pay an additional fee for a ships-tour. Took the tour the following day, and the engine room guide saved the entire stay with his very polite and pleasant attitude!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK stay, but probably not worth it at all.

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Since it is not a very big ship, the hotel operator will restrict access to certain areas, such as theatre, conference room. They will want you to join their tour (> 12 Euros again) in order to have access which we found it very mean spirit! Considering we are already paying hotel guest (stay for 2 nights!), they still want more money! In addition, a parking fee of 15 Euros per day for the parking area which is in the middle of nowhere anyway. Overall experience for us was only so so. So if you are a keen ship enthusiast, be prepare to fork out more money!
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Disappointing

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Was looking forward to staying on an old steam liner but was dissapointed, there was only the outside bar open in the afternoon which had children running round and splashing people who where sat any where near the paddling pool, I would have expected a bar where adults only could have sat and had a quite drink very expensive as well 12€ for 2 Lagers & 40€ each for a meal in the normal restaurant, breakfast was not very good either and having to form one long queue to get toast, bread and then the buffet There were people constantly going round the ship on tours again there should have been a residents only area. Room was clean and comfortable just a shame the air conditioning was useless so was quite stuffy and no windows could be opened. Best part was the ride on the water taxi that took us to the center where we had a beautiful meal at Humphreys Needless to say won't be going back