Ratings based on 1,016 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel needs repairs and updatind

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Love the courtyard
Cons: Updating doors to provide better noise control. Office needs to open earlier
Location: Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.
Tv remote didn't work. Rooms are noisy. Nice location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Good location, so-so hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Good location, walkable to downtown shops and restaurants. Relatively secluded street, residential feel. But hotel is older, peeling paint, uneven steps, one window in our bathroom is stuck midway. No kleenex in the room, not enough lighting; one bulb was burned and replaced later than we'd like; one outlet for were the night lamp should be (actually, just a shelf) was dead. Staff friendly enough, but just getting new lightbulb took a couple of phone calls. Cheap included breakfast, short breakfast hours (8-9:30). For a $200 room you are not getting a lot, but because it's Carmel I guess it could be worse.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Seniors - a Dump!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town
Cons: Need to advertise that some rooms require climbing numerous steps. Clean the fireplace glass. Buy proper size bedspreads for beds. Upgrade furniture
Location: Nice location near restaurants and shops.
Had to climb 30 stairs to our room. No "bell boy". Parking lot insufficient for size of hotel. Had to park on street. Much deferred maintenance. Fireplace had glass front that was so dirty you couldn't see the fire. Bed spread was for smaller bed and looked fine when entering room, but barely came over other side of bed - just and idea of how things were done. No Kleenex in bathroom, although a container was on the shelf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to beach, restaurants

Posted Mar 5, 2017
We appreciated the recommendations from hotel staff for places to have a drink and eat dinner. Hogs Breath and Flaherty's. Excellent food and service. Great view on beach of sunset before dinner!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Rooms in need of renovation

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The grounds look terrific and the lobby gives a great first impression. Proximity to downtown Carmel-By-The-Sea is great.
Cons: They should commit to spending some money and upgrade the rooms. They charge far too much to not be renovating the rooms regularly.
Location: Northeast part of Carmel-By-The-Sea, about 3 blocks from Ocean Avenue. It's a bit far from the beach, we wound up driving there.
The location was really good, the grounds were well-kept and charming, the lobby area seemed newly renovated with great choices, and the clerk was friendly and knowledgeable. So I was really feeling pretty good about it - and then we walked into the room. Maybe Room 11 is the only room like this, but it was shockingly outdated. The light fixtures, furniture, bed headboard, and artwork looked unchanged since maybe the late 1970s. The paint job on the walls was more recent but was clearly done quickly and without a lot of care. Chair upholstery, carpeting, and bedspreads were brown and hideous. The dilapidated fireplace was hooked up to a thermostat that we found out later didn't work; there was a space heater nearby. Bathroom tub had some alarming rust spots in it and the bathroom door had strange gouges at the base. I called the clerk to see if another room was available (which is something I NEVER do) but they were full up. She was apologetic but I'm pretty sure she's used to giving that speech. I have to say that the room itself was clean, the cleaning crew knows what they're doing. My complaint has more to do with the lack of a maintenance crew.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Belies charming, high-end Carmel location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Sell it, gut it and bring it up to Carmel standards.
Tired dumpy rooms and sparse essentials (soap,towelols etc.) made us feel like we were in a flop house located in the middle of a town known for classsy, romantic digs. For instance, the advertised "fireplace" was inoperable and filthy. Peeling paint in the moldy bathroom was the last straw.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The room had an "old, worn down" feeling. There was hair on the sheets and on the wall of the bathroom, all of the fixtures in the bathroom were rusted, there were scuffs in the paint on every wall and ceiling, the quilt on the bed was threadbare, and there were holes in the sheets and bed skirt. The walls were so thin that the couple arguing from 2am to 4am on our second night sounded like they were in the room with us. Truly an awful stay, and for my money, not worth ever coming back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Need a good facelift!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Door did not lock, windows did not open, sidewalk to the parking got flooded. Toilet did not flash the last day. Shutters were broken. Needs a lot of repairs. Location and breakfast are good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from up state California

Okay hotel, close to shops, restaurants.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location. Outside space. Staff was pleasant.
Cons: In room coffee and Kleenex. Nicer bedding and towels. Fresh paint. Cleaner carpet. How safe is the electrical wiring?
Location: Excellent!
The hotel is okay for sleeping and washing up, but not pleasant for relaxing. This could be a very nice hotel if they did some major remodeling. Breakfast was all carbs...no fruit, no protein.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon coast

Great place!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to everything!
Location: Close to town and to the beach!
Great location! Nice staff! Will stay here again. Rooms are comfortable.