Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

No car no stay. Money grabbing

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building and grounds The staff did move us without question but room not worth 300 euros a night!!!!
Cons: 1. The advert stated near Florence but the road up to the hotel so narrow could not walk down and the taxi 15 Euro. 2. Room had a squeaky heater and wires pulled out of the phone. Breakfast an extra 20 euros each which wasn't even good; no fresh coffee just a flask placed there at 7.30. You had to make your own fresh orange juice. 40 euros each morning!!!!!!
Location: Good views but impossible to walk from
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by thomas from Denmark

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great and very kind staff. Only minus is: Very poor internet No fitness Tiny TV in the room
5 out of 5
by Scott from Atlanta, GA

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is a fabulous place to stay. A step back in time. Huge rooms, high ceilings, fresco paintings on the walls...just amazing. The grounds and views are over the top. Looking out at Florence from above is something we will never forget. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oasis in the hills above Florence

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel. An oasis five minutes away from the centre by taxi. 13th century villa with beautiful frescos and furnishings. You can walk through the surrounding grounds (which includes an orchard, vineyard, vegetables and animals including three donkeys) down the hill to Florence. The staff were very courteous and made us feel very welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Florence

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: view, view, view
Cons: None
We stayed two night in this hotel. The hotel is an old castle converted to hotel sitting on a hill over the city center. The view is mesmerizing and the hotel is basically a semi museum with the friendliest staff I have ever seen. Our room was on the second floor with the view of the city on one side, and pool on the other. Breakfast was served on the balcony with another breathtaking view of Florence. Don't believe them when they say it is a 10 min walk to the city, it is more like 30 min but who cares the walk is in the old streets are part of the fun anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK Essex

Very Disappointing

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, Buildings history, gardens, views, peace & quiet.
Cons: All the rooms facilities, provide a few more services, tea/coffee etc. Drinks in the room in a working fridge etc. All now standared in hotels.
Location: Nothing near by, the building speaks for its self. The location and the gardens, the historic site & the haunted room 8.
First of all the staff were fantastic. They waited for us on our Extremly late flight!!! They served us a cold plater on arrival as we had to cancle dinner due to the late flight!! However!!. The first room was rooom 7. This was on 2 floors. Had a fab view and? Curtains dated did not fit. Let in so much light we could not sleep. No fridge working, no tea or coffe making. Memory foam beds are a norm in Italy but myself and other half have a reaction to the foam. It was over rated as a room shabby sheek & so green!! So we moved to room 8! Better room almost (neighbours tried to get through the ajoining door which we were told to keep locked. ). The bath/room was ok for a very small person or a child. ( Oh by the way No showere or wet rooms in either except over the bath taps). The bed was much better but! memorry foam, plugs were over my head under my pilllow so I had to remove them for the lamp . It had a piano the room (different)? Great views but! No tea/coffee etc. No fridge working. A lovely bowle of fresh fruite was waiting & botttle of warm water. It was all clean and I say it again the staff are all 5 Star! Its a wounderful historic building, fab views best ever of Florance. All be it up the top of a very winding hill which could pass as the M25 traffic wise on a bad day (take care driving) . The pool was fab, gardens amazing. No resturanunt food id brough from below to order at another resturaunt. Nothing much to do up there but rest and relax with nature. wifi fab!!
5 out of 5
by KERR from Edinburgh

A room and pool with a view.

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
Magnificent historic building with the most spectacular location overlooking Florence. Beautiful gardens and swimming pool. Delightful covered area for breakfast. We had a fantastic room (9) overlooking Florence and to the south. It was with great difficulty that we dragged ourselves away after 2 nights. Hotel doesn't have a chef and dinner is brought in. Would be wonderful if it had a good resident chef.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Our 25th Wedding Aniv

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: More furnishing
Location: Excellent location. Nothing to do near by . . . and that is the wonderful thing about it.
This place is number one. We will be comparing other places we stay with Torre di for the rest of our lives. We are world travelers for many, many years. We plan a return trip to Florence next year (for a month) and not only plan to stay with these folks, but also to entertain friends who will be staying in the area. It is an understatement to say that it is a “step-back-in-time”. It is so unique an experience that your dreams are even different while staying here. I don’t require much sleep and was often awake in the early hours of the morning. One of my most enjoyable memories was to stroll the grounds, with a glass of house wine, at 3:00 in the morning. To see the city below and the rolling hills is better than anything that can be man created. You must put this on your list to enjoy before you use all your time up with lesser adventures. Kind personal regards to all, Bruce, exq