Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carterton

A really lovely little hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: The quiet and peaceful location of the hotel. It's close to the Three Counties Showground and handy for Malvern and Worcester.
Cons: Nothing - it's a great place to stay.
Location: Handy for the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Upton on Severn. You can go walking, visit the theatre or enjoy fine dining in Malvern
A lovely hotel which is close to the Three Counties Showground yet in a quiet, peaceful location with good parking. It's a real gem of a place and from the moment we walked in until we left we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The room was lovely and overlooked the Malvern Hills. It was spacious, clean and had a lovely large closet. There were extra pillows and blankets in the closet plus plenty of hangers. The bed was comfortable and we felt thoroughly rested and relaxed when we left the following day. The breakfast choice was excellent and it was freshly prepared to order. Nothing was too much trouble and our hosts seemed genuinely pleased to hear that we had enjoyed our stay and planned to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Fantastic Hotel and great hosts. Made you feel welcome as soon as you passed through the front door and nothing was to much trouble. Great place to stay in lovely surroundings but very relaxing and quite so we had a peaceful and relaxing stay. Plenty to see within close driving distance. Will certainly be staying again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lynn

Lovely hotel in a lovely part of the country

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Eight friends getting together for good food and walking in the Malvern Hills. The hotel was well placed and both the building and gardens are very attractive. Rooms were comfortable and clean and service was friendly - in spite of our group being rather boisterous and late to bed! Would be happy to visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and tidy the owners are great

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Only thing wrong was the shower very little water came out of the head.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nicole from Niedersachsen

Sehr gepflegt und herzlich

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Trotz meiner späten Anreise wurde ich freundlich erwartet. Tolles englisches Frühstück! Jederzeit wieder!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Stroud

impeccable

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly, comfortable, would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martin from Derby

Small Hotel with a friendly feel

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent friendly Hotel It will be worth a second visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

A lovely peaceful place to stay.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The building and grounds are lovely.The owners and their staff can not do enough, and the food was excellent.
Cons: Being very "picky" the shower was a little temperamental but perfectly adequate. (If you're over 6' the beams are genuine,solid and painful)
Location: Worcester & Gloucester 1/2 hour drive, Hay-on-wye an hour. & a lovely tea room "the kettle sings" with cracking views. British Camp and the hills
We decided at fairly short notice that we needed a break and having passed through the Malverns a year or so ago decided to explore the area.The booking on Expedia was no problem. We were looking for a small quiet hotel more homely than luxurious and so chose Hold-fast Cottage. On our arrival we were greeted warmly and immediately made to feel at home. The room was lovely (Ragged Stone) pleasantly furnished in a cottage style and very clean and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was quite adequate. A bath with a shower over, washbasin and toilet. the shower was adequate, a little weak but once the hot water had worked it way up to the room perfectly adequate. The food was exceptional, the English breakfast cooked to order and so fresh and hot, Toast cereals, fruit and yoghurt, fruit juice all excellent. we ate in a couple of nights and the restaurant standard was very high. The property itself is delightful, set back off the road by a decent drive we were not aware of any road noise at night. The only noise once everyone was abed was the cattle in neighboring fields and owls. It is situated quite close to the 3 counties show ground, and we visited Hay on Wye, Gloucester, Worcester, and the vale of Evesham with no great difficulty.All in all, we found the place to be excellent for a two star hotel and if we return to the area I would definitely try to book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly reception, nice room with great views to the Malvern Hills, plenty to do in surrounding area. Glad to have come back after visiting Holdfast Cottage several times about 15 years ago.