Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Room very, very small, but clean.. Great shower. Employees friendly. Room had no veiw.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad to hear you slept well, enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and found the service friendly and professional. The next time you're visiting Victoria, please inquire about our beautiful suites! With plenty of space for entertaining, and fantastic view of the Inner Harbour, they're sure to impress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox Valley

A gracious history laden men's club

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staying here is revisiting Victorian times with gracious surroundings & comfort. Excellent staff & best location possible close to harbour & downtown. A private quiet atmosphere. Absolutely love staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Alex Fischer-Jean - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! It looks like we were truly able to impress you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon BC

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Classy place with old world manners and service. A lovely experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster

Historical location and facility.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Great staff with a lot of courtesy and information about history of club//hotel and the area. The food was amazing and so was the view. The exterior of hotel with the backdrop of the other waterfront buildings highlights the late 19th century architecture of that part of downtown Victoria. The wood finish and detail of all the interior of the building is incredible and the whole place has a feel as if you went back in time. Despite this hundred year old look, the beds and bathroom amenities are modern and comfortable. I will want to stay there again next time I go to Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location in an old classy hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Orbitz
I stayed here on business for 2 days and the location was incredible. The service and hotel breakfast was also wonderful. The room's highlight was the canopy bed with traditional steps to get into the bed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Victorian "snootiness" that adds to the charm!

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We offer a guided biking get-away for a couple at a local charity. This very clean, centrally located hotel offered old world charm with just enough snootiness to make the stay entertaining! Now if only they would learn to make a proper cup of tea (hot water thermoses were tainted with coffee!! BLEH!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Posted Sep 23, 2016
A club not a hotel. Old fashioned comfortable with med size rooms, but large wonderful suites. Service excellent,friendly,and helpful. Location is excellent, and a nice change from generic hotel expierence T
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classi club hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great value. Much better than the Empress
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Nice hotel very close to down town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The bar had extensive whiskey selection and great wine list. Also 3 snooker tables.
Location: From this hotel you could walk everywhere
Best breakfast I have had and the staff are great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If u like formal, dress code mandatory, stodgy

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location, and building structure the elevator is an old, working, manual type of history
Cons: Improve the website including - formal dress wear to travellers No jeans sneakers sport wearallowed, no hot food menu or amenities are closed
Location: Great location near by shopping, cafes, parks
Must keep your voice to a whisper, the staff do not smile, very formal atmosphere. The fitness room and steam room - small, dark, disappointing.