Ratings based on 919 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

A hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2016
A quite good hotel in downtown. My room has a partial ocean view. It has a beautiful court yard. The room is neat, clean, but the bath tub is quite old. It provides a continental breakfast, which is included in the room fee. It is a pet friendly hotel, my dog likes it. However $35/night fee for a dog is high.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful area

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Breakfast lame... Room needs upgraded.. Beautiful area. Safe and clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

A long steep road to the beach - need car

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Yes as above - needs new carpet. Bed and the small room/closet needs an uplift.
Location: Close enough to walk to shops but getting too far away from the beach - road very steep - you need a car - too far to walk due to the steep road.
Staff were great but you needed a car to stay here - the walk down a very steep hill to the beach and back up was foot breaking. Carpet made you feel dirty in the room and the bed for the third adult was like a closet. Staff were excellent and very very helpful. New carpet would make a huge difference to the feeling of the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was awesome but that's about it

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Very close to Ocean and all the shops and restaurants in Carmel. For almost $300 a night the conditions of the room were horrible. The shutters on the windows were broken. The carpet, bedding, lamps, and other décor were completely outdated, old, and stained. The bathroom sink was completely coming apart from the wall. The caulking was old and peeling.. the sink literally moved. The shampoo and conditioner came in packages similar to those you receive free in small gift bags. The towels were thin and there wasn't much parking. We were in town for a race and expected a lot more charm from a hotel in downtown Carmel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Not so nice

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Check in staff was great. Room was ok, I would say a 2 star. Continental breakfast included cold cereal, oatmeal, or a waffel. The lady that tended the breakfast seemed like she was so afraid of being wasteful she would put out 2 cups of OJ but 10 people wanted it. If you asked for more she would get it but most people assumed they were out. I sat by the serving table and saw lots of disappointed people. I believe she was the owner and she was not friends dly at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary Canada

Carmel

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Hotel is definitely tired and breakfast was pretty poor. Was okay for one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca.

Dated but doable...

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location...
Cons: Update the rooms. They were terribly dated...
Location: All the restaurants, shops and beach were walking distance. Don't go to "Barmel" unless you're a frat, bro type of person...
Claiming that there was an "ocean view" was a stretch. Still, the room was slightly less than I would normally like to stay in when vacationing in a high end place like Carmel. The furniture, paint, carpet and bathroom were all dated- maybe mid to late 80s. On the plus side, it was walking distance to pretty much everywhere we wanted to go to in Carmel, and it was on the cheaper side considering the holiday weekend and last minute reservation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OH

Old and nice

Posted May 30, 2016
From the furniture and facilities, one can tell that this hotel is relative old. Yet if you just want to stay for a night or so, and don't want to pay for a PRICEY rate, this is a good choice. The front desk is friendly. It takes a few minutes to walk to the beach, yet not too far, and I enjoyed walking along the main street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel needs some basic upkeep

Posted May 29, 2016
New carpet, paint, and new furniture would go along way I improving the property.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish that the hotel staff was more inviting

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Quite and pleasant to look at from the outside
Cons: Already stated
Windows do not lock. TV's too small. Fixtures and carpet look a century old. Breakfast was week and should be much more friendly!