Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Grossly overpriced for a dirty old cabin

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Although the staff we encountered were fine and the lake view is beautiful, the condition of the "cottage" we stayed in was terrible. It had not been renovated and apparently not recently occupied. It had cobwebs, spiders and bugs (some should be expected given its location) and the walls and floor were quite dirty. The rate was what would be expected at a five-star resort, which this is not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Excellent location and views over lake. Rooms large, Cleanliness of the room was poor.
3 out of 5
by Cris from Hamm

Super Lage, Preis nicht angemessen...

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Sehr schöne Lage am See in deden Natur, leider getrübt durch den Zustand der Cottages. Die waren alt von der Ausstattung und leider auch nicht ganz sauber. Fussböden waren dreckig, Teppiich in den Schlafzimmern war nicht gesaugt. Essen im Restaurant und auch Frühstück waren sehr gut, Personal war sehr freundlich. Der Pool war leider auch nicht sauber gehalten und die Böden lebensgefährlich glatt. Seife bei den Duschen waren alle leer. Für den eher gehobenen Preis dürfte das nicht sein.... Schade, aus diesem Hitel könnte man viel machen.
3 out of 5
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

We had a great experience and it was great R&R

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Dog friendly & very friendly staff and fellow visitors. Ben was constantly around to speak to & included morning breakfast was enough to keep you goin
Cons: We had a problem with our drain - wouldn't pop up but easy fix. Other thing we mentioned is adding a shower mat as tub was slippery/nothing to grab on
Location: Beautiful country side to get there and lots of great little towns. I would also recommend the Lockside Trading Company. Great shopping experience.
When booking my stay at Viamede I read the reviews but can you tell you that many are stale dated. The Resort is know own by Ben and he is definitely making improvements right across the board. It is possible that previous visitors didn't find things up to par but I think previous owners probably let things slid before selling. I think now they would have a much improved experience. One also has to keep in mind this is cottage country. For us that are 3rd and 4th generation cottage people we well appreciate how buildings shift in the winter months and know a year on a cottage property is like 5 wear and tear years in the city. Weather conditions; cold weather, spring thaws all do a number on buildings and conditions of verandas and out buildings. Our room was large with a fireplace and large deck. A fridge for our wine to cool and Muskoka chairs to sit in and reflect on the day/read before dinner. Everything was quiet on the property and trails for walking. Beautiful view and lake. The Mount Julian restaurant was a culinary experience and service was excellent. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scenic waterfront gem of a resort

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Although there are restaurants and provincial parks nearby, Viamede has everything you need within its premises.
Cons: Maybe more variety in the buffet breakfast for those who are staying longer. A mirror in the room (rather than just the bathroom) would be helpful.
Location: Viamede is waterfront. You can enjoy the water by kayak or motor boat or by cruise boat. There are hiking trails on site and nearby provincial parks
We joined a guided hike which included Toby, the resident golden retriever. The hike passed through the farm where we saw pigs, turkeys. The wooded areas on the resort grounds were very beautiful and we made many stops for photography. Then we went on a guided boat ride on Stoney Lake which is dotted with islands and the scenery rivalled that at the Thousand Islands. We enjoyed our short 3 day stay and will surely return in future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Labour Day Weekend

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Ran into some trouble on the drive to Viamede - both boat trailer tires blew (when does that happen!). CAA managed to get us safely to the resort. The resort staff was very considerate and helped get everything sorted out. The rest of the weekend was very relaxing and the lake is beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, all inclusive really meant all inclusive.
Cons: Needs a gym/exercise room
Excellent experience, we went fishing with the General Manager, took a cooking class, used the canoes and kayaks.
5 out of 5
by Gail from Aurora

Summer getaway

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
This was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. Our room was great, lots of space and wonderful view. Staff could have been a little friendlier, and more knowledgeable about tourist attractions in the vicinity. Once fitness centre reopenes with indoor pool stay will be better. Breakfasts were awesome. I will come again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive place that needs a lot of work

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: - the good buffet breakfast - the grounds - the view and overall ambience
Cons: - see above
For $345/night you got: - a nice old cabin that had gone through a cheap and poorly deisgned renovation - no phone in room - no mirror in bathroom - poor water pressure for shower - headboards not attached to bed - trim and furniturethat looked cheap - curtains that hung a foot onto the floor and didn't fit the windows - a tv set on the kitchenette wall you could barely see from naywhere where you could dit to watch it - a good buffet breakfast.