Ratings based on 1,189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The beach and the pool.
Cons: I think it needs more variety of foods.
Location: Is close to several shops and restaurants. We went to Spinners Rooftop restaurant in Grand Plaza Hotel with an extraordinary view of st pete.
I love the Hotel the service is exceptional and the room have everything you need.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US GA

Great long weekend stay in St. Petersburg Florida

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The service was impeccable and the hotel is architecturally interesting.
Cons: Possibly the steps from the self parking to the lobby level. It is steep but they do offer valet parking if the stairs are a challenge.
Location: Located right on the beach with some shopping and water sports nearby.
The Loews Don Cesar is a beautiful old hotel on the beach in St. Petersburg. The locals all call it The Pink Palace. It was built in the 1920's and has beautiful architectural details throughout but has been very nicely modernized. The rooms are decent sized. I stayed in an ocean view with 2 queen beds. The bath is smaller which I expected from a hotel of this vintage. The room was decorated very nicely, the linens were superb, and the service could not have been better. From the staff at the front desk who whisk you through check in, to the cleaning staff who greet you when they pass you in the hallways, to the bar and wait staff, everyone is friendly, efficient, and anxious to make your stay enjoyable. The pool area is clean and has comfortable seating for sunning and the pools are well maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The Don Cesar is our favorite place to visit as the staff, the facility, the restaurants, and the beach are always spot on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA, VA

Don CeSar ( Resort or just the Palace?)

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The best part was yoga classes at the beach every morning and all three instructors did great job. The food and service at the beach bar was very good
Cons: No balcony. Not good beach for swimming. Extra charge for chairs at the beach. Small rooms. Extra charge for fridge. Resort fees.
Location: There is nothing to do nearby. The area is not developed. Not pleasant to go for a walk in the streets by hotel. You need to go to Tampa or St.Peters
Pros:Considering that hotel is very old, the room was very well maintained and remodeled . It was very clean as well. Comfortable beds. Cons: Small rooms. No balconies or terrace. They charge you if you want tiny fridge in your room plus to resort fee which is 25 dollars a night plus taxes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Not up to par

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Cons: Customer service.
The hotel itself is lovely. Location, is beautiful. Rooms are comfortable. The spa is fantastic. However, service is not up to par for a resort. We waited for 30 minutes to be waited on at the Rowe Bar, after being acknowledged by staff. The only reason we were waited on, is that we went into the bar to get drinks. The food at the Sea Grille is mediocre & overpriced for what it is. We requested a firm foam pillow, that was never brought up. We had to call for housekeeping. And during a 6am fire alarm, there was NO staff member in sight to give us an update. A guest wondered around to find someone, and even then, no staff member came back to tell us the status of the situation. The resort is dog friendly, without sound proof rooms or weight limits or requirements for those guests to stay with their pets. We had to call SEVERAL times to report excessive barking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Location was perfect. Lot's to do right at the hotel with the beautiful pools and the beach.
Excellent Service. Staff was always visible. The staff couldn't do enough for you - very helpful. Beautiful location. The dinner we had at the main restaurant was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 12, 2016
We always wanted to stay at the Don and it was everything we had hoped it would be. The staff couldn't be better from bell hop to registration to maid service to restaurant and bar service This place is not cheap and that make it special. There are pleanty of cheap seats in the area but if you want front row behind home plate - this is it in the Tampa area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Rooms are a bit small, equivalent to a quaint inn; but EVERYTHING else about the Don Cesar is amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sugarland TX

We loved every second of it!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Everything...
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect.
I didn't want to leave. I have not been on vacation in 15 years and I am so happy I picked this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Courtney L., Hotel Management
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us! I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon! Best,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice enough...but...

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely in appearance, great beach, very comfortable rooms.
Cons: Obviously, we had some issues with the monster truck and waffle...but the bathroom and bedding were pristine.
Location: No...you tell us, please! There just wasn't a lot said about anything in the area that was of interest...
Better signage to help guests know where to park. On check-in, the woman at the desk was friendly enough, but seemed to feel that maybe we werent the "right" type of guests to stay at the DC. Our room was small, but lovely, although we found a child's monster truck (4in x 4in) by the night able, and part of a waffle by the side of the bed...it was visible. Check out is at 11:00...we were running 10 minutes behind, really ten minutes, a bell boy actually came to our room at 11:05 to ask us if he could take our luggage out for us. Incredibly rude. On a brighter note, a waitress that covered our table in Rowe's was exceptional...great service, wonderful recommendations...welcoming and cheerful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Courtney L., Hotel Management
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable accommodations and our beautiful beach! I'm sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations and I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. Best,