Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Self Help

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: train hotel staff for plumbing or other maintenance emergencies - at least a number to call.
Location: giant Superman statue in town square a few mile away.
Came in on Friday evening. Used bathroom - toilet clogged, "it" would not go down and looked about ready to overflow. Called the desk clerk - she had no idea what to do. My wife suggested a plunger - she brought us one for US to use.
3 out of 5
by LADONNA from Clinton, IL

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Only had one problem and they fixed it as soon as I told them about it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
I was told I was getting a free upgrade but the room was simply horrible. There is a stale, mildrew-like smoking type smell throughout the areas I venture i.e. room, hallway, breakfast area and even when you walk thru the front door. I knew this was going to be a problem but the registration was nonrefundable. NEVER AGAIN!
4 out of 5
by robert from McKee ky

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Was great pool room was a little hot but cooled off at night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
This must be one of the last hotels in America that allows smoking and it definitely shows. The entire place reeks of stale cigarette smoke including the rooms. The beds and rooms smell so bad that it can give non smokers a headache. Additionally the Wifi doesn't work at all and everything is pretty rough looking. Give this place a miss.
4 out of 5
by James from Indianapolis

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Room was as expected. Pool was really cold and but the hot tub was great. Not really much to do other than the casino but our stay was for bowfishing so we never made it there. There is a Superman museum and a massive statue in town though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Severe Lack of Attention to Details

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff was friendly and helpful; however hotel felt old and dingy. Town is small and older and most buildings felt this way so this wasn't a huge issue. However, the entire hotel was overpowered in a harsh cleaner scent mixed with an overpowering smell of chlorine (from the pool) that gave multiple family members a headache. Room had a HUGE bathtub, but it was poorly cleaned with other people's hair still on sides of tub and bathroom floor. Shower enclosure in the bathroom was so tiny that it was almost unusable for my hubby and impossible for access to wash children. No view from our room except the roof of the pool enclosure. Sheets were put on king sized bed inside out and the pull out did not have sheets, we had to request them and then walk down to main desk and put them on bed ourselves. Wifi was unreliable with inconsistent connection and slow service. After seeing room, we decided that we did not want to trust cleanliness of complementary breakfast and so we went out to eat.
2 out of 5
by nanette from So Brunswick

Not impressed at all-use the Holiday Inn Express

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
Booked non smoking rooms...the rooms(2) we were given had definitely been smoked in recently and indeed had ash trays on the desk and night stand- they even made us sign that we would not smoke in the rooms or face an extra charge...last day Sunday rooms were not made up nor towels refreshed even though we had departed for the day at 09:30. The Breakfast was a Puritan Continental Breakfast...nothing special. Hall was musty and dank.
3 out of 5
by James from Joliet, Illinois

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Like some others, we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the facility and room. We will stay there again if and when the occasion arises. The mattresses were pretty worn out. They were soft and lumpy. Nevertheless, the price was right and the value was good.
4 out of 5
by Suzanne from O'Fallon, IL

Super 8 Metropolis

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment. I guess I was expecting more than pre-packaged danish, toaster waffles, and toast. The 'orange juice' tasted like Tang. The hair dryer in our room did not work.