Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Great location, rustic accommodations, kids didn't have cell service, yeah, wifi in room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset uk

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: fantastic in the middle of a forest by the Appallacian trail.
best bit about this hotel was the location. There was a super dining room and lounge with guitarist. Nice food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet, natural beauty

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Orbitz
surrounded by peaceful quiet and natural beauty. This is the extent of my review. It should be enough for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chesterfield, va

Our adventure to BIG MEADOW LODGE

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Beautiful mountains, leaves amazing. Skyland restaurant is amazing, turkey dinner so yummy and trout dinner wonderful.
The main lodge is quite beautiful, the mountains, hills around lodge are breath taking, we had deer right outside our door. I DO NOT THINK ROOM HAS EVER BEEN CLEANED, cob webs every where, THAT IS IF YOU COULS SEE THEM. Two lamps and one overhead light, with 20 WATT BULBS, maybe 10 watt, I am not kidding, we moved the dresser lamp over to join the night stand lamp so I could read my bible before going to sleep. Even with two lamps together still not enough light, we gave up and went to bed. We were given the smallest room they had (this is not there fault, they said you guys dealt with that) NO TV, which we did not know. Really nothing, no hair dryer, NONE OF THE amenities advertised. Waited 35 minutes in restaurant before anyone came to take our order of offer coffee. Breakfast food okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A step back in time

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
The lodge is very nice, but the rooms are so old. It is like going back in time. There are no tvs, wifi or ac. I would never stay there in hot weather. If you like retro, this is the place for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA, US

Not disabled friendly as promised

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Mountain views were great on the overlooks but colors were a bit dissappointing. There is little else I can say.
I told them I was disabled and being disabled I ask for a room in the Main Lodge. When I got there I was put in an outlying building with NO disabled appropriate access or accommodations as promised. The room, especially the bathroom was dirty & mattress was uncomfortable. Food was terrible and overpriced. The heater struggled to keep the room barely warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk VA

Big Meadows lodge

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Great place to stay as a "home base" as you explore the beauty of Shenandoah National Park
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Fabulous experience

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything
Location: Beautiful location for hiking, wildlife, nature, and learning about life in the park.
If your traveling the Skyline Drive you must stay here. The main lodge had wonderful views over the mountain, rocking chairs and a great big fireplace. The dining room was excellent and all very tastefully decorated and our rooms, although basic, were in character for the park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very dirty. Poor lighting.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: We had rain, but really enjoyed our hike on the Hawksbill Summit Trail, as well as our walk down to Dark Hollow Falls.
This is a lovely location along the Skyline Drive. We had a traditional room, which, though small, had everything we needed and a comfortable bed. We were disappointed that the room was very dirty - the baseboards in particular were covered with old grunge and cobwebs. The overhead light was so poor that we had difficulty seeing inside at night. The restaurant was fine and we enjoyed the Taproom downstairs for good pizza a drinks. A few staff members made us feel welcome (especially our waiters in the restaurant and taproom), but the main desk and restaurant hostess seemed pretty uninterested. Overall a good, safe, convenient place to stay, but disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Walt, Hotel Management
Hello Wendy Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us at Big Meadows Lodge. I do agree with you that some of our rooms are dark, and need new lighting. I apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered, I can understand why your stay with us was disappointing. We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the park hiking trails. I appreciate your thoughts and comments. Safe travels and hope to see you again on your next visit.