Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Last resort

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Room 238 heater broke, one burner was functional, water went from hot to cold, bathroom needs maintenance and esthetic repair. Suitable for single, homeless, no where else to go seekers...not worth the price to me. No staff after 7..good luck finding maintenance
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Used and Abused

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Not worth the $75/night I paid, more like half that. It's in transition from Sun Suites to an Inntel but renovations would be so extensive I don't see how it could be cost effective. Dirty carpet, ancient furniture, broken floor tiles, rusty sink, crumbling walkways and overall just beat up. No amenities. It should be leveled and a new one built, not exaggerating. The good things about it are the location is great, the tub drained well, the elevator still works and Breanna at the front desk was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from smyrna, ga

Served it's purpose

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Stayed at the Sun Suites and thought that it served it purpose being that I was passing through town and got a room at the last minute. I only needed a room for the night. It could use some remodeling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ATL

A total fiasco... bunch of idiots

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I regret booking this hotel through Expedia. My flight had a delay and I got into Atlanta by 9pm. Got to the hotel n couldn't check in. I was outside for over an hour and tried to call Expedia for cancellation. The customer service representative put me on call for over 1hr n hung up. Till date I haven't received any calls from her and I lost my money. I just need to delete my Expedia account cos this is the 3rd time they are being unprofessional about things. Regret using them
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from Tampa Bay area

Sun Suites above the Chattahoochee River.

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The architecture is cute & apartment-like. It's good they offer amenities such as a microwave,fridge, & stove. So it saves money on eating out.
Cons: My only concern are the dirty spots on the bed sheets & bath towels/cloths. I recommend either changing rooms or bring your own things to use.
Location: The location is convenient & appears safe. Stores and gas stations are minutes away & so is I-285. Downtown Atlanta is only 15-20 minutes away.
I stayed there recently from 8/30 - 9/3/2013. I checked in the first room & checked the bed's cleanliness. I discovered dirt spots under the sheets. So I went back to the front desk, told them what I found, and requested a different room. They had someone standing nearby while I checked the new room's bed to make sure it was to my satisfaction. The front desk called to check and make sure everything was okay. That was good customer service. Overall, my stay was okay and for the great deal I had gotten I couldn't complain too much. The room was clean. The shower was working fine and everything I used was functioning well. The only other concern were the bath cloths and towels. I feel the housekeeping staff could improve on the cleanliness of them. Half of them didn't appear very clean. I recommend bringing your own bed linen & wash cloths / towels just in case. Despite that. I would still recommend Sun Suites of Smyrna-Vinings. It's in a good area and appeared to be in an extremely low-crime ridden part of town; therefore I never felt my safety was in jeopardy or felt ill at ease about parking my car out overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Amelia Island FL

One night stay

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: It is close to the Glock Training facility just up the road
Location: We had breakfast at the IHOP across the highway and it was excellent. The IHOP service was prompt, the food was fresh and portions generous.
The staff was helpful when I asked for an extra set of towels and drinking glasses. No drinking glasses were in the room when I checked in. The room was clean. I did find a crawling bug in the bath room.
2 out of 5
by NRG from Bay Area, CA

Only a bed to sleep

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
They claim they are an extended stay oriented hotel but they have no utensils in the kitchenette, not even glass to drink water. The front desk is open only from 11am to 7pm so if you need to check in after 7pm you are out of luck or if you have any problems there is no one to take your call. The carpet in the room was very dirty and worn out. The room smelled and the bed sheets were dirty. The hotel has no facilities. Housekeeping comes maybe once a week. No shampoo is provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JD from Birmingham,AL

Would recommend!

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Area
Cons: Cleanliness dusting!
Location: Mall, six flags,turner field, and Georgia dome
Very quiet, clean, great hotel for price read reviews before my visit nobody could really complain so tried upon arrival was very happy to see the condition of the hotel and the comfort of the area if someone speaks bad they maybe uppity could have dusted is only flaw I saw! Thanks Expedia / Sun Suites will visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Huntsville, Alabama

Pleasant family, pet friendly place to stay

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: When we walked in, our room smelled and looked very clean. The beds were comfortable and room temperature was easily controlled by us.
Cons: I would have preferred a flat screen TV with a working sleep timer.
Location: A variety of restaurants were in view of the hotel. It was only a few minutes from the Cobb Galleria and shopping.
This facility is a basically no-frills older hotel which appears to have been well maintained over the years. There is Internet in the rooms for convenience and our room also contained a little kitchen complete with stove top, full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, sink, dishes, silverware, cups, glasses and electric coffee pot. The TV was the old school type, but included good programming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Pretty Good for Price

Posted Jul 17, 2013
The outside of the hotel is nice but the inside definitely needs some upgrades! Need more channels in cable lineup.The staff is very friendly! The location is great, making it easy to get right on the freeway and very close to downtown Atlanta. The price point was good so I guess I shouldn't complain. Overall it was a good experience.