Ratings based on 2,432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in the heart of Portland.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Convenient location in downtown Portland.
Beautiful lobby, welcoming staff and spacious rooms for meetings and reception. This was a very pleasant hotel close to shopping and restaurants in the heart of Portland. The rooms are beautifully decorated in classic linens and wood furnishings. Very clean hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel- centrally located

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Rooms are beautiful, and the staff is friendly. Noise travels easy but that is to be expected in an older building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morro Bay, CA

Loved being downtown, so easy to walk or take MAX

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Lighting in the bathroom. Hard to put on makeup in the light.
Our stay was short, but very enjoyable. The food was good. The staff was great. We were going to walk to the Chinese Gardens, but they told it was closed. Saved us from a walk, and directed us to other things we might enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location plus

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Like other Coast Hotels I've stayed in, this was a positive experience. Architecturally interesting building in a perfect location, simple and comfortable room. Only glitch, as small one, was that the room key did not work several times in the elevator. I'll be happy to return when I get a chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Fantastic locations. Convenient to all downtown...quiet area of town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to explore downtown Portland.

Posted Jan 14, 2016
I stay at the Benson most times I travel to Portland because it's such a convenient location: close to the MAX, many areas to explore that are easily walkable to from the hotel, etc. I also have to mention the memory foam beds are perhaps the best hotel beds I've ever slept in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Lobby
Cons: Additional mirror
Location: Close to shopping and restaurants; can walk to theaters.
Great curbside experience, attentive and professional valets. Check-in quick and friendly. The lobby is beautiful and gives the experience of a city hotel; it was decorated for Christmas. The room is well appointed, but dark and a little cramped. The bed is extremely comfortable and the towels thick and soft. My only real complaint is the poor lighting in the bathroom and the fact that there is only one mirror in the bathroom. No full length mirror, or even a second one to use while someone is in the bathroom. All that said, I'd stay again, but it would not be my first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown hotel for Christmas shopping!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Pet friendly, easily accessible parking
Cons: receive a pet care package including a towel.
Location: We went to the Saucebox, Nordstroms, and pioneer center is close.
We love staying at the Benson during the holiday season. They have fantastic decorations, are pet friendly and within walking distance to great dining and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
We stayed 3 nights over Thanksgiving. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Recommend wonderful restaurants and surprised us with an appetizer one evening. Especially loved Kathryn who served us breakfast every day. As we walked into the dining area she greeted us and had our tea and latte ready . She is quite a positive staff member, The Benson is fortunate to have her.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Vintage charm, friendly staff, comfortable.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable bed, wine tasting, friendly staff.
Cons: better lighting in the bathroom
Location: Pearl District. Close to shopping, restaurants and night clubs -
We came into Portland to see my cousin and his band and wanted to find a hotel within walking distance of the jazz club. Came across the Benson on Expedia and although it was a busy weekend, we were able to acquire a room. We were pleasantly surprised. We began our stay with wine tasting in the lobby - which was exactly what we needed following the drive from Seattle. The bed was very comfortable and we slept like rocks! Although the bathroom was a little small, the shower was great and did the trick. Would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back!