Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great value

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, great for kids, location.
Cons: Hotel staff could be a little friendlier. When checking out no one asked how our stay was or how the rooms were.
Location: Plenty to do nearby, beautiful beaches, a lot of restaurants, fishing, several state parks with a lot of activities.
Nice hotel for the money, rooms were great, courtyard area was fun and had plenty of activities and space. Good proximity to downtown Venice. Only complaint was that my family and I were roomed near the front next to who I believe were either the ownership or maintenance crews room, and they spent much off the time standing outside of our room which was a little odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago area, IL

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean.They have the bags, bike racks and barbeque. They have chairs outside your room so you can sit and enjoy.
Cons: As this is an older motel the staff work hard at maintaining the courtyard and the rooms and they do an amazing job. We love it just the way it is.
Location: Location is perfect, right on business 41, no problems getting in or out. Beaches are within 30 to 40 min. Shark tooth collecting!
We stayed 3-3 to 3-7-2017. We have some friends in the area, and wanted to be close to them and the beaches, as we have heard the beaches are the best! Our room was comfortable and clean, there were 4 pillows on each bed (someone stated only 2 ) And also as someone said there is no closet door. Not set up to have a closet door! The closet is quiet large as we hung most of our clothes. I used the dresser drawers for other clothes, no problem. Spotless they were! There is a hairdryer, iron and board and a kuerig coffee maker. They clean your room daily and supply the soap, shampoo and towel. There are also a couple of public washer and dryers! This will be our destination motel next year also, but for longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bridgeville, PA

Great location for riding bike trails.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Arrived to find easy access to the Venetian Waterways Trail behind the Inn. Crossing the Circus Bridge led to the Legacy Trail. Great bike rides. Also went from Sam Marco to Harbor Trail to find a great beach and Sharkey's Restaurant. Walked to the the Gold Rush Barbeque for a great meal and had excellent service. Ate breakfast at the Inn's restaurant and had a great breakfast. Very satisfied with our experience because we were able to do all of our outdoor activities. Found the trails on Rails-to-Trails and the inn by acccident.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Would have enjoyed the stay if the TV worked.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location was close to drive to beaches and historic Venice
Cons: Working TV's
Location: Great access to Venice Public Beach and Historic Down Town Venice.
No notice was given ahead of check in time the TVs in the hotel were under "construction" by Comcast and no break in the cost of the room was given due to this. This, unfortunately, was the conversation of many of the guests and how disappointed they were.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Old Venice Flavor...sparkling clean

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We really enjoyed the experience of staying at the Island Sun Inn. The pool area and grill area are bright and welcoming. The rooms are sparkling clean with new linens and furnishings added to original terrazzo floors and tile in baths. Small kitchenette. Best part is the motel breakfast room is a haven for locals. Best breakfast in town with a large outside patio. Great value overall. Excellent friendly service. Will stay there again.....
5 out of 5
by William L

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
bed was very comfortable. pool area is very nice.
3 out of 5
by vallee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Richard

Excellent value for the money. Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
This place lived up to the ratings and expectations despite the low cost. Would like to see them add large towels for the pool area, as well as better soap/shampoo in the hotel room's bath. Otherwise, a great place for the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Old, noisy and uncomfortable

Posted Jan 18, 2017
We only stayed here because of the proximity to the Performing Arts Centre. It's your classic '50s motel with units around a pool and parking at the back door. Good: cheap, clean, no bed bugs, AC and overhead fan, pleasant, helpful staff, heated pool, walking distance to Venice Performing Arts Centre Bad: musty smell, no windows, thin walls, no phone, no breakfast, no pool towels, lumpy beds, weak wifi further from office Here's the image: people sitting just outside their door smoking and watching tv through the open door!
4 out of 5
by James

Great gem next to old Venice shops and restuarants

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The property is old but well maintained. Bathroom still has 1950's pink tile but the sink is updated and modern. The floors are terrazzo but clean and well maintained. 40 inch flat screen with plenty of channels to watch. Initially worried about noisy guest nest door but they eventually clammed down. The fridge was somewhat noisy but we were able to sleep through it.