Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Posted Jan 30, 2016
It's a beautiful hotel on a beautiful beach. The staff was friendly, the hot tub was hot and there is a lot to see and do
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel close to the beach and shopping.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Cons: The morning Continental breakfast is very basic and minimally stocked. One day they ran out of bagels and bacon.
Quite literally across the street from the beach and within 2 blocks walking of most shopping. No end to quaint local shops and food offerings. You can park your car at the hotel and never have to move it. The rooms are nice. Clean and updated. Large TV and robes are a nice touch. Avoid rooms near the elevator and stairs, quite loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time express your opinions and write a review. We appreciate your business and we will look into the breakfast and it will be fully stocked the next time you come and see us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View of Sunset!

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect...just across the street from the beach and close to shopping and dining, as well.
Cons: The in room coffee set-up seemed out of date
Location: Location was perfect if you are a beach lover!
I wanted to take a friend of mine from out pf state to a nice place with an ocean view, Got what I wanted!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joyce from Fairfield, CA

Carlsbad Charmer!!

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent! Across the street from the beach and walking distance to shopping and resturants. Hotel employees were friendly and helpful! Continental breakfast! Also resturants on site. Charming south of the border environment!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mitchell from Phelan

Not so happy in the neighborhood

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
We use to love coming to this Hotel because the staff was friendly, it was quite & the area was nice, not so much this time.! We paid for breakfast in our room price, it was suppose to be ready by 6 am, when we left at 6:30 it still wasn't ready, shame on you guys.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Constant construction

Posted Nov 8, 2015
No notice upon booking, the majority of the rooms were actively under construction. Starting at 7 AM each day workers were banging on walls and making all kinds of voice in hallways. Staff could care less and just said we should rate them online. Don't come here for rest and relaxation. The only good thing is that the beach is across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2015
My husband and I had theater tickets to see "The Weir" at the New Village Arts Theater. We decided to spend the weekend in Carlsbad. The Tamarack Beach Resort was a wonderful relaxing place and its location made wandering around Carlsbad easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Terrific location, very nice hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is next to the beach and within walking distance of a lot of shops and restaurants. No need to drive around the immediate area.
The Tamarack Beach Resort Hotel is excellent. I plan to return to Carlsbad next year, and will stay there again. The location is terrific, next to the beach and within walking distance of lots of shops and good restaurants. The rooms are large, far more spacious than the average hotel - and I had only a standard room, no upgrade. The rooms are very comfortable. The hotel has a classic design, and is very attractive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, right across the street from the beach

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is a little dated and in need of some upgrading, but overall it was clean and generally well maintained. The location is fantastic, just cross the street and you're on the beach! The restaurant in the hotel was nice. Only downside of the hotel was that the walls were a bit thin. Could easily here the people next door. Thankfully, no one was up partying late in the hotel. A decent value.