Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Sep 23, 2016
A club not a hotel. Old fashioned comfortable with med size rooms, but large wonderful suites. Service excellent,friendly,and helpful. Location is excellent, and a nice change from generic hotel expierence T
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel very close to down town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The bar had extensive whiskey selection and great wine list. Also 3 snooker tables.
Location: From this hotel you could walk everywhere
Best breakfast I have had and the staff are great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If u like formal, dress code mandatory, stodgy

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location, and building structure the elevator is an old, working, manual type of history
Cons: Improve the website including - formal dress wear to travellers No jeans sneakers sport wearallowed, no hot food menu or amenities are closed
Location: Great location near by shopping, cafes, parks
Must keep your voice to a whisper, the staff do not smile, very formal atmosphere. The fitness room and steam room - small, dark, disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paoli, PA

The Union Club offers a great location in Victoria

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Great location, good service
Location: Parliament Buildings, Royal BC Museum & IMAX, Beacon Hill Park, waterfront, restaurants & shopping.
The Union Club of British Columbia is in the perfect location for a first-time visitor to Victoria BC. Easy walking distance to the Parliament Buildings, Royal BC Museum & IMAX, Beacon Hill Park, waterfront, restaurants & shopping. An excellent breakfast is included with wonderful service (thank you Michael). DO NOT miss The Butchart Gardens (unless you don't care for plant & flowers, of course) There is no lack of great places to eat, but if you want a really good hot dog, be sure to visit "DOG GONE IT" at the corner of Government & Wharf streets. One does have to remember that The Union Club is really a private club and not a true hotel. As such, there are a couple of quirky things: They do not offer any luggage assistance, you make your own way through the basement delivery entrance and service hallways to the elevators (this really did not bother me). There are rules about "appropriate" attire which prohibit really-casual (jeans, tee-shirts) from being worn in the dining and common areas except at breakfast. Unfortunately, we were unaware of this and only brought jeans. We were not allowed to watch the Olympics with the other guests in the common TV room. The parking is in a public lot a couple of blocks away (no mention of a valet). A parking pass is provided by The Union Club, but a new pass must be obtained each and every day (rather than a single pass for the entire stay) and then must be put on the dash of the car which is easy to forget.
2 out of 5
by Paul from Pagosa Springs


Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was not worth it for what we paid. The AC was loud and the bed small but comfortable. The staff behind he desk was excellent but the bell hop and concierge had the attitude like 'do I have too'. Just upset for not choosing something closer to the park.
4 out of 5
by John from Corryton, TN

Great hotel, lousy parking situation.

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an overnight stay in Victoria with friends, we chose this place as it looked classy and different. It was both. Downsides: No easy access for disabled, no on premises parking (more on this in a minute), and the bar closes early, no valet parking or valet services. Not a great view of the harbor. Upsides: Very classy (old world feel), outstanding service, friendly staff, great breakfast, very cool facility, great workout room, nice rooms with suites. Parking Hassle: The parking is $ 11.00 per night (no big deal), and is located 3 blocks from the hotel. The parking lot closes after 7:00 PM, and there is no way to get to your car without a magnetic "key" that you have to get from the hotel desk. This will keep me from ever visiting again, a man's gotta be able to get to his car! Plus we were traveling with a handicapped person, so this situation was not ideal. Overall very enjoyable, but I would not go back unless they fix the parking situation.
4 out of 5
by Morgan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Located in the centre of Victoria

Posted Jul 4, 2016
This place is pretty spectacular. It is an older hotel but very charming. The staff bend over backwards to assist. The breakfast was included and very, very good. They have a wide variety of food and it is excellent. The only caution I would add is you have to lug your luggage up a flight of stairs and so if accessibility is an issue for you this may not be a good option.
4 out of 5
by kit from Half Moon Bay, CA

Private Club in heart of Victoria, BC

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
wonderful overnight stay in the heart of Victoria, next door to the Empress. This private club has historical significance and predates the Empress. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful in acquainting us with the Club. Guests booking rooms here need to pay attention to the dress code information both for their own comfort as well as being respectful to the Club.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction, noisy dirty

Posted May 4, 2016
Pretensions don't equal the experience. Overpriced