Ratings based on 2,926 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Beautiful heritage hotel in a great location.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Beautiful older hotel with old world charm and elegance. Perfect location for walking to points of interest or an easy street car ride. Friendly and helpful staff. Big well appointed rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We wont stay again

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Doormen and housekeepers are hospitable and very nice which is the total opposite ofthe reception desk people. Rude, not welcoming... frontliners should be trained on courtesy and attitude. Overall we will not stay in this hotel anymore
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abilene, TX

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Currently remodeling exterior of hotel. Rooms were nice, great location. Firm beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at The Benson, and will definitely look to stay at this hotel again the next time we're in Portland. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the hotel staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, OR

Great hotel downtown, walking distance

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This was just a little get away from Bend. We love to stay at the Benson, it's in w as liking distance for most everything you need. We didn't know that it was under renovation (front of the hotel) but the room was comfortable & they give you notice when you get there, the times that the building is being worked on. I noticed it's not the only hotel getting an outside face lift.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Great location, great service. Would highly recommend it, and will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Friendly staff and front desk. Beautiful lobby and great rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent vintage style hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The benson staff was very accommodating allowing for early checking and late check out. The hotel lobby is beatifully decorated and over 100 years old. Our room was clean and comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Walla walla

Overpriced, stuffy place with lax housekeeping

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The towel swans?
Cons: Nicer staff, better housekeeping.
Location: Good location downtown
The doorman was rude when I didn't want to spend $40 to valet my car, and then subsequently refused to open the door for me. A room service tray lived on the floor next to my room in the penthouse from when we arrived, to when we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The Lobby and the gym and the location were all great.
Cons: The bathrooms are too small.
Everything about the Benson was nice, the only downside was that the rooms were small, especially the bathroom. Otherwise, the lobby, gym and restaurant were very nice.