Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC

Clean, spacious, comfortable

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Cons: No exercise room
Hotel was convenient and located close to the highway. There was an excellent restaurant nearby and a convenience store. Quiet and spacious facility. Could use a workout room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from asheville nc

Recently updated

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel was fine, not great. It has been updated with new carpet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again!

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Upon check in, they didn't have my paid in full reservation. They took my information and gave me a room. Said room didn't have a phone or a lamp on the desk, the smoke detector was hanging from wires out of the ceiling. I found dead bugs in my bathroom, the iron was missing, and the outlet in the bathroom wouldn't hold my flat iron's plug. :( I had driven all afternoon, had a meeting and just wanted to relax dealing with the front desk..meaning I had to walk up there since there was no phone (did I mention the wifi access was on the key card and not in the book? this was never mentioned to me) There was no Bible in the room anywhere. At check out they were going to charge me for my stay even though I had confirmation of a payment in full.. it took another 25 minutes to call the online reservation site.. so they could call the hotel... so I could stand there until it was all finished, glad I wasn't on a tight schedule that day! Even with the slight renovating they claimed to be doing - there was no call to be in a room like that! I will not stay here ever again, and advise others to drive from Champaign or Decatur if they have anything to do in the Monticello area. N
4 out of 5
by Frank from Texas

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was okay in every regard but nothing outstanding in any regard.
4 out of 5
by GLENN from Northern Illinois

Everyone from Monticello smiles (not my home town)

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very good management. Doors closing are loud so you know when other room guests are leaving in the AM. Very large pool. Easy access to interstate, family restaurant and bar next door, and good fuel & convenience store 150 fee away. Would definitely stay here again. Very large deck and some rooms can walk out from their room to a quiet lake behind the motel.
5 out of 5
by Dixie from Marion

Family visit

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the large pool but the changing rooms need some work. The hotel was quiet and good for us to visit with our family.
5 out of 5
by David from Antioch, IL

The very best Best Western

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
After staying at hundreds of hotels for business and pleasure, this Best Western in Monticello, IL is the best I've stayed at. The service and cleanliness set a new standard I'll compare other hotels to. After a few minutes of meeting the owner, I felt I was visiting her home. She was so concerned about my comfort. I was disappointed to hear how a group of guests visiting on business trashed a room. To me, it would be like a friend visited my home and tore it up and left. When speaking privately with a staff member, she told me how wonderfully the owner treated all guests and all employees, too. It showed. This hotel is 15 miles from where I normally stay but the next time I visit the Champaign/Urbana Illinois area, I'll drive out of my way to stay at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room renovation

Posted Apr 16, 2016
The room was in the process of being renovated. No chairs in the room (had to pull in my own chairs from a stack of chairs at the end of the hallway), holes in the wall from old tv cables, carpet wasn't stapled down, floor boards missing. The room should NOT have been available for guest stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Cons: Breakfast was better than last time but still so -so compared to Hampton
Breakfast was better than last time but still so -so compared to Hampton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay again

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was under renovations..complete mess. Disgusting