Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed some facilities not available

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: nice property and staff in the restaurant were very friendly and nice.
Cons: communication regarding restrictions on use of facility.
Location: seems to be lots of building going on nearby and some congestion in the area. we do recommend the Firecracker Grille in Leesburg, great restaurant!
This was a nice hotel but they failed to tell us that some of the facilities would not be available because of a large group of Jewish customers staying for Passover. The outdoor pool was reserved for them and the indoor pool was closed for male and female swim for certain times which happened to coincide with the time we brought the children down to swim. Also, all meals were kosher. We are fine with religious accommodations but felt we should have been informed before hand, especially because the resort charges a $32/night resort fee specifically for use of resort facilities. We were traveling to meet family with children looking forward to swimming and pool was closed for an hour the afternoon we got there for male swim and the next morning before we left for female swim. Again, would have been fine but you pay a $32/night resort fee here. I mentioned it to front desk but they didn't seem to care.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Lots of Potential, Almost a great stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Beautiful and clean resort. Complementary champagne offered at check in.
Cons: Clearer communication and more comfortable beds.
Location: Right on the Potomac River, near the Leesburg outlets and lots of restaurants.
My husband and I were finally able to get a night away with no kids and had been wanting to go to Lansdowne for several years. The facilities are beautiful, the food was good, and the staff was friendly. We booked a room through Expedia and I called the Spa to book a couples massage. I was quoted a price for the massage, but at the spa, after the service was told that the price I was given was per person and not for the whole couple in the "couples massage". I had never seen it charged this way and this doubled what I had expected to pay. The per person fee was equivalent to any other spa's couples fee so I was shocked! This meant no dinner out, but that was ok. The beds were very uncomfortable though and we woke up the next morning feeling like we needed massages! At check out I paid cash and was not told that the hotel had already charged by credit card for the massages and the room tax. This left me out several hundred dollars for several days while they work to correct it. So, clearer communication and new beds would make this a nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017
I had a great night there staff were lovely I would go back again .. very clean ! Very classy
4 out of 5
by Janesia

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice weekend getaway. The room could have been a little more clean - the bathtub mat and the bathroom sink were dirty.
4 out of 5
by binod

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous place, but the service was not up to par

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: It is seemingly the perfect vacation spot and the views are spectacular.
This was a huge disappointment and it all because of poorly trained staff and a lack of oversight. Front desk on checkin was great! After that it was all down hill. Went to the Pub for a drink, was greeted at the door by a hostess that immediately (before even saying hi) told me that only collared shirts were allowed. OK, no problem there! I respect that they have a dress code but as i looked in I saw a table of 4 or 5 guys, three of them in hoodies. They were the only ones in the place. While my shirt did not have a standard collar, I was dressed in very appropriate business casual. I asked her: Hoodie’s count as acceptable but this (pointing to my shirt) isn’t? She responded that they had collared shirts on under their hoodies. I just shock my head. Inside, after accepting a loaner pull-over collared shirt from her and now looking stupid the waitress came over after about 10 minutes. I asked if she had a cocktail menu and she responded with “ the wine and beers are listed here”. I said thank you, but I don’t want wine or beer do you have a cocktail menu? To which she responded - “beer and wine are cocktails”. We then left. Later at dinner, again hardly anyone in the Piedmont restaurant, our waiter was clueless about the how the special fish was prepared and couldn’t answer basic questions, he was slow and generally unattentive. There was more, but it’s pointless. Maybe the excuse is that it’s the “off season” - my credit card didn’t notice that. I would not go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Amazing resort and beautiful rooms. The staff was very friendly and the resort has a lot of amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dc

The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friend

Posted Jan 26, 2017
We had a nice time in the snow and played many games with the chrildren. My whole family came for the inauguration and we had a chance to see donald trump up close and petsonal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pleasant stay in spacious facility

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Room size and condition
Cons: For the off season, get rid of Resort fee and build it into the room rate.
Location: Within comfortable driving distance to DC...but a cab would be too expensive. Close to vineyard country to the west.
We enjoyed our spacious room. The environment was friendly and the room was in good condition. The location was great for us as we had a rental car and could tour DC and area. We did not avail of the resort amenities like the Fitness room so the $32 resort fee was a lost cause. I can see where there would be good benefits from it in the spring summer when outside activities like tennis etc. would be available.
4 out of 5
by Jerry S

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stay there because my husband was having surgery at a near by hospital. We picked it because it was close to the hospital. A little expensive for the use of a bed and shower. Didn't use any of amenities