Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Nice, modern hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: newly renovated, cozy rooms, easy parking, fridge and microwave were nice touches, good selection of TV size and channel selection
Cons: stained towels, few other signs of room not being fully clean, thin walls, chair for desk, noisy air conditioner
Location: Nice, safe neighborhood that is walkable with several restaurants; not too far from downtown
Pros: newly renovated, cozy rooms, interesting light fixture, fridge and microwave were nice touches, good selection of TV channels on a good size TV, friendly staff, windows on front and back walls Cons: black smudges on several white towels, a few body hairs in shower (ew!), and a few on the bed, there was a fly in the room, very thin walls (I heard every detail of my neighbors' "intimate connection," including their ongoing dialogue), no chair for desk in room, noisy air conditioner (though not noisy enough to drown out couple's sexcapades next door), curtains didn't overlap or close completely on back window
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, room is basic and small

Posted Sep 20, 2016
The room was very small and not updated. It was perfect for what I needed it for so I can't complain. Price was reasonable. I would book again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not go never

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Terrible, plz do not go never ever. No no no no no .................
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modernes kleines Hotel unweit des Zentrums

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Das Hotel ist neu renoviert, modern eingerichtet ; die Hotelcrew ist sehr nett ! und hilfsbereit ; Zimmer sehr sauber . Man hat es ca. 5 - 10 Minuten zum Zentrum..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Will stay here again!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
I ALMOST cancelled this room based on some of the reviews I read. My fiancé talked me out of it and I am glad he did. The hotel (motel) was perfect. It is a small property and the rooms are also small BUT I don't don't travel to San Diego to stay in a big hotel room...I travel to San Diego to enjoy the city, beach, water, atmosphere. Everything was clean and put together. The young man that checked us in on Friday afternoon (just before 3:00pm) was very professional and kind. The property is close enough to the water and to Gaslamp! We will NO DOUBT be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Perfect for A Night

Posted Sep 8, 2016
My fiancé and I ended up needing a room in Point Loma last minute and he found Hotel Aqua Mar. It was a good price and looked nice from the pictures plus it was in a convenient location. The man who helped us check in at night was very friendly and professional. It's obviously an old motel that's been revamped but they did it really beautifully, the rooms are sparse but have exactly what you need for a nights stay. It's located down the street from The Pearl for great cocktails and food at night and right across the street is Better Buzz which was perfection in the morning! The only negative was as its on a busy street it's a bit loud but that's to be expected.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern, simplistic

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cons: Office is sometimes closed with a phone number to contact. Really, there are still people without phones so a backup method would be nice.
Location: Better Buzz coffee house! I still have the disposable cup on my desk.
Exactly as advertised. Wifi is excellent. Room looked the same as in the pictures. Coffee house across the street is a must stop. This is man coffee at it's best! Don't forget to bring your own device, no phone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES

Cozy little trendy hotel.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: For the price it's a steal because it's very well kept.
Location: It's near the airport in a very nice neighborhood, it's very close to Liberty Station where a lot of shops and restaurants are located.
The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and well made and the interior of the room and bathroom are interesting (it was clean clean clean, there is soap and shampoo on the shower wall which was a welcomed detail.), sort of trendy modern design. The A/C unit is on the small side and took a bit to cool but nothing major, it worked like a charm the whole night, not too noisy (just a bit but not too much). There's a TV with a cable box and a lot of channels. I asked for an Iron and a board and they accommodated without a problem, the staff is very helpful. It's a small hotel with a few rooms but there is plenty of parking for all of them and because it is on a corner lot it helps a lot with maneuvering when it's full. They ask for a $50 USD deposit for incidentals so there's that to know.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern style hotel.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Everything was really nice in my room. The floor, bed, bathtub were all very nice with a neat sink & dispensers in the shower for shampoo/conditioner
Cons: Had two rooms & one room had a fridge/microwave, the other did not. This wasn't a big deal since we shared the rooms, but its an odd inconsistency.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to the San Diego harbor. Very close to the airport (can't hear air traffice tho!) and has coffee/food nearby.
I was a little unsure about staying here, but the price was reasonable so I thought I'd give it a shot. It's an extremely small building in a fairly busy part of town, but I was pleasantly surprised with how much space was in the room and how quiet the room was at night. The windows are very easy to open and block a lot of sound from the traffic and I never noticed any throughout my stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The only problem that i had was the parking , i had to parked on the street