Ratings based on 465 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Love everything about it...

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!!! The pool was great!
Cons: Parking was a bit difficult with a bigger vehicle!
Location: Right across from the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The Tamarack Beach Resort is right across the street from the beach and aound the corner from downtown Carlsbad. Restaurants, shops all in walking distance. Our room was very clean and more spacious than expected, with a nice view to watch the sunset. The pool area is inviting and offers a nice sitting area. My family loved the whirlpools.There's also a rec room with pool and table tennis and a small gym. The only disappointment was the breakfast with a very limited selection. But you can get fresh coffee all day long. Overall I would recommend this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Below average hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Where do I start. Everything!
Location: Good location with plenty close to do
The inside rooms nearer to the pool atrium are extremely noisy. We were woke up too many times to count. All the room doors slam when closed. That's baffling because they have a closer unit mounted on them but they are set to slam the doors. You can hear every word around the pool and walk ways in your room . We were woke up at 6:45 again the last morning with housekeeping dumping garbage cans. I called the front desk and the receptionist was very rude and offered no help at all. I finally had to hang up to stop the her abuse. Breakfast was a joke. They were supposed to have waffles but you had to find the attendant to have them made somewhere else. Not worth the trouble because they were terrible. The other breakfast items were very limited.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange

Lovely hotel across from beach.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful. They were friendly, professional and personable.I wish we
Cons: I wish we could have stayed longer.
Location: Across from beach. Close to village.
Lovely patio. Comfortable beds. Very clean. Beautiful pool and rec room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2016 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted in knowing that we have met your needs. Hope to see you back again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 12, 2016
excellent ocean view rooms were quite and private.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. We hope to have you back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

went for a wedding that was close by....

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: friendly staff,prompt room replenishment and cleaning service even when I forgot to put out the plaque
Cons: more comfortable mattresses
We had a great time and our stay was pleasant) our room was great!). Everything was within walking distance,there are wonderful places to eat,Pizza Port,excellent! (try the pineapple infused beer,Dini's was good for apps and a wonderful sunset. There are no complaints at all from us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations. Regarding the mattresses they are scheduled to be replaced next year, but We appreciate your feedback. Warm Regards, Monica Garcia Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay minutes from the beach

Posted Oct 2, 2016
This hotel had everything we needed and it was chosen for its sea views. We had a ground floor room with open views across the sea and I'm sure the view got better the higher you got. We had a huge balcony but didn't really use it. The room was spacious and had all usual amenities plus a clothes drying line over the bath, something we hadn't seen in our 5 weeks of travel in the US. This hotel supplied pool/ beach towels too and plenty of them. We loved this place and area so much we decided to stay 2 more days but this hotel was full over the weekend. Beach walks were uninterrupted and a short walk to many cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St, Louis, MO

Good hotel by Carlsbad beach.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Secure underground parking. Efficient and friendly staff. Convenient location.
Cons: Update the bathroom, at least with non-slip surface in the tub. An attractive shower would be even better. Also, supply a usable desk chair.
Location: Lots to do in the Carlsbad area - the ocean, great restaurants and shopping, short drive to San Diego.
Tamarack Beach Resort (TBR) is a nice hotel directly across the street from Carlsbad Beach. It appears to be in good shape both outside and inside. The pool area receives daily attention and looks inviting, even though we didn't use it. One of the best features is the gated underground parking garage, which has convenient access and eliminates the need to park on the very crowded oceanfront streets. We only had two minor complaints about our room. First, there was no desk chair, so we needed to use one of the two lounge chairs, making it difficult to use my computer. The WiFi was excellent, however. Our other issue was the bathroom. Although it received a good cleaning each day, it was not what we expected at this price, being more like something in the typical Holiday Inn. The previous year we had stayed just down the road at the Beach Terrace Inn for about the same price, but in a room overlooking the beach and having a fabulous bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Relaxing stay cation ✌🏻️

Posted Aug 26, 2016
As a local Oceanside resident, we picked tamarack beach resort for the hotel for my friends bachelorette party. We can walk to the restaurants and bars and they had a perfect sized pool for us to enjoy and kick back. Stayed here many times as a local and wouldn't pick any other hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled that you enjoy your stay and continue to come back .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego,CA

Great beach town and hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: There is a great viewing deck that we discovered as we were about to leave. So next time we come we will spend some time up there.
Cons: Continental breakfast could be better.
Location: There is great walking right outside the door. You can promenade along the ocean,also a lower promenade along a seawall or just walk on the beach.
We spent one night for a quick staycation since we live in San Diego. I chose this hotel because it is directly across the street from a great beach. Paid a little extra for a partial ocean view and it was well worth it. We could sit on our balcony in comfortable chairs and watch the sun set into the Pacific. There is a little street noise during the day but quiets down at night so could leave the sliding door open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Monica, Hotel Management
Beautiful photo. Thank you for the outstanding review. We are so pleased to have met your expectations. Until next warm regards, Monica Garcia Front Desk Supervisor Hotel Sales