Ratings based on 2,916 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We had a great time. What I didn't like is that at night or very early the other guest are either yelling on the walkways and they wake my kids couple of times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Last minute

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Booked online after leaving from a cruise. Perfect spot, ocean view. Everything was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo,NY

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Staff were friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach, room old

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Staff was wonderful, pools and hot tubs in great shape, beach beautiful, rooms run down and outdated. Not the cleanest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Pleasantly surprised!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Location: Close to restaurants and bars.
I have to say that I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel. I had read mixed reviews so I was expecting to be disappointed. What a surprise this cute retro hotel was right in the middle of all the action! The good: (2) pools Beach access Location Mini-kitchen in room was great to have Access to patio and grill Shuffle board & bags was really nice to have Our air-conditioning did not work (broke twice) and they were not quick to assist. When it finally broke a third time, they did move us to a beach front suite which was AMAZING! No extra "resort fee". What could be improved upon: Middle section of the hotel has not been renovated and its completely dated. Access to additional beach towels would be helpful. The room floors were filthy. Full of sand. Keeping a broom in the room for guests to tidy up would be nice. The kitchen counters are way to small if you expect to do anything other than pour a cup of coffee. Could have used a full set of silverware & sharp knife. We had only 3 of everything for 4 people. The pull out sofas are old & uncomfortable. Need to be replaced. Despite some downfalls, I would book here again and request an ocean front suite. They are newer & worth it for the views alone. This is a cute hotel with a great retro vibe. Hopefully the charm will remain once the hotel is fully renovated so that its still an affordable option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Outdated, but good location

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Incredibly nice staff. Outdated amenities, but large room right on beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Fun SB2017 with kids.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, the hotel is a little old, but the room was big and bed are comfortable. Close To everything. Clinton one of the guy that work there was very sweet and helpful and the front desk people were super nice too. My kids love the pools and hot tub. My advice bring your own chair for the beach and umbrella.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2nd time back

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: location, pool, tennis, staff
Cons: longer beach bar hours. my son had an accident in bed while sleeping and there didn't seem like there was much concern to come clean right away.
Location: beach, shops, pass-a-grille, john's pass
My family and I came back to the Alden after enjoying it so much last year. We even requested (and got) our same room. It's a great little beachy hotel and my kids 12,10, and 5 loved it. I'd start my day at 8a in the hot tub and usually by myself, which was nice. The pool is open from 730ish to 11p so lots of time to swim in the bath-like water. I walked next door to the Tradewinds to see what it was all about and the pool area was SOOO busy and had the music pumping. Alden's pools had some people here and there but not to the point of feeling crowded (we were there at the height of spring break). The beach bar is small and seems to open later and close early but not a deal breaker for us. This is a quieter place for families but the party is only a few hotels away when you want it. Room was updated and clean but not free of flaws...but nothing to complain about. We'll most likely be back next year...in our same room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recently remodeled rooms some with s/s appliances.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Great staff and good rooms. This hotel is directly on the ocean so it's very convenient. Stores and restaurants also within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Good hotel on the beach.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
A bit outdated building, but view from balcony and location beats everything else.