Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holdfast to this Great Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
We were a party of four from Ireland visiting Cheltenham for a day of racing and the general area for a few days sightseeing. Holdfast Cottage Hotel proved an ideal base in the most peaceful and charming of settings at very reasonable rates. From the moment of our arrival it was clear that owners, Stephen and Julie, were totally committed to making our stay as memorable as possible and they did. Rooms were cosy and spotless, breakfast was freshly cooked and substantial and dinner so good each evening that we never considered dining anywhere else. A cosy well-stocked bar ensured that we didn't even have to move offsite for the aperitifs. Stephen can, on request, also arrange a good value, reliable taxi. Those seeking a base where peace, relaxation and outstanding quality of service and hospitality are standard, need look no further than Holdfast Cottage Hotel and its exceptional hosts Stephen and Julie. Thanks to both of you and indeed to our fellow guests for making our stay so enjoyable. William R
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Excellent Hotel, beautiful location.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The Location,the owners and the value for money.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel is set in its own well kept grounds . Close to Malvern, the Hills and the Three Counties Show Ground.
We had a very pleasant stay. The Hotel was clean, the owners were very friendly and the food was fantastic. I would certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Very little
Cons: Improve water pressure, modernise decor, update reception area,
Location: Close to walks on Malvern Hills
Hotel dated, shower had poor water pressure, more of a drizzle than a shower, evening meal overpriced
4 out of 5
by Isla from lincoln

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
food was very good. hotel was clean goodvalue for money.
4 out of 5
by Clive from Maidstone

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at holdfast were very friendly and willing to go out of their way to make everybody feel at home. The water pressure and temperature in the shower could do with improving as it's currently a little cold. Overall a great place to stay, we would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by Martin from London

Somewhere to stay for Cheltenham

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
I needed somewhere reasonably priced while attending the Cheltenham Festival. This fitted the bill perfectly: warm hospitality, excellent food - and even recommended a first-class taxi. What I had forgotten to take with me was uncomplainingly supplied and what I forgot to take home with me readily sent on.
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carterton

A really lovely little hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: The quiet and peaceful location of the hotel. It's close to the Three Counties Showground and handy for Malvern and Worcester.
Cons: Nothing - it's a great place to stay.
Location: Handy for the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Upton on Severn. You can go walking, visit the theatre or enjoy fine dining in Malvern
A lovely hotel which is close to the Three Counties Showground yet in a quiet, peaceful location with good parking. It's a real gem of a place and from the moment we walked in until we left we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The room was lovely and overlooked the Malvern Hills. It was spacious, clean and had a lovely large closet. There were extra pillows and blankets in the closet plus plenty of hangers. The bed was comfortable and we felt thoroughly rested and relaxed when we left the following day. The breakfast choice was excellent and it was freshly prepared to order. Nothing was too much trouble and our hosts seemed genuinely pleased to hear that we had enjoyed our stay and planned to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Fantastic Hotel and great hosts. Made you feel welcome as soon as you passed through the front door and nothing was to much trouble. Great place to stay in lovely surroundings but very relaxing and quite so we had a peaceful and relaxing stay. Plenty to see within close driving distance. Will certainly be staying again
4 out of 5
by Lynn

Lovely hotel in a lovely part of the country

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Eight friends getting together for good food and walking in the Malvern Hills. The hotel was well placed and both the building and gardens are very attractive. Rooms were comfortable and clean and service was friendly - in spite of our group being rather boisterous and late to bed! Would be happy to visit again.