Ratings based on 1,548 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from macon, ga

A long walk to downtown

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Room was filthy. Trash behind dressers, trash still in the trash can, hopefully is was chocolate that was smeared into the bed sheets, carpets were a disaster. Don't walk around in your bare feet in these rooms. The hotel itself was extremely outdated. The staff was nice, the only decent quality about this place. All seriousness though, if the incompetent house keeping people would actually clean the rooms, it would've gotten a 3.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Nice location, but room was disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Convenient location near historic downtown, especially the ancient oak tree in the center of the parking lot.
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated and a bigger breakfast dining room should be utilized with a decent selection of buffet items.
Location: As stated great location, with a tram stop on premises.
Main problem was moldy and musty smelling room doused with carpet cleaner to mask the smell. Room not cleaned to standard, small bits of trash and debris in the corners of the floor, plus bathroom felt unclean, shower still had soap scum, rooms need a serious upgrade. Breakfast was a joke; dining room was too small for the number of people waiting in line for food; felt cramped, plus portions were way too small with no hot food, expect for toast and coffee.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Do yourself a favor.Don't go to this hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness, customer service.
Location: St. Augustine is a beautiful place and not not blame for this nightmare of a hotel.
The room was dirty, including footprints in the tub and a a leftover dirty sock from a previous guest. To the horror of my family I had to chase and kill a giant cockroach that came from under one of the beds. The next morning there was no water. I complained to the hotel personnel and they said it was due to the aftermath of Hurricane Irma (there was water the night before), I asked for at least a partial refund for the night and it was denied. They even denied me a copy of the invoice claiming that I had to get it through Expedia when every other hotel I booked through Expedia has given me an invoice. It was a terrible experience for me and my family. Spare yourself the trouble and find another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice location close to everything

Posted Sep 10, 2017
good place to stay nice location, close to all things to see and do
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Decent Hotel for a Stop Over

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: It is in a good location and it is reasonably priced. Good value.
Cons: Provide the front windows with shear curtains to allow some light in while providing some privacy.
Location: There are shops within walking distance. The historic "Old Senator" tree is in the parking lot. A very short drive to the lively historic district
We stayed in this hotel over night on our way to SW Florida. It is a short drive to the heart of the historic part of town which is a must see. There were a couple attractions near the hotel within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable, The staff was friendly and helpful. We found it to be a good stop over hotel at a reasonable price. All rooms have parking outside of the room entrance, so it is really difficult to enjoy the room with the drapes open. The front window lacks shear curtains so you either have to have the thick drapes closed or the window completely open to view. The shear curtains in addition to the heavy drapes would have been a good addition. Overall the stay was pleasant and the room filled our needs nicely. It was a last minute booking and I was pleased to have gotten it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Goid value hotel. Walking distance to attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oviedo,FL

Very convenient, tour trains stop at location.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
For what I paid to stay here, you would expect a more luxurious room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I dont recommend this hotel!! My room was behind the office...the floor was dirty and full of water on the hallway. Right next to ice and sodas machine. It really looked bad. They shouldn't put guests in any of those rooms. The bathroom felt like i was in a box. Suler small. Room was cheap but clean. Wont go back there. Breakfast area was way to small for the size of hotel and numbers of guest. The lady that takes care of the breakfast area was definitely not happy, but who likes to work when you dont even have the space to walk around?! Maybe not her fault?! Needs a lot more to be able to get a good review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kissimmiee

Location, good staff, old hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Great location, the trolleys drive right through the middle of the premise. Staff was super friendly, breakfast was cheap(eh,plain). But the hotel shows it's age with the wear and tear visible, old sheets, bathroom stains, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The shower drain was clogged and the floor needed some cleaning too, everything else was ok. The location is really good and the breakfast too. The trolley tour can pick you up in the hotel and leave you there too.