Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel close to beach and downtown

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a girls' weekend trip & we very much enjoyed our stay in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, IL

Location Location Location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great location. Older hotel but didn't spend much time in room. Stayed for the location and for that the price was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Pricey but close to everything

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Because it is close to everything it is expensive. Would love to see them update the rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Adequate hotel, excellent location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The rooms and bathrooms could use updating.
Location: Location is in the heart of the downtown area and just a block away from Lake Michigan!
This hotel was substandard. The rooms and bathrooms could certainly use a renovation. Our room was directly above the lounge which was playing really loud music. We went to the front desk around 10:30 to voice our concern regarding the loud music and they offered us a different room, which we moved to, on a different floor. The staff is wonderful!! The location is perfect, right in the center of the downtown area. Lots of restaurants and shops. Not to mention it is just a block away from Lake MIchigan. We saw a beautiful sunset the night we were there. So yes I would recommend the hotel, but know that the accommodations are substandard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charleston, IL

nice hotel, close to beach

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: location, location, location! There is also a good fitness room, good pool with sauna and whirlpool.
Location: Beside the beach, restaurants in St. Joseph (I like Schu's) and in South Haven and Saugatuck to the north. For wine enthusiasts there is much around!
I stayed two nights, enjoyed convenient location in the center of town, easy access to Silver Beach and to southwest Michigan beaches and attractions to the north.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing and frustrating

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Looks tired and dated. Microfiber pillows did not have pillowcases. Old window treatment would not close completely. Shower was not clean.
Cons: A lot. Service is nonexistent.
Location: St. Joseph is fabulous. Very beautiful beach and lovely little town. The sunsets are perfection.
We tried to notify the front desk on our cell phones to tell them that our room phone and wifi were not working. We were told maintenance would be coming you our room to fix the room phone. No one ever showed up. We called them twice more on our cell phones and we both were put on hold again. When we came back from dinner, we were locked out of our room. My husband went to the front desk to get new keys. We never did get a working room phone or wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Nothing's in the room worked. Coffee maker, toilet, air conditioner, phone, door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yesteryear

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It has convenient parking to downtown and the beach. The staff were friendly and professional I enjoy antiques, and old world charm however I don't appreciate is a leaking shower. The Hotel looked like it was long overdue for a face lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and staff are the selling points

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It's a decent hotel as long as you don't pay too much or have too high of expectations. The Location and friendly staff more than compensate for the slightly dated room decor. Walk to everything from here. It's very useful as a "crash pad" for a beach vacation. Seems many others like to stay in the hotel, and this why they are full of complaints? Bathrooms and beds are clean, half the rooms have a water view, all have balconies. Lighten up folks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

not bad but very over pricec

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Ok. Nice staff, clean but very outdated and way too expensive though it met a need I had that weekend if being close to a certain location. Will not stay there again.