Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Last resort

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Room 238 heater broke, one burner was functional, water went from hot to cold, bathroom needs maintenance and esthetic repair. Suitable for single, homeless, no where else to go seekers...not worth the price to me. No staff after 7..good luck finding maintenance
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Used and Abused

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Not worth the $75/night I paid, more like half that. It's in transition from Sun Suites to an Inntel but renovations would be so extensive I don't see how it could be cost effective. Dirty carpet, ancient furniture, broken floor tiles, rusty sink, crumbling walkways and overall just beat up. No amenities. It should be leveled and a new one built, not exaggerating. The good things about it are the location is great, the tub drained well, the elevator still works and Breanna at the front desk was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from smyrna, ga

Served it's purpose

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Stayed at the Sun Suites and thought that it served it purpose being that I was passing through town and got a room at the last minute. I only needed a room for the night. It could use some remodeling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ATL

A total fiasco... bunch of idiots

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I regret booking this hotel through Expedia. My flight had a delay and I got into Atlanta by 9pm. Got to the hotel n couldn't check in. I was outside for over an hour and tried to call Expedia for cancellation. The customer service representative put me on call for over 1hr n hung up. Till date I haven't received any calls from her and I lost my money. I just need to delete my Expedia account cos this is the 3rd time they are being unprofessional about things. Regret using them
1 out of 5
by Suzette from UAE

Never made it inside

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
As soon as I arrived I noticed young men hanging around the balcony. I felt a little uncomfortable because it was just my son & I traveling plus the rooms faced the outside. The night was a bust when we got to the door to the lobby and it was closed. At first I thought perhaps the attendant stepped away but when I looked at the sign on the side of the door, the hours of operation are 11-7. By this time it's a little before 10 pm because my flight came in at 8:30 pm. I'm like, WTH!!! Who runs a hotel with those hours? Hotels.com made it right by getting me a room some where else at no charge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from Tampa Bay area

Sun Suites above the Chattahoochee River.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The architecture is cute & apartment-like. It's good they offer amenities such as a microwave,fridge, & stove. So it saves money on eating out.
Cons: My only concern are the dirty spots on the bed sheets & bath towels/cloths. I recommend either changing rooms or bring your own things to use.
Location: The location is convenient & appears safe. Stores and gas stations are minutes away & so is I-285. Downtown Atlanta is only 15-20 minutes away.
I stayed there recently from 8/30 - 9/3/2013. I checked in the first room & checked the bed's cleanliness. I discovered dirt spots under the sheets. So I went back to the front desk, told them what I found, and requested a different room. They had someone standing nearby while I checked the new room's bed to make sure it was to my satisfaction. The front desk called to check and make sure everything was okay. That was good customer service. Overall, my stay was okay and for the great deal I had gotten I couldn't complain too much. The room was clean. The shower was working fine and everything I used was functioning well. The only other concern were the bath cloths and towels. I feel the housekeeping staff could improve on the cleanliness of them. Half of them didn't appear very clean. I recommend bringing your own bed linen & wash cloths / towels just in case. Despite that. I would still recommend Sun Suites of Smyrna-Vinings. It's in a good area and appeared to be in an extremely low-crime ridden part of town; therefore I never felt my safety was in jeopardy or felt ill at ease about parking my car out overnight.
5 out of 5
by Chel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Phil from Marietta,ga

very unaccomodating

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed here for 17 nights while were waiting to close on our new house. It was cheap, but in a good location. When our closing got pushed back 2 days, we tried contacting the front desk to extend our stay. There is never anyone at the front desk. We had to wait 3 days to finally get someone. It just so happens that it was the day we were supposed to check out. Finally got ahold of someone and was told that they no longer rent by the day and checkout is at noon. My wife had 45 minutes to pack up all of our stuff and be out of the room with nowhere to go. Spent more $ on things like toilet paper and a plunger due to nobody ever being at the front desk.