Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Just the helpful staff.
Cons: Need to be more cautious who they rent the rooms too
Location: There's a CVS Starbucks not far from old town San Diego.
The staff were kind and helpful. The room was ok basic just for sleeping bed ok. We had a family from and well the air conditioner was on it did not keep the other room cool plus there was a refrigerator, microwave and coffe maker all stayed on one another. The hotel is located in an area where we saw many homeless people. When I entered to register a women with track marks on her leg was registering this caused me some concern. Well the next morning I saw a man delivering drugs to that woman's friend and then she got in the car parked next to us where a man and a woman who appeared to passed out and looked like they were living in their car I am including a picture of the car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from torrance ca

Family Stay For Sea World

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: It was less than 15 minutes from Sea World. There were no unwelcome guests leering about. It seemed like the area was safe. They did have fridge.
Cons: outlets. Also please put signs on the bathroom door warning of the lighting issue and outlets. Curtains that come down further.
Location: Sea World is about a 10 minute drive directly on the street
I had a difficult time at the hotel with outlets to charge my things. I put it in the outlet by the bed it popped out. I put the the shaver in the outlet in the bathroom, but when I woke up in the morning the shaver had not charged I found an outlet with a jack so I was able to charge 1 other thing. The next morning they told me you have to leave the lights on in the bathroom so the outlets work. No sign ever indicated that. Cold water was luke warm, never turned cold. My sister stayed in the room next to me and had the same problem in her room with outlets. The coffee maker would not work in the same outlet as the fridge. We had to plug it in under the desk. For the price I paid it was not worth the hassle. The curtains do not come down all the way so the light shines through the room which causes less sleep. Their pool is not heated but during the summer it is heated by the sun good enough. I would compare this place to a motel 6. No frills.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Pedro, California

Gross

Posted Aug 6, 2016
When I first arrived and got into my room I thought it was okay. I was in San Diego for a fishing trip and was only going to be in the room from like 7pm until 4am. Just wanted to get a tiny bit of sleep before I had to be at the boat. When I pulled back the blankets to get in bed, the sheets were filthy. It appeared that someone who was very dirty had slept in the bed on that side. The white sheets were full of dirt and hair, as was the pillow. I didn't notice until around 10pm and the office was closed so I just slept on the other side. I picked up lunch for the boat and put it in the fridge when I arrived around 7am. I didn't notice that the fridge was unplugged, so when I woke up all my food including boiled eggs was very warm. There was also a tampon on the floor next to the little desk. It was unused but still strange to see it lying on the floor. If I had to guess, Simone used the room and it was never cleaned after. They just made the bed or??? I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Good deal

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Good for inexpensive stay. Very close to downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Older cool little hotel.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
JR and the staff made the stay very nice. Charming older hotel I found much more interesting than staying in a big box hotel in the same price range. Small, tidy spot near everything. Hotel is on a main street so there can be some road noise. Multiple Wi-Fi secure points, cute pool, has its own style. Super helpful, friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleeping in a box.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
The outside appearance is ok and the location is nice, unfortunately the pleasantness stops there. The clerk inside was not pleasant or personable and borderline rude, I can deal with that but the room was tiny. When I walked into the room I was greeted by knats and flies because the window was left open although there was no screen. I closed the window and turned on the ac but the room became stuffy immediately. Overall the experience was bad avoid at all costs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Hotel viejo y feo.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Es un hotel muy viejo con un mantenimiento a penas suficiente para seguir operando. No tiene cómo resguardar valores dentro de la habitación. El personal que atiende sí es amable, pero la experiencia en general es mala. No vale el precio por lo que ofrece.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Old but decent hotel close to the airport

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The bathrooms were clean.
Cons: Housekeeping should have oversight so bed linens are not missed
Location: The location was right on the street so very noisy. I have no idea what was nearby because I never left the room.
I was actually quite impressed with the cleanliness of the room UNTIL I turned back the bed and found hair and crumbs in the sheets. I called front desk and was informed housekeeping had just left. So they brought me sheets so I could change the bed myself. :( They credited me $20 for my troubles. It's right off the street so very noisy. And very close to the airport so plane traffic is noticeable until after midnight then starts back up at 6:30am. Not the hotel's fault. Overall an OK place to stay if you are in a pinch to get to the airport early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Only if you are desparte

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The hotel staff were not friendly or helpful and looked stressed out even though there were hardly people checking in. The housekeepers were nice. The rooms and bathroom are very small. There was no control for the AC and if you are short, good luck adjusting the temperature because the AC is set up close to the ceiling. It's VERY noisy due to being close on the street and the airport. The plugs in the bathroom do not work. If you are on a budget, I don't recommend staying more than 1 night. Cleanliness was ok, but the rugs looked dirty. There is only 1 washer and 1 dryer. I would not go back or recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Would not come back. Dirty, small, uncomfortable, shady area. Parking was small and through out the night you could hear people hanging out around the cars.