Ratings based on 1,249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

requesting a refund

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: nothing see letter
Cons: nothing see letter
Location: nothing see letter.
Elizabeth Morchel Itinerary # 7209294306445 Confirmation 27826410 To Whom It May Concern: 9/20/16 On Saturday September 17, 2016 I stayed at the Howard Johnson Inn Historic Saint Augustine, St. Augustine, Florida. I booked this hotel through Expedia.com using points and paying for the reminding balance. I found this experience to be bad enough to request a refund for my stay. I would like both points (200) and a refund to my credit card for $100.13. I arrived on Saturday to spend a weekend with my mother. Check in was the only pleasant part of our experience at this hotel. The first room we were put in (105) smelled so strongly of sulfur my mother became ill. I attempted to take a shower and the water underneath the tub caused the vinyl to form a bubble. I lost my balance and fell. My weight placed on the shower floor caused an extremely foul stench to fill the room from cracks around the tub. I called the front desk and was given another room. The front desk staff seemed to be expecting our call and promptly gave us another room (118). Bugs were on the pillows of our new room. The lamps were broken (not dead bulbs), furniture was worn to sharp edges and splinters, and electrical wires were exposed. The plumbing fixtures were broken as well. The air-conditioning unit would not turn down, up, on, or off. (see back) I am confused as to why a reputable company like Expedia is willing to represent such a hotel. Please see the pictures attached to this letter. I booke
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good short stay

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Staff were really helpful and nice. Beds were great, bathroom was dirty and old.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Lovely and quite

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Was an a charming stay , good breakfast and friendly and helpful Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location. Location. Location.
Cons: Carpet needs to be steam vacuumed or changed.
Location: You can walk to the Mision NOmbré de Dios, George Street where the shops are. Six blocks is the Fort San Marco. A couple restaurants a block away.
There were four of us ladies on a getaway trip. This hotel is very close to St Augustine's main attractions. We thought that we got good value for what we paid. Our room - a family suite was laid out like a one bedroom suite. Plenty of room for the four of us. The beds were comfortable and clean. The carpet could have used a good steam and shampoo. It is an old building and clearly need refurbishment, but hey, it was not rated a five-star hotel ,Mao we did not expect a five-star stay! The desk staff were polite and helpful. The breakfast was all right, too. Bagels, toast, fruit, scrambled eggs, yogurt, juice and coffee. Enough to tide you over til lunch. I will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sw florida

Good location for a hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: complete upgrading is needed
Location: nearby many attractions
Very poorly maintained facilities, bath and room and painting. the breakfast was not good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Within easy walking distance of the old town.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The reception staff were all very helpful and pleasant. Allowed us to park our car there after we checked out to walk around and see the sights. Excellent location and one of the oldest trees is right in the courtyard.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Completely filthy.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Five years ago this was a clean hotel and the only place we would stay. It seems like they have new owners because the quality has depleted drastically. The room was so filthy that I had my shoes off for two minutes and my feet turned completely black...no joke! We opened the drawers of the dresser to unpack and two different drawers collapsed. The bathroom sink area was infested with ants and the sink and shower water smelled of rotten eggs. I almost vomitted when I stepped into the shower and the bottom of the tub was completely black and the ceiling of the shower was filthy with dried hairs and brown slime which resembled dead skin. We were only there for one night but had it been longer I would have switched hotels. When we checked out early the next day we were given the fifth degree from the hotel clerk as we browsed the breakfast buffet. I told her we were there for breakfast and to check out and she insisted on looking us up first, I'm assuming to determine we were not trying to steal a free breakfast. We ended up not eating breakfast because the woman followed us and stood over our shoulders to see what we were taking. It was so bizarre. I will never Stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old Motel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: The room could use a thorough deep cleaning.
Location: Hotel is on one of the main streets, just a few blocks from the center of St. Augustine.
Older building that has been patched instead of renovated. Light all around the door frame because no weather stripping. Through-wall ac unit that roared like a jet engine; needed to drown out the noise of doors, neighbors and parking lot. The parking lot immediately in front of our unit was on the tour trolley route, which made for a big increase in both traffic and noise. The ac was marginal, but everything else worked. The heavily used room neither looked nor felt very clean. We stayed one night and got through it. More than that would have been impossible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaufort sc

Great location to local attractions

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The swimming pool and seating area around the hotel were very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: To be an older hotel it could use some TLC on the outside, but, we enjoyed our stay and we understand how when things get older they decline a little,
Location: The trolley car pick-up was convenient to go downtown and, also, we used the Hopper to go downtown in the evening for only $3.00 plus a tip.
The room was nice and clean and the staff was excellent. It was very quite. The Old Jail and the Fountain of Youth was within walking distance. There was a convenient store on the Hotel premises which was great for snacks, drinks and more. The breakfast buffet was good, they had fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, muffins just enough stuff to start you day. I did not agree with some of the reviews I read, over all I think our experience was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

close to food and attractions

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Cons: check in time have early ck in time
Location: good tour tram comes to hotel every 15 mins. or you can walk to several attractions
good staff good , breakfast good , if you get their b4 ck in you can leave the car in the lot free of charge . in the mean time take the tour .